Tallurutiup Imanga: a final boundary for Canada's largest protected area at Lancaster Sound in Nunavut

The Government of Canada, the Government of Nunavut and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association recently announced an agreement on the final boundary for a future national marine conservation area (NMCA) in Tallurutiup Imanga / Lancaster Sound.

Tallurutiup Imanga / Lancaster Sound is an area rich in biodiversity and used by Inuit since time immemorial. The NMCA will be a major step towards meeting Canada’s target of protecting 5 percent of its marine and coastal areas by 2017 and 10 percent by 2020. Once completed, with an Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement in place, the NMCA will contribute about 2 per cent towards these targets.

Explore this breathtaking Arctic landscape where narwhals live side by side with thousands of seabirds in an area adjacent to vibrant Inuit communities and majestic fjords and glaciers.

Where is Tallurutiup Imanga / Lancaster Sound?

Located at the eastern entrance to the Northwest Passage, Tallurutiup Imanga / Lancaster Sound has been home to Inuit for generations.

Why protect Tallurutiup Imanga / Lancaster Sound?

An NMCA would conserve this vital ecosystem and ensure that human activities are environmentally sustainable.

Use of Inuit traditional knowledge

Inuit traditional knowledge and contemporary science work together to give us an understanding of the land and wildlife.

Ecological values

Tallurutiup Imanga / Lancaster Sound is the ecological engine of the entire eastern Canadian Arctic marine ecosystem.

Did you know?
  • Tallurutiup Imanga/Lancaster Sound is an area that has been used since time immemorial by the Inuit. Inuit Qauijimajatuqangit (traditional knowledge) will inform future decision making for the management and protection of the NMCA and the NMCA will protect Inuit harvesting rights guaranteed under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement while also ensuring the protection of species at risk.
  • Tallurutiup Imanga/Lancaster Sound would be the biggest protected area ever established in Canada, with an area of 109,000 square kilometers. When combined with adjacent protected areas like Sirmilik National Park, the Prince Leopold Island Migratory Bird Sanctuary, and the Nirjutiqavvik National Wildlife Area the combined protected area reaches 131,000 square kilometres -- an area twice the size of the Province of Nova Scotia.

More information


Parks Canada

Tallurutiup Imanga : des limites définitives pour la plus grande aire protégée du Canada au Détroit de Lancaster, Nunavut

Le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement du Nunavut et l’Association inuite du Qikiqtani (AIQ) ont récemment annoncé une entente sur les limites définitives d’une future aire marine nationale de conservation (AMNC) dans Tallurutiup Imanga/détroit de Lancaster.

Tallurutiup Imanga/détroit de Lancaster est une zone riche en diversité et qui est utilisée depuis des temps immémoriaux par les Inuits. La création de l’AMNC Tallurutiup Imanga/détroit de Lancaster sera une étape importante pour le Canada dans l’atteinte de son objectif de protéger 5 % de ses aires marines et côtières d’ici 2017 et 10 % d'ici 2020. Une fois créée, et appuyée par une Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits, l’AMNC comptera pour 2 % de ces objectifs.

Explorez ce paysage arctique à couper le souffle, où les narvals côtoient des milliers d’oiseaux marins à deux pas des communautés inuites animées et des fjords et glaciers majestueux.

Où se trouve Tallurutiup Imanga / détroit de Lancaster?

Situé à l’entrée est du passage du Nord-Ouest, le détroit de Lancaster est la résidence de communautés inuites depuis des générations.

Pourquoi protéger Tallurutiup Imanga / détroit de Lancaster?

Une AMNC permettrait de conserver cet écosystème vital et assurerait aussi la poursuite d’activités humaines écologiquement viables.

Utilisation du savoir traditionnel inuit

Le savoir traditionnel inuit et la science contemporaine travaillent de concert pour notre compréhension de la terre et de la faune.

Valeurs écologiques

Le détroit de Lancaster constitue le moteur écologique de l’ensemble de l’écosystème marin arctique de l’Est du Canada.

Le saviez-vous?
  • Tallurutiup Imanga/détroit de Lancaster est une région qui a été utilisée de temps immémorial par les Inuits. Les principes de l’Inuit Qauijimajatuqangit (le savoir traditionnel) éclaireront les décisions prises à l’avenir en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à la protection de l’AMNC. Cette aire de conservation va protéger le droit de récolte garanti aux Inuits en vertu de l’entente conclue avec le Nunavut, et assurer la protection des espèces en péril.
  • Tallurutiup Imanga/détroit de Lancaster sera la plus grande aire protégée au Canada avec une superficie de 109,000 kilomètres carrés. Ensemble, l’AMNC proposée dans la région de Tallurutiup Imanga/détroit de Lancaster, le parc national Sirmilik, le Refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs de l’île Prince Leopold et la Réserve nationale de faune de Nirjutiqavvik totaliseront une superficie de plus de 131 000 km carrés, soit plus de deux fois la taille de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

En plus


Parcs Canada