Parks Canada places have Indigenous stories to share. Nearly all of these special natural and cultural places have been traditionally used by Indigenous peoples long before Canada became a country. These sacred sites are as vital as ever to their culture and connection to the land. To start on your journey of exploration, here are a few of the many amazing places where you can discover and interact with the living history of the Indigenous people in Canada.

Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haïda Heritage Site

Gwaii Haanas, Haida words meaning “islands of wonder and beauty”

Gwaii Haanas - gw-eye haa-nass

Gwaii Haanas means "islands of beauty" in the Haïda language and is world renowned for its cultural heritage and natural splendour. It boasts an unparalleled biological richness, more than 600 archaeological sites and a cultural history that dates back more than 12,000 years. Gwaii Haanas in British Columbia is located in the southern end of the archipelago of Haida Gwaii (formerly known as the Queen Charlotte Islands). Ancient village sites lie scattered amongst the islands, including SGang Gwaay, a UNESCO World Heritage site home to two dozen cedar totem poles that represent family and clan crests like eagle and bear; carved more than 100 years ago.

Plants and animals find shelter in these islands where some trees are over 1,000 years old and 95 metres tall. Every fall, the waters of Gwaii Haanas offer an unparalleled spectacle as tens of thousands of Pacific salmon jostle each other to swim back up the coastal streams to spawn before dying and nourishing the forest. The fauna of the Haida Gwaii archipelago is unique: six land mammal subspecies are not found anywhere else on the planet. There are no words to describe the wonder of scuba diving in one of the best preserved and most sacred places in the world.

Today the Haida remain closely tied to their land and waters, using the Gwaii Haanas area to harvest food. The Council of the Haida Nation and the Government of Canada co-manage the park reserve since its establishment in 1988 and a highlight of your visit will be meeting the Haida Gwaii Watchmen.

Ivvavik National Park

Ivvavik means “a place for giving birth, a nursery” in Inuvialuktun, the language of the Inuvialuit.

Ivvavik – Eev-vah-veek

Ivvavik means "a place for giving birth, a nursery" in Inuvialuktun, the language of the Inuvialuit, the Inuit of the Western Arctic. High in the northwest corner of Yukon, the beauty that awaits you in this national park is indescribable. The Firth, Canada’s oldest flowing river, cuts a turquoise trail through the rolling, hills of the British Mountains. The park protects a large portion of the calving grounds of the Porcupine caribou herd and represents the Northern Yukon and Mackenzie Delta natural regions. Ivvavik was the first Canadian national park created as the result of an individual land claim settlement, the Inuvialuit Final Agreement signed in 1984. Throughout the park you will find evidence of stone and sod remains of Dorset, Thule, Eskimo and Inuit habitation, tools used by Paleo-Arctic communities and old fishing sites along the shores of the Firth River. Ivvavik is a living cultural landscape on which Inuvialuit continue traditional practices, including subsistence harvesting.

Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site

Kejimkujik, a Mi’kmaq word meaning “land of good spirits” or “land of fairies”.

Kejimkujik – ke-jim-koo-jik

Meaning “Land of the little fairies”, Kejimkujik in Nova Scotia has been a significant site for the Mi’kmaq for millennia. With its abundance of caribou, moose, fish and other staple foods, the Kejimkujik area was an ideal place to camp, hunt, fish and gather. Today you can hike age-old pathways through towering groves of original growth forest and paddle ancient routes through interconnected lakes and rivers. There are more than 500 petroglyphs in the park. These images lend a voice to the lives of those who make their home in this area.

Saoyú-Ɂehdacho National Historic Site

Saoyú and Ɂehdacho mean “Grizzly Bear Mountain” and “Scented Grass Hills” in the Sahtugot’ine language.

Saoyú-Ɂehdacho - Sahw-you Eh-da-choh

A visit to this national historic site brings unparalleled healing and great comfort. Saoyú and Ɂehdacho mean "Grizzly Bear Mountain" and "Scented Grass Hills" respectively. Saoyú and Ɂehdacho are two large peninsulas reaching into Great Bear Lake just south of the Arctic Circle in the Northwest Territories and are teaching and spiritual places essential to the cultural well-being of the Sahtugot’ine (the First Nations people of the Great Bear Lake). Bathed by the waters of Great Bear Lake - a vast inland sea that is the largest fresh water lake in Canada and the ninth largest lake in the world - this unique historical site abounds with the culture of the Sahtugot’ine who believe that the land is sacred. This site offers an opportunity to better understand the origins of the culture of the Sahtu Dene, their spiritual values, lifestyle and land use. For them, the land is alive with stories, blending the natural and supernatural worlds. These stories serve as the link between the people and the land.

Ukkusiksalik National Park

Ukkusiksalik, an Inuktitut word meaning “place to find stone to make pots”

Ukkusiksalik - oo-koo-sik-sa-lik

Ukkusiksalik means "place to find stone to make pots" in Inuktitut, the language of the Inuit of Nunavut. In fact, hundreds of archaeological sites show that the area has long been a gathering spot for Inuit. For over 3,000 years, populations drawn to the spectacular landscape with its abundant wildlife have gathered here, camped and paddled these waters. Inuksuit (plural of inuksuk) wayfinding, stone markers used by Inuit, are plentiful across the park landscape. Often, trails used by caribou herds were marked with inuksuit, which would serve as hunters’ blinds for when the caribou passed by. Wager Bay offers unique features with its 8-metre high tides and strong tidal effects producing amazing reversing falls. Two saltwater stretches remain open year-round, contributing to the park's wealth of marine life. To experience a wondrous Arctic adventure, visitors are encouraged to travel to the park by boat with an experienced outfitter, to safely observe the region's polar bears and abundant marine life, including seals, belugas and, sometimes, narwhals.

Batoche National Historic Site

Journey back in time to 19th century Métis settler life at Batoche National Historic Site

Journey back in time to 19th century Métis settler life on the banks of the meandering South Saskatchewan River. The community of Batoche is located where the Carlton Trail - the primary overland trade route between Fort Edmonton and Fort Garry – crossed the river. The Metis in Batoche laid out their farms in distinctive long, narrow river lots, so that everyone had access to the river and neighbours were close by. Along with farming, the Metis lived principally by freighting, trading and raising cattle. This peaceful rolling parkland filled with prairie sage, songbirds and rabbits was the final battlefield of the Northwest Resistance of 1885, an uprising born of years of the Metis people feeling excluded from the growth and development of the Canadian West. Batoche commemorates this armed conflict between the Canadian government and the Metis provisional government led by Louis Riel and Gabriel Dumont. Explore the rifle pits and read the names on the stones at the cemetery in this home of Metis culture and heritage.

Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site

First Nations, Métis, trappers, and traders visited Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site.

In the thick forests of the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, the rapids at the confluence of the North Saskatchewan and the Clearwater rivers mark a site long used by the Piikani First Nation of the Blackfoot Confederacy. In 1799, the Northwest Company established Rocky Mountain House here to serve as a fur trade post. A rival post was built nearby just days later by the Hudson’s Bay Company. The posts were small and remote, but they brought international trade goods like tea, firearms, gunpowder, axes, glass beads, copper pots and more to Indigenous peoples. First Nations, Métis, trappers, and traders used the rivers like highways, transporting their goods to sell at the forts. For 76 years Rocky Mountain House was the centre of commerce for the west. The great mapmaker, David Thompson used the site as his starting point when seeking passage to the west coast. First Nation guides helped Thompson create two fur trade routes through the Rockies: Howse Pass and Athabasca Pass. Two centuries ago Indigenous peoples, trappers and traders shared the rugged western frontier of Canada. At Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site in Alberta - be a part of the story. Explore, hike, camp and discover their challenges and triumphs.

Parcs Canada a des histoires autochtones à faire connaître. Presque tous ces lieux naturels et culturels spéciaux ont été traditionnellement utilisés par les peuples autochtones bien avant que le Canada ne devienne un pays. Ces sites sacrés sont aussi vitaux que jamais pour leur culture et leur lien avec la terre. Pour commencer votre voyage d'exploration, voici quelques-uns des nombreux endroits incroyables où vous pourrez découvrir et interagir avec l'histoire vivante des peuples autochtones au Canada.

Réserve de parc national, réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation, et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas

Gwaii Haanas, des mots haïda qui signifient : « des îles d’émerveillement et de beauté »

Gwaii Haanas - Gou-aï haa-nass

Gwaii Haanas signifie « îles de beauté » dans la langue haïda et est reconnue mondialement pour son patrimoine culturel et sa splendour naturelle. Elle possède une richesse biologique sans pareille, plus de 600 sites archéologiques et une histoire culturelle qui remonte à plus de 12 000 ans. Gwaii Haanas en Colombie-Britannique est située à l’extrémité sud de l’archipel de Haida Gwaii (qui s’appelait autrefois les îles de la Reine-Charlotte). D’anciens sites de village sont dispersés dans les îles, y compris SGang Gwaay, site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO abritant près d’une vingtaine de totems de cèdre représentant des armoiries familiales et de clans comme l’aigle et l’ours; sculptés il y a plus de 100 ans, bon nombre d’entre eux rendent hommage à d’anciens chefs.

Des plantes et des animaux trouvent refuge sur ces îles où certains arbres ont plus de 1 000 ans et font 95 mètres de hauteur. Chaque automne, les eaux de Gwaii Haanas offrent un spectacle sans pareil : des dizaines de milliers de saumons du Pacifique se bousculent pour remonter les ruisseaux côtiers où ils devront frayer avant de mourir et d'alimenter la forêt. La faune de l'archipel de Haida Gwaii est exceptionnelle; en effet, six des dix mammifères terrestres indigènes de l'archipel sont des sous-espèces qui ne se retrouvent nulle part ailleurs sur la planète. Et les mots ne suffisent pas pour décrire la plongée sous-marine qui se pratique dans l'un des endroits les mieux préservés et les plus sacrés au monde! Aujourd’hui, les Haïdas demeurent étroitement liés à leurs terres et à leurs eaux et utilisent la région de Gwaii Haanas comme source de nourriture.

Le Council of the Haida Nation et le gouvernement du Canada gèrent conjointement le site depuis la création de la réserve de parc national en 1988 et un fait saillant de votre visite sera la rencontre avec la gardiens de Haida Gwaii.

Parc national Ivvavik

Ivvavik signifie « lieu pour mettre au monde, aire de croissance » en inuvialuktun, la langue des Inuvialuit.

Ivvavik – Iv-va-vique

Ivvavik signifie « lieu pour mettre au monde, aire de croissance » en inuvialuktun, la langue des Inuvialuit, les Inuits de l’Arctique de l’Ouest. Á l’extrémité nord-ouest du Yukon, les beautés qui vous attendent dans ce parc national sont indescriptibles. La rivière turquoise, la plus ancienne canadienne, sillone les collines onduleuse et dénuées de glace des monts Britanniques. Le parc protège une grande partie du terrain de mise bas de la harde de caribous de la Porcupine et représente les régions naturelles du nord du Yukon et du delta du Mackenzie. Ivvavik fut le premier parc national canadien créé à la suite d’une entente sur le règlement d’une revendication territoriale des Autochtones, la Convention définitive des Inuvialuits de 1984. Dans tout le parc, on trouve des vestiges des habitations en pierre et en terre des cultures dorsétienne, thuléene, esquimaude et inuite, des outils utilisés par les Paléo-Esquimaux, et sur les rives de la Firth, d’ancient lieux de pêche. Ivvavik constitue un paysage culturel vivant où les Inuvialuits continuent leurs activités traditionnelles, comme la récolte de subsistance.

Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

Kejimkujik, mot Mi’kmaq qui signifie « terre des petites fées ».

Kejimkujik – que-djim-cou-djique

Kejimkujik en Nouvelle-Écosse, un nom qui signifie « terre des petites fées », est un site important pour les Mi'kmaq depuis des millénaires. Avec son abondance de caribous, d'orignaux, de poissons et d'autres aliments de base, la région de Kejimkujik était un endroit idéal pour camper, chasser, pêcher et cueillir. Aujourd'hui, vous pouvez parcourir des chemins très anciens au travers de hautes forêts anciennes et pagayer en suivant des routes anciennes qui traversent des lacs et des rivières interconnectés. Il y a plus de 500 pétroglyphes dans le parc. Ces images illustrent la vie des personnes qui vivent dans cette région.

Lieu historique national Saoyú-Ɂehdacho

Saoyú et Ɂehdacho signifient « mont Grizzly Bear » et « collines Scented Grass » dans la langue Sahtugot’ine.

Saoyú-Ɂehdacho - Saa-ïou É-dah-tcho

La visite de ce lieu historique national procure un ressourcement inégalé et un grand apaisement. Les noms Saoyú et Ɂehdacho signifient respectivement « mont Grizzly Bear » et « collines Scented Grass ». Lieux d'enseignement et de spiritualité essentiels au bien-être culturel des Sahtugot’ines (peuple du Grand lac de l'Ours), les deux grandes péninsules de Saoyú et de Ɂehdacho font saillie dans le Grand lac de l'Ours, juste au sud du cercle arctique, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Baignée par le Grand lac de l'Ours, cette immense mer intérieure qui est à la fois le plus grand lac d'eau douce du Canada et le neuvième lac en importance au monde, ce lieu historique unique est imprégné de la culture des Sahtugot’ines qui croient que la terre est sacrée. Ce site offre une occasion de mieux comprendre les origines de la culture des Dénés du Sahtu, leurs valeurs spirituelles, leur style de vie et leur utilisation du territoire. Pour eux, la terre est riche de récits qui confondent le naturel et le surnaturel. Ces récits façonnent les liens des habitants avec la terre.

Parc national Ukkusiksalik

Ukkusiksalik, un mot inuktitut qui signifie « endroit où trouver des pierres pour faire des pots »

Ukkusiksalik - ou-cou-sique-sa-lique

Ukkusiksalik signifie en inuktitut « endroit où trouver des pierres pour faire des pots ». En effet, les centaines de sites archéologiques qu'on y trouve démontrent que l'endroit est depuis longtemps un lieu de rassemblement pour les Inuits. Imaginez! Depuis plus de 3 000 ans, des populations attirées par ces paysages grandioses où vit une faune sauvage abondante s'y sont rassemblées, ont campé et ont pagayé sur ces eaux. Des inukshuks, des monticules de pierres érigés comme points de repère par les Inuits, parsèment le paysage. L’inukshuk pouvait servir à marquer un sentier où passait les hardes de caribous, et même de poste d’affût pour les chasseurs qui attendaient le gibier. La baie Wager présente des caractéristiques particulières, notamment des marées de 8 mètres d'amplitude et un fort effet de marée produisant des chutes réversibles impressionnantes. En outre, deux secteurs d'eau salée demeurent ouverts à longueur d'année, ce qui contribue à la richesse de la faune marine du parc. Pour vivre une aventure arctique extraordinaire, il est recommandé de se rendre au parc en bateau en compagnie d'un pourvoyeur chevronné, afin d'observer en toute sécurité les ours polaires et la faune marine abondante comprenant entre autres des phoques, des bélugas et, de temps à autre, des narvals.

Lieu historique national de Batoche

Remontez au temps de la vie des colons métis du XIXe siècle au Lieu historique national de Batoche

Remontez au temps de la vie des colons métis du XIXe siècle au bord de la rivière sinueuse Saskatchewan-Sud à cette époque. Le village de Batoche était situé à l’endroit oú la piste Carlton – la principale route commercial reliant le fort Edmonsont et le fort Garry – traverse la rivière. Les Métis de Batoche ont réparti leurs terres en lots riverains, plus longs que larges, afin que tout le monde puisse accéder à la rivière et les voisins étaient proches. Outre l’agriculture, les Métis vivaient principalement du transport, du commerce et de l’élevage de bétail. Ce paysage paisible remplie d’armoise de l'Ouest, d’oiseaux chanteurs et de lapins a été le théâtre de la bataille finale de la résistance du Nord-Ouest de 1885, un soulèvement du peuple métis, qui se sentaient alors exclus des plans mis en oeuvre pour assurer la croissance et le développement de l’Ouest canadien. Batoche commémore ce conflit armé entre le gouvernement canadien et le gouvernement provisoire métis mené par Louis Riel et Gabriel Dumont. Explorez les trous des tirailleurs et lisez les noms gravés sur les pierres tombales du cimetière dans le foyer de la culture et du patrimoine métis.

Lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House

Premières nations, Métis, trappeurs et négociants ont visité le Lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House.

Dans les forêts denses des contreforts des Rocheuses, les rapides au confluent des rivières Saskatchewan Nord et Clearwater marquent la présence d’un site longtemps utilisé par la Première nation Piikani de la confédération des Pieds-Noirs. En 1799, le premier poste de traite a été établi par la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. Quelques jours plus tard, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson a construit un poste rival à proximité. Les postes étaient petits et éloignés, mais ils ont permis d’acheminer des marchandises internationales aux Autochtones, notamment du thé, des armes à feu, de la poudre noire, des haches, des perles de verre, des casseroles en cuivre et bien d’autres choses. Premières Nations, Métis, trappeurs et commerçants circulaient sur ces rivières comme sur des autoroutes pour y transporter les biens qu’ils cherchaient à vendre aux forts. Pendant 76 ans, le poste Rocky Mountain House fut le centre névralgique du commerce dans l’Ouest. Le grand cartographe, David Thompson, en fit le point de départ de ses expéditions à la recherche d’un passage jusqu’à la côte Ouest. Des guides autochtones l’ont aide à créer deux routes des fourrures : le col Howse et le col Athabasca. Il y a deux siècles, peuples autochtones, trappeurs et commerçants se partageaient cette région pionnière encore sauvage de l’Ouest canadien. Au lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House, vous avez l’occasion de vivre une tranche de cette histoire. Explorez, randonnez, campez et découvrez les défis et les triomphes de cette époque.