The Directory of Federal Heritage Designations offers a complete list of federal designations stemming from various programs. It includes districts, buildings, events, railway stations and heritage sites managed by Parks Canada, as well as people who are of historic value or interest. The Directory lists close to 3,500 designations.

Parks Canada provides professional and administrative services to support the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) and the Federal Heritage Buildings Review Office (FHBRO). Designations stemming from the Historic Sites and Monuments Act (1953) and the Heritage Railway Stations Protection Act (1990) are listed in the Directory of Federal Heritage Designations. Classified and recognized federal buildings recorded in the Register of the Government of Canada Heritage Buildings, which is maintained by FHBRO, are also listed in this Directory.

As of March 31, 2011, over 956 sites, 417 events, 648 people, 162 railway stations and 1342 federal buildings have been designated.

Types of Designation

  • National Historic Sites (NHS) are found all across Canada – in urban centres, rural areas and deep in the wilderness – and are an integral part of our past and present.
  • National Historic Events (NHE) evoke a moment, episode, movement or experience in the history of Canada.
  • National historic People (NHP) are people who, through their words or actions, have made a unique and enduring contribution to the history of Canada.

Canada’s program of historical commemoration recognizes nationally significant places, persons and events of Canadian history. Designations of national historic significance are made by the Minister of the Environment on the recommendation of the HSMBC. For more information on HHS, PNHS and NHE, see Criteria and guidelines for evaluating subjects of potential national historic significance.

  • Heritage Railway Stations (HRS): only designated Heritage Railway Stations that are still owned by a railway company under federal jurisdiction are subject to the Heritage Railway Stations Protection Act
  • Federal Heritage Buildings (FHB) are designated by the Minister of the Environment on the recommendation of the Federal Heritage Buildings Committee. The heritage character of federally owned buildings is protected under the Treasury Board Policy on Management of Real Property.

Searching the Directory

The Directory of Federal Heritage Designations is searchable in several ways. Each successful search will result in a list of designations.

Keyword (name, city, subject) allows the user to search the Directory with a keyword or string of keywords, (the more terms in a string the more specific the search. eg. ‘Father’ yields 128 designations, but ‘Father of Confederation’ narrows results to 62)

Advanced Search

Designation Type specifies the type of designation required, limiting the search to a more specific type of designation.

City, Province / Territory: the search is specified by location

Designation Year allows the user the option of identifying a year in which certain designations were approved by the Minister.

Government custodian allows the search to be restricted to designations owned or administered by a particular government department (only FHB).

What should I expect to find in the Directory?

The Directory contains almost 3,500 entries and approximately 7,000 pages of information on federal designations. As a rule, you can expect to find basic information on each designation (name, reasons for designation, recognition date, recognition authority, location). You can also expect to find relevant plaque texts, and photographs or illustrations. Built heritage designations will be accompanied by a description of character-defining elements.

New entries are added following ministerial approval of recommendations. They are only added to the total number of designations once every year. You can find out what has been recently designated and read the descriptions in the Recent Designations section.

Copyright

The information provided on the Directory of Federal Heritage Designations is public in nature and may be reproduced, in part or in whole, and by any means, without charge or further permission, unless otherwise specified. Most records are accompanied by images.

The copyright of these images is most often owned by Parks Canada, unless otherwise noted.

For images owned by Parks Canada or other government organizations, users are required to:
  • Exercise due diligence in ensuring the accuracy of the materials reproduced;
  • Indicate both the complete title of the materials reproduced and the author organization; and
  • Indicate that the reproduction is a copy of an official work that is published by the Government of Canada and that the reproduction has not been produced in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of the Government of Canada.

    For images not belonging to Parks Canada or other government organizations, use without permission is not allowed. Parks Canada has been granted permission to use these images in the directory subject to agreement that the rights remain with the author. For use of these images, please contact the author directly.

    Notice:
    In case of disparity in the number of designations listed on this website and those listed on the official list of designations maintained by the Parks Canada Agency, the last will be considered accurate. Please contact the Federal Registrar for more information. For designations announced since the publication of the Corporate Plan, please consult the list of Recent Designations.

L’annuaire des désignations patrimoniales fédérales offre une liste complète de désignations fédérales provenant de divers programmes. Il s’agit d’arrondissements, de bâtiments, d’événements, de gares ferroviaires, de lieux patrimoniaux qui sont gérés par Parcs Canada, et de personnages qui présentent une valeur ou un intérêt historique. L’annuaire comprend près de 3 500 désignations.

Parcs Canada fournit des services professionnels et administratifs pour appuyer la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) et le Bureau d’examen des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine (BEÉFP). Les désignations qui découlent de la Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques (1953) et de la Loi sur la protection des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales (1990) sont inscrites dans l’annuaire des désignations patrimoniales fédérales. Les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine classés et reconnus figurant dans le Répertoire des édifices du patrimoine du gouvernement du Canada, qui est maintenu par le BEÉFP, sont également inscrits dans l’annuaire.

En date du 31 mars 2011, plus de 956 lieux, 417 événements, 648 personnages, 162 gares ferroviaires et 1342 édifices fédéraux ont été désignés.

Types de désignations

  • Les lieux historiques nationaux (LHN) sont situés aux quatre coins du Canada – dans les centres urbains, dans les régions rurales et en pleine nature – et font partie intégrante de notre passé et de notre présent.
  • Les événements historiques nationaux (ÉHN) évoquent un moment, un épisode, un mouvement ou une expérience de l’histoire du Canada.
  • Les personnages historiques nationaux (PHN) qui, par leurs paroles et leurs gestes, ont apporté une contribution unique et durable à l’histoire du Canada revêtent une importance historique nationale.

Le programme de commémoration historique du Canada reconnaît les lieux, les personnages et les événements d’importance nationale dans l’histoire du pays. Les désignations d’importance historique nationale sont établies par le ministre de l’Environnement suivant les recommandations de la CLMHC. Pour en savoir davantage sur les LHN, les ÉHN et les PHN, consulter les Critères et lignes directrices pour l’évaluation des sujets d’importance historique nationale.

  • Les gares ferroviaires patrimoniales (GFP) : seules les gares appartenant toujours à une compagnie de chemin de fer régie par le gouvernement fédéral, sont visées par la Loi sur la protection des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales.
  • Les édifices fédéraux du patrimoine (ÉFP) sont établis par le ministre de l’Environnement suivant les recommandations du Comité des édifices fédéraux du patrimoine. C’est la Politique du Conseil du Trésor sur la gestion des biens immobiliers qui assure la protection du caractère patrimonial des édifices de propriété fédérale.

Recherches dans l’annuaire

Il existe plusieurs façons d’effectuer des recherches dans l’annuaire des désignations patrimoniales fédérales. Chaque recherche fructueuse permet d’obtenir une liste de désignations.

Mots-clés (nom, ville, sujet) : L’utilisateur peut effectuer une recherche dans l’annuaire à l’aide d’un mot-clé ou d’une série de mots-clés (plus il y a de mots clés, plus la recherche est précise – par exemple le mot clé « père » donne 107 désignations, mais le terme « père de la Confédération » réduit le résultat à 46).

Recherche avancée

Type de désignation : Précise le type de désignation voulu, ce qui limite la recherche à un type plus spécifique de désignation.

Ville, Province/Territoire : permet la recherche par emplacement géographique.

Année de désignation : permet à l’utilisateur de préciser une année pendant laquelle certaines désignations ont été approuvées par le Ministre.

Ministère gardien : permet de restreindre la recherche aux désignations qui relèvent d’un ministère particulier (seulement pour ÉFP).

Que puis-je espérer trouver dans l’annuaire?

L’annuaire contient près de 3 500 entrées et environ 7 000 pages d’information sur les désignations fédérales. En général, vous pouvez trouver de l’information de base sur chaque désignation (noms, objectifs de commémoration, date de reconnaissance, autorité ayant accordé la reconnaissance, emplacement). Vous y trouverez aussi des textes de la plaque ainsi que des photographies ou des illustrations pertinentes. Les désignations du patrimoine bâti sont accompagnées d’une description des éléments caractéristiques.

Les nouvelles entrées sont ajoutées après l’approbation des recommandations par le Ministre. Elles ne sont ajoutées au nombre total de désignations qu’une fois par année. Vous pouvez toutefois connaître les nouvelles désignations et lire les descriptions connexes dans la section intitulée Désignations récentes.

Droit d’auteur

L’information fournie dans l’annuaire des désignations patrimoniales fédérales est d’ordre public et peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie, et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais ni autre permission, à moins d’avis contraire. La plupart des inscriptions sont accompagnées d’images.

Les droits d’auteur rattachés à ces images appartiennent pour la plupart à Parcs Canada, à moins d’indication contraire.

En ce qui concerne les images appartenant à Parcs Canada ou à d’autres organismes gouvernementaux, les usagers sont tenus :

  • de faire preuve de diligence raisonnable en assurant l’intégrité du matériel reproduit;
  • d’indiquer le titre complet des documents reproduits ainsi que l’organisation qui en est l’auteure;
  • d’indiquer que la reproduction est une copie d’un document officiel publié par le gouvernement du Canada et que la reproduction n’a pas été faite en association avec le gouvernement du Canada ni avec l’appui de ce celui-ci.

Quant aux images qui n’appartiennent ni à Parcs Canada ni à d’autres organismes gouvernementaux, l’utilisation sans permission n’est pas autorisée. Parcs Canada a obtenu la permission d’utiliser ces images dans l’annuaire sous réserve que les droits d’auteur soient respectés. Pour utiliser ces images, veuillez communiquer directement avec leur auteur.

Avertissement :
En cas de disparité entre le nombre de désignations recensé sur ce site web et la liste officielle de désignations de l'Agence Parcs Canada, cette dernière à priorité. Veuillez contacter le Registraire fédéral pour plus d'information. Pour les désignations annoncées depuis la publication du Plan corporatif, veuillez consulter la liste des Désignations récentes.