Based on the Australian model, the Indigenous Guardians program supports Indigenous land management and oversight in their territories based on a cultural responsibility for the land.

The program provides training and career opportunities for Indigenous Peoples to work as equal partners with governments and industry on the protection and management of land and resources.


Haida Gwaii Watchmen

Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site

Three human figures wearing high hats are often carved at the very top of Haida poles. These Haida watchmen once stood sentinel over the village. The symbol of the three carved watchmen was adopted by the Haida for the Haida Gwaii Watchmen Program at Gwaii Haanas.

The Watchmen offer a first-hand introduction to Haida culture. They are Haida men and women of all ages who share their knowledge of the land and the sea, as well as stories, songs, and traditional foods.

For many visitors, meeting the Watchmen is the most memorable part of a trip to Haida village sites.

West Coast Trail Guardians and Broken Group Islands Beach Keepers

Pacific Rim National Park Reserve

West Coast Trail Guardians

As the traditional guardians of the lands and waters, Huu-ay-aht, Ditidaht, and Pacheedaht Guardians work with Parks Canada to care for the trails and protect the land and visiting hikers. An encounter with a West Coast Trail Guardian might include a story told by the fire, a song, or a simple exchange between hikers and Guardians that will create a memory to last a lifetime.


Broken Group Islands Beach Keepers

The Broken Group Islands are made up of over 100 islands, islets and scattered rocky outcrops, surrounding the Reserves and traditional territories of the Tseshaht First Nation and Hupacasath First Nation. Toquaht Nation and Uchucklesaht Tribe also have treaty rights within the park.

The Broken Group Islands are rich in human, natural, and cultural history as well as resources. Parks Canada works closely with the Tseshaht First Nation to care for this place and share its significance with visitors. Beach Keepers, who welcome visitors and provide advice and safety information, continue a legacy borne out of ancient protocol.

Guardian Program

Wrecks of Erebus and Terror National Historic Site

Inspired by other Guardian and Watchmen programs at cooperatively managed places, Parks Canada is currently working with the Franklin Interim Advisory Committee on the development of a Guardians Program for the wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror in 2018.

This summer, community members from Gjoa Haven and Parks Canada staff will be visiting proposed Guardian camp locations near both wreck sites.

The Guardians program will involve Inuit in the protection and monitoring of the wreck sites and contribute to further integrating Inuit knowledge into Parks Canada’s operations. The Guardians will be working closely with Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team during their work at HMS Erebus this summer. They will help scout potential locations and establish trial base camps that could be used to support future archeological work.

Eventually, the Guardians will play a key role in hosting visitors to the wreck sites – sharing knowledge and Inuit culture and presenting the Franklin story as well as monitoring the two wreck sites.

Basé sur le modèle australien, le programme des Gardiens Autochtones soutient la gestion et la surveillance des terres sur leurs territoires en fonction d'une responsabilité culturelle pour la terre.

Le programme offre des formations et des opportunités de carrière pour les peuples autochtones afin de travailler comme partenaires égaux avec les gouvernements et l'industrie pour la protection et la gestion des terres et des ressources.


Les gardiens de Haida Gwaii

Réserve de parc national, réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas

Trois figures humaines coiffées de chapeaux hauts sont souvent sculptées au sommet des mâts totémiques haïdas. Autrefois, des gardiens haïdas étaient affectés à des endroits stratégiques autour d’un village pour donner l’alarme à l’approche d’un ennemi.

Les gardiens leur transmettent leurs connaissances sur la terre et la mer, et ils leur font découvrir leur culture – leurs récits, leurs chants, leurs danses et leurs mets traditionnels.

De nombreux visiteurs considèrent les échanges avec les gardiens haïdas comme la partie la plus mémorable de leur visite dans les anciens villages.

Gardiens du sentier de la Côte-Ouest et Gardiens de plage de l’archipel Broken Group

Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim

Gardiens du sentier de la Côte-Ouest

En tant que gardiens traditionnels des terres et des eaux, les gardiens des Huu-ay-aht, des Ditidahts et des Pacheedahts aident Parcs Canada à entretenir les sentiers et à protéger les terres ainsi que les randonneurs qui y viennent. Les gardiens du sentier de la Côte-Ouest racontent parfois des récits aux visiteurs ou chantent avec eux près d’un feu de camp, ou encore ils s’entretiennent avec eux, contribuant à leur laisser des souvenirs inoubliables.


Gardiens de plage de l’archipel Broken Group

L’archipel Broken Group est composé de plus de cent îles, îlots et affleurement rocheux épars qui entourent la réserve et les territoires traditionnels des Premières Nations Tseshaht (en anglais seulement) et Hupacasath (en anglais seulement). La Nation Toquaht (en anglais seulement) et la tribu d’Uchucklesaht (en anglais seulement) possèdent également des droits issus de traités sur des terres faisant partie du parc.

L’archipel Broken Group possède une histoire très riche sur les plans humain, naturel et culturel, ainsi que de précieuses ressources. Parcs Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec la Première Nation Tseshaht pour prendre soin de ce lieu et communiquer son importance aux visiteurs grâce au programme des gardiens de plage. Les gardiens de plage, qui accueillent les visiteurs et donnent des conseils et des renseignements sur la sécurité, suivent la tradition d’un protocole ancien.

Programme des gardiens

Lieu historique national des épaves de l'Erebus et du Terror

Inspiré par d'autres programmes de gardiens dans des endroits gérés coopérativement, Parcs Canada collabore actuellement avec le Comité consultatif intérimaire de Franklin sur l'élaboration d'un programme de gardiens pour les épaves de HMS Erebus et HMS Terror en 2018.

Cet été, des membres de la communauté de Gjoa Haven et du personnel de Parcs Canada a vont visiter des emplacements proposés pour les gardiens près des deux sites des épaves.

Le programme des Gardiens impliquera les Inuits dans la protection et la surveillance des sites d'épaves et contribuera à intégrer davantage les connaissances inuites dans les opérations de Parcs Canada. Les Gardiens travailleront en étroite collaboration avec l'équipe d'archéologie sous-marine de Parcs Canada lors de leur travail au HMS Erebus cet été. Ils aideront à explorer les emplacements potentiels et à établir des camps de base d'essai qui pourraient être utilisés pour soutenir les futurs travaux archéologiques.

Finalement, les Gardiens joueront un rôle clé à l’accueil des visiteurs sur les sites des épaves - le partage des connaissances et la culture inuite, ainsi que la présentation de l'histoire de Franklin et la surveillance des sites des deux épaves.