Research and Collection Permit System

Due to COVID-19, Parks Canada protected heritage areas (PHAs) and facilities have been closed except for critical services since mid-March. As access restrictions are now being relaxed, it is possible to resume some research and fieldwork activities (including consulting work and research-based work) to some extent, and under special conditions.

The document Requirements Regarding Access to Parks Canada Protected Heritage Areas to Conduct Research and Field Work during the COVID-19 Pandemic outlines requirements to consider, the documentation to submit, and the process to follow during this time.

Welcome to Parks Canada's Research and Collection Permit System

Welcome to the Parks Canada Agency's Research and Collection Permit System. Here you are provided with an orientation to the Parks Canada Agency online system, a summary of what is needed to apply for a research and collection permit, and answers to frequently asked questions. There are several important sections to this document. You can navigate through these by using the links in the navigation bar to the left..

The Parks Canada Agency welcomes your interest in conducting research in one of Canada's national parks, national park reserves, national marine conservation areas, national historic sites, or the Pingo Canadian Landmark. The Agency is responsible for protecting and presenting these heritage areas for present and future generations. These responsibilities are discharged using various legislative and policy instruments as described elsewhere. The Agency’s goals are to maintain or restore ecological integrity, monitor and ensure the commemorative integrity of historic places, protect cultural and natural resources, and provide for appropriate visitor experiences. Achieving these goals requires a full understanding of the natural and cultural elements in Heritage Areas, their inter-relationships, the natural processes, and visitor interests and activities. Long term accumulation and analysis of information derived from scientific research and traditional knowledge are important tools to realize this goal. The Research and Collection Permit System enables the Parks Canada Agency to effectively manage research in Canada’s Heritage Areas to fulfill its mandate.

Scope of Application of the Research and Collection Permit System

This online system applies to all applications for natural, archaeological, and social science research, including collection activities. Where such research affects a species listed in Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act as extirpated, endangered or threatened in any Heritage Area, the RCPS provides for a SARA compliant permit.

This online permit system does not apply to historical research in Parks Canada’s Heritage Areas. To conduct historical research, please contact the appropriate research coordinator for the relevant Heritage Area(s) where research is being proposed.

Contacts

Parks Canada encourages the use of its Heritage Areas for management oriented and scholarly research that is consistent with its mandate. Parks Canada staff are available to provide assistance to an applicant seeking a permit and to answer any questions. Researchers are encouraged to contact research coordinator for elaboration on the information that follows and for any assistance required.

Research Needs

Each National Park maintains an up-to-date listing of its research priorities to assist researchers in identifying topics that they may wish to pursue. You can simply browse through the listings by parks and make your choice. You will get a brief description of the topic and the name of a contact person. For research priorities in other Heritage Areas please contact the appropriate research coordinator.

Research Underway or Completed

You can learn about research underway or recently completed in the Heritage Area of your interest by contacting the research coordinator. This information is updated annually as new research reports are provided.

Feedback

This online permit application system is a Parks Canada initiative designed to facilitate your access to the Agency, and to provide a nationally consistent approach to making applications for research and collection permits. It is also intended to provide you with a better understanding of research being conducted in our national Heritage Areas. Parks Canada welcomes and encourages your feedback on the system along with suggestions for improvements. This can be provided by clicking on Contact Us

Date Modified:

Système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte

Bienvenue dans le système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte de Parcs Canada

Bienvenue au Système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte de l'Agence Parcs Canada. Vous y trouverez des indications sur l'utilisation du système en ligne, un résumé de toutes les conditions relatives aux demandes de permis de recherche et de collecte ainsi qu'une foire aux questions. Le présent document renferme plusieurs sections importantes. Vous pouvez naviguer à l'intérieur de celles-ci en utilisant les liens qui figurent dans la barre de navigation à gauche.
L'Agence Parcs Canada vous encourage à faire des recherches dans l'un de ses parcs nationaux, réserves de parc national, aires marines nationales de conservation, lieux historiques nationaux ou au site canadien des Pingos. L'Agence a la responsabilité de protéger et de mettre en valeur ces aires patrimoniales pour les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain. Elle s'acquitte de ces responsabilités au moyen de diverses lois et politiques décrites ailleurs. L'Agence a comme objectifs de maintenir ou de rétablir l'intégrité écologique, de surveiller et d'assurer l'intégrité commémorative des lieux patrimoniaux, de protéger les ressources naturelles et culturelles et d'offrir des expériences appropriées aux visiteurs. L'atteinte de ces objectifs nécessite une pleine compréhension des ressources naturelles et culturelles des aires patrimoniales, de leur interdépendance, des processus naturels, des intérêts des visiteurs et des activités qui leur sont offertes. L'accumulation à long terme et l'analyse de l'information découlant des recherches scientifiques et du savoir traditionnel sont des moyens importants d'atteindre ces objectifs. Le Système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte permet à l'Agence Parcs Canada de bien gérer la recherche dans les aires patrimoniales du Canada afin de réaliser son mandat.

Champ d'application du Système de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte

Ce système en ligne s'applique à toutes les demandes de recherche en sciences naturelles, en sciences sociales et en archéologie, ainsi qu'aux activités de collecte. Lorsque la recherche touche une espèce inscrite à l'Annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril à titre d'espèce disparue du Canada, en voie de disparition ou menacée dans une aire patrimoniale donnée, le système délivre un permis conforme à la LEP.
Le système ne s'applique pas aux recherches historiques dans les aires patrimoniales. Pour faire des recherches historiques, il faut communiquer avec le coordonnateur de la recherche approprié de l'aire patrimoniale concernée.

Personnes-ressources

Parcs Canada encourage l'utilisation de ses aires patrimoniales à des fins de recherche en gestion et de recherche universitaire relativement à son mandat. Son personnel est à la disposition des demandeurs de permis pour les conseiller et répondre à leurs questions. Les chercheurs sont invités à communiquer avec les coordonnateurs de la recherche pour obtenir des précisions sur l'information présentée ci-après et toute aide nécessaire.

Besoins en matière de recherche

Chaque parc national tient une liste à jour de ses priorités de recherche pour aider les chercheurs à trouver les sujets qui pourraient les intéresser. Il vous suffit de fureter dans les listes des parcs, et de choisir un thème qui vous intéresse. Vous y trouverez une brève description du sujet en question et le nom d'une personne ressource. Pour connaître les priorités de recherche dans d'autres aires patrimoniales, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur de la recherche approprié.

Recherches en cours ou terminées

Vous obtiendrez des renseignements sur les recherches en cours ou récemment terminées dans l'aire patrimoniale qui vous intéresse en communiquant avec le coordonnateur de la recherche. Ces renseignements sont mis à jour chaque année après l'envoi des nouveaux rapports de recherche.

Commentaires

Ce système de demande de permis en ligne est une initiative de Parcs Canada visant à faciliter l'accès à l'Agence et à mettre en place une méthode uniforme à l'échelle nationale de demande de permis de recherche et de collecte. Il vise également à mieux faire comprendre la recherche qui se fait dans nos aires patrimoniales nationales. L'Agence Parcs Canada sera heureuse de recevoir vos commentaires au sujet du système ainsi que vos suggestions concernant les améliorations à y apporter. Il vous suffit pour cela de cliquer sur le lien Contactez-nous ou d'écrire à :

Victor Kafka
Spécialiste de la restauration écologique
Agence Parcs Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
3, passage du Chien-d'Or, Suite 200
Québec (Québec) G1R 3Z8
Tél: 418-649-8247
victor.kafka@pc.gc.ca
    Marlow Pellatt
    Spécialiste de la restauration écologique
    Agence Parcs Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
    300 - 300, rue Georgia Ouest
    Vancouver, BC V6B 6B4
    Tél: 604-666-2556
    marlow.pellatt@pc.gc.ca
Date de modification :