Map of Canada Map of Canada showing national parks (green), national historic sites (brown triangles), and National Marine Conservation Areas (blue). The Rideau Canal and Trent Severn Waterway (national historic sites) are also shown in blue

Geomatics is the science and technology of gathering, analyzing, interpreting, distributing, and using geographic information. Parks Canada has been conducting geomatics activity since the first national park was established. In the late 1970’s, Parks Canada began using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) to help manage our national parks.

Today, geomatics specialists in national parks across Canada and in the National Office help their fellow Parks Canada team members use geographic information to perform their work more efficiently and effectively. Some geomatics activities are coordinated by the National Geomatics Coordination Team.

Publications

Geomatics in Parks Canada – Volume 2, July 2014 (PDF, 6.5 Mb)
This PDF document describes three examples of how geomatics helps Parks Canada team members perform their work more effectively and efficiently.

Geomatics in Parks Canada – Volume 3, June 2015 (PDF, 5.5 Mb)
This volume of Geomatics in Parks Canada outlines three examples where Geomatics is helping Parks Canada and its partners collaborate in finding solutions that would not be possible for one Agency to take on alone.

Contact Information

National Geomatics Coordinator,
Parks Canada Agency
30, rue Victoria, 4th Floor, (PC-04-C)
Gatineau, Quebec
Canada
J8X 0B3
Email: gco.bcg@pc.gc.ca
Tel: (819) 420-9026

Carte du Canada
Carte du Canada avec les parcs nationaux (vert), les lieux historique nationaux (triangles bruns) et les aires marines nationales de conservation (bleu). Le canal Rideau et la voie navigable Trent-Severn (lieux historiques nationaux) sont aussi en bleu

Coordonnées

Coordonnateur national de la géomatique
Parcs Canada
30 rue Victoria, 4e étage (PC-04-C)
Gatineau (Québec)
Canada
J8X 0B3
Courriel : gco.bcg@pc.gc.ca
Tél : (819) 420-9026

La géomatique est la science et la technologie de la cueillette, de l’analyse, de l’interprétation, de la distribution et de l’utilisation de l’information géographique. Parcs Canada dirige des activités géomatiques depuis la création du premier parc national. Depuis la fin des années 1970, Parcs Canada utilise les systèmes d’information géographique (SIG) pour faciliter la gestion de nos parcs nationaux.

Aujourd’hui, les spécialistes en géomatique des parcs nationaux à travers le Canada et du bureau national aident leur collègues de l’équipe de Parcs Canada à effectuer leur travail plus efficacement et avec plus d’efficience. Certaines activités de la géomatique sont coordonnées par l'équipe nationale de la coordination de la géomatique.

Publications

La Géomatique à l’Agence Parcs Canada – Volume 2, juillet 2014 (PDF, 5,5 Mo)
Ce document PDF décrit trois exemples où la géomatique a aidé les membres de l’équipe de Parcs Canada à effectuer leur travail plus efficacement et avec plus d’efficience.

La Géomatique à l’Agence Parcs Canada – Volume 3, juin 2015 (PDF, 5,3 Mo)
Dans cette édition de La géomatique à l’Agence Parcs Canada, nous décrivons trois exemples où la géomatique aide Parcs Canada et ses partenaires à collaborer pour trouver des solutions qui ne pourraient pas être mises en oeuvre par un seul organisme.