Does polar exploration past and present interest you and is it discussed in your classroom? Do the disappearance of Sir John Franklin in 1845, the historic expedition in search of the Northwest Passage and the recent discoveries of its ships intrigue your students?

Here is a wealth of educational resources - most of which are available in English and French - developed by experts in the field!

External resources

Inuit men on the pack ice with a kayak-type boat
Franklin Mystery: A complete site dedicated to the Sir John Franklin’s 1845 expedition!
© Great Unsolved Mysteries in Canadian History

Franklin Mystery: life and death in the Arctic
Great Unsolved Mysteries in Canadian History (GUMICH)

The Franklin Mystery: Life and Death in the Arctic invites you to explore the historical evidence surrounding the events of the 1845 Franklin expedition, and draw your own conclusions about what happened, and why. Find hundreds of pieces of evidence left over from the past and reproduced in the form of letters, diaries, memoirs, drawings, paintings and maps.

Finding Franklin: new approaches to teaching Canadian history
THEN|HIER The History Education Network

With a focus on developments in telling the history of Sir John Franklin’s 1845 expedition, the symposium held in Ottawa, June 4-5, 2015 brought Canada's leading experts in history education together with historians, Inuit cultural advisors, underwater archaeologists, curriculum specialists from Nunavut and the Northwest Territories, and teachers from northern and southern Canada.

Canadian Geographic learning activities
Canadian Geographic Education

The 2014 Victoria Strait Expedition sought to solve one of the Canada’s greatest mysteries – what happened to Sir John Franklin, his crew and ships when the 1845 British Arctic Expedition ended in tragedy. With the support of its partners, Canadian Geographic Education has created activities for intermediate students to bring the excitement of exploration into classrooms. (Also available in Inuktitut)

Map of Canada
Parks Canada Giant Floor map available for loan.
© Canadian Geographic

Giant floor map
Parks Canada and Canadian Geographic

Explore Canada’s great nation through its National Parks, National Historic Sites and National Marine Conservation Areas including the Wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS TerrorNational Historic Site. In partnership with Canadian Geographic, Giant Floor maps are available for loan for 3-week periods. Take students’ learning to a deeper level with ten curriculum-linked activities.

Sonar image of the wreck of HMS Erebus.
© The Canadian Hydrographic Service – Fisheries and Oceans Canada 2014

The role of the Canadian Hydrographic Service and the Canadian Coast Guard in the discovery of HMS Erebus (multi-beam sonar images of HMS Erebus)
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

The discovery of HMS Erebus, one of Sir John Franklin’s two lost ships, was a significant occasion for Fisheries and Oceans Canada to showcase the work of the Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) and the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG). Learn more about the role of both the CHS and the CCG in the discovery of HMS Erebus.

Franklin’s Lost Ships
Nature of Things, CBC and Lion Television, aired April 9, 2015

Franklin’s Lost Ships presents an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at one of the most important undersea discoveries since the Titanic. Franklin’s Lost Ships uses CGI and re-enactments to lay out how Franklin’s expedition became a tragedy in polar exploration history. It took scientific discipline, Inuit oral history and some luck to finally find the Erebus. But the story is far from over. Franklin’s Lost Ships reveals it’s only just begun.

Image taken from the video, in which we can see some men leaving two vessels trapped in the ice
Animated introduction of the Franklin’s expedition’s story.
© Centre for International Governance Innovation

Discovery of HMS Erebus Video
Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI)

A one minute video intro to mysteries of the Franklin voyage revealed in Canada's Arctic.

Internal resources

People using the touch screen of the Franklin Exploration pop-up display
To be seen in ten museums across Canada!

The Franklin Exploration pop-up display
The Franklin Museum Network

This is an opportunity to discover a museum in your area member of the museum network of the Franklin project! You will find an interactive exhibition on the 1845 expedition of Sir John Franklin and research expeditions for his lost ships.

Events

Check the calendar of events section of our website to discover the opportunities for practical learning activities and meeting with the team of the Franklin project, as well as presentations by underwater archaeologists and other experts on the subject across the country.

L’exploration polaire d’hier et d’aujourd’hui vous intéresse et est abordée dans vos salles de classe? La disparition de l’expédition historique de 1845 de sir John Franklin à la recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest et les découvertes récentes de ses navires piquent la curiosité de vos élèves?

Voici une foule de ressources éducatives, la plupart disponibles en français et en anglais, développées par des experts en la matière!

Ressources externes

Le mystère Franklin : vivre et mourir en Arctique

Inuit men on the pack ice with a kayak-type boat
Le mystère Franklin : un site complet dédié à l’expédition de 1845 de sir John Franklin!
© Les grands mystères de l’histoire canadienne
Les grands mystères de l’histoire canadienne

Le mystère Franklin : vivre et mourir en Arctique vous invite à explorer les preuves historiques des événements de 1845 et à tirer vos propres conclusions sur ce qui est arrivé et pourquoi c’est arrivé. Vous trouverez ici des centaines d’éléments de preuve qui nous restent du passé et qui ont été reproduits dans des lettres, des journaux intimes, des mémoires, des dessins, des peintures et des cartes géographiques.

Trouver Franklin : nouvelles approches à l’enseignement de l’histoire canadienneNote de bas de page *

THEN|HIER– Histoire et éducation en réseau

Ce symposium qui a eu lieu à Ottawa, les 4 et 5 juin 2015, avait pour but de mettre l’accent sur les développements permettant de raconter l’histoire de l’expédition de 1845 menée par sir John Franklin. Il a réuni des experts canadiens en enseignement de l’histoire, des historiens, des conseillers culturels inuits, des archéologues subaquatiques, des conseillers en programmes d’études du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et des enseignants provenant du nord et du sud du Canada.

Activités d’apprentissage du Canadian Geographic

Map of Canada
Carte-tapis géante de Parcs Canada disponible à l’emprunt.
© Canadian Geographic
Canadian Geographic Éducation

L’expédition de 2014 au détroit de Victoria avait pour but de résoudre un des plus grands mystères du Canada – ce qui était arrivé à sir John Franklin, à ses hommes et à ses navires lorsque l’expédition britannique de 1845 dans l’Arctique se termina en tragédie. Canadian Geographic Éducation, avec le soutien de ses partenaires, a créé des activités pour les élèves de niveau intermédiaire afin d’amener l’engouement pour l’exploration dans les salles de classe. (Également offert en inuktitut)

Carte-tapis géante

Image sonar de l’épave du HMS Erebus
© Le Service hydrographique du Canada – Pêches et Océans Canada 2014
Parcs Canada et Canadian Geographic

Explorez la grande nation du Canada grâce à ses parcs nationaux, à ses lieux historiques nationaux et ses aires marines nationales de conservation incluant le lieu historique national des Épaves du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror. En partenariat avec Canadian Geographic, des cartes-tapis géantes peuvent faire l’objet d’un prêt pour des périodes de trois semaines. Approfondissez le niveau d’apprentissage des élèves au moyen de dix activités liées au programme.

Le rôle du Service hydrographique du Canada et de la Garde côtière canadienne dans la découverte du HMS Erebus (images du HMS Erebus prises à l’aide du sonar multifaisceaux) - Pêches et Océans Canada

La découverte du HMS Erebus, l’un des deux navires disparus de sir John Franklin, fut une occasion significative pour Pêches et Océans Canada de mettre en valeur le travail effectué par le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) et par la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC). Apprenez en plus à propos du rôle qu’ont joué le SHC et la GCC dans la découverte du HMS Erebus.

Les navires disparus de Franklin

Image extraite de la vidéo où l’on aperçoit des hommes quitter deux navires pris dans les glaces.
Animation d’introduction à l’histoire de l’expédition de Franklin.
© Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance internationale
Découverte, Radio-Canada et Lion Television, diffusée le 10 mai 2015

Les navires disparus de Franklin entraîne le spectateur dans les coulisses d’une des plus importantes découvertes sous-marines depuis le Titanic. Les navires disparus de Franklinutilise des images générées par ordinateur et des reconstitutions pour exposer de quelle façon l’expédition de Franklin s’est transformée en tragédie de l’histoire de l’exploration polaire. La discipline scientifique, l’histoire orale des Inuits et la chance ont finalement permis de découvrir l’Erebus. Mais l’histoire est loin d’être terminée. Les navires disparus de Franklin révèle qu’elle ne fait que commencer.

Discovery of HMS ErebusNote de bas de page *

Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance internationale (CIGI)

Une introduction d’une minute aux mystères du voyage de Franklin révélés dans l’Arctique canadien.

Ressources internes

Exposition Sur les traces de Franklin

Personnes utilisant l’écran interactif de l’exposition Sur les traces de Franklin.
Le réseau muséal du projet Franklin
Le réseau muséal du projet Franklin

Voilà une opportunité d’aller découvrir un musée de votre région membre du réseau muséal du projet Franklin! Vous y trouverez notamment une exposition interactive sur l’expédition de 1845 de sir John Franklin et les expéditions de recherche pour ses navires perdus.

Consultez le calendrier des événements de notre section web afin de découvrir les opportunités d’activités pratiques d’apprentissage et de rencontre avec l’équipe du projet Franklin, de même que les présentations données par les archéologues subaquatiques et autres experts sur le sujet à travers le pays.