Opened in 1849, the Saint-Ours Canal is a continuation of the Chambly Canal, bypassing the final obstacle to navigation between the St.Lawrence River and Lake Champlain. Known as the tenth Richelieu River lock, the Saint-Ours Canal lies on between Darvard Island and has been indispensable to international trade for over a century.
Learn more about the Saint-Ours canal National Historic Site of Canada by visiting the exhibit at the Superintendant's House, the Vianney-Legendre fish ladder and the dam which regulates the water of the Richelieu River. You will discover the fauna, flora and the Saint-Ours Canal's history.
From now on the Friends of the Saint-Ours Canal are receiving school groups for half a day or the entire day. This tour involves the history of the channelling of the Richelieu River. It includes the discovery of five of the attractions of the Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site of Canada: the fishway, the lock, the Superintendent's House, the dam and Darvard Island. Students will be led to solve problems, understand the dynamics of the Richelieu River's biodiversity, and the operation of a lock and dam.
For more information or reservation: 450 785-2053