Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit at its best

Inuit traditional knowledge outlined the search area. The archaeological technology and methods employed underwater and on land gave us the tools needed to make a thorough scientific search, and aided with the final discovery of the wrecks.

“..without traditional knowledge the search would have been wholly impractical since “we wouldn’t know where to look, and we never would have found the ship. No one would have bothered to look, because the area was just so large.”

David Woodman

Inuit oral histories

Traditional knowledge passed down through generations has come full circle almost 170 years after Inuit witnessed the disastrous and tragic end to the Franklin expedition. Learn more about how these stories led to the discovery of the wrecks.

Inuit oral histories in the 1850s

In 1850, Royal Navy searchers discovered that Franklin had wintered at Beechey Island but found no information as to where he headed next.

Four years later, in 1854, Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) searcher Dr. John Rae learned from Inuit at Pelly Bay and Repulse Bay, Nunavut, that around 1848 some 40 white men had been seen on the western shore of King William Island heading southwards, apparently after their ships had become trapped by ice.

Inuit reported that later the bodies of 30 or so men were found farther south near the mouth of the Back River on the mainland coast. Rae carefully recorded these stories and bartered for Franklin Expedition objects that Inuit had collected.

An expedition, led by Captain Francis Leopold McClintock, found a note left by the Franklin expedition in a cairn on the northwest corner of King William Island. This document explained that the ships had become beset in ice nearby in 1846, that Franklin died in June 1847, and that in April 1848 the surviving 105 crew members had deserted the ships and were presumably making an overland retreat to the nearest Hudson’s Bay Company post, hundreds of miles to the south.

McClintock found many traces of this retreat, including the bodies of crew members who died during the trek. He learned from meetings with Inuit that one of the ships had later been wrecked on the west coast of King William Island, and that the other had been wrecked in a place called “Ook-joo-lik” (Ugjulik).

Inuit oral histories in the 1860s and 1870s
The hand drawn map has King Williams Island in the top centre. It is indicated with text. There is another Island near the top right corner of the image and underneath King Williams Island.
Sketch of King William Land provided by Inukpujijuq to Charles Francis Hall, 1869.
©The Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto

Charles Francis Hall, an American journalist, was next to take up the search and seek out more evidence. Spending years in the Arctic, travelling and living among Inuit, he gathered invaluable Inuit oral histories.

Importantly, interpreters Taqulittuq and Ipiivik were part of his team. In 1869, he learned that the Ugjulik wreck was located off the western shore of the Adelaide Peninsula; Ugjulik (spelled variously) refers to a seal hunting ground, the word meaning as “there are bearded seals there.”

Although Hall did not travel there himself, he collected specific information from Inuit informants that the wreck was located northeast of O’Reilly Island. One informant, an Inuk named Inukpujijuk (In-nook-poo-zhe-jook), pointed out the location of the wreck on an Admiralty chart Hall used, and even drew his own map of the wreck location.

Hall learned that an Inuk had found the ship afloat in the ice one spring, that there was evidence of the crew members having left the ship, and that Inuit had later gone on board and salvaged as many items as they could before it sank. They had even found the body of a crew member inside.

The last major nineteenth-century contribution to the story came from an 1878-1880 expedition led by Lieutenant Frederick Schwatka, an American cavalry officer. With the aid of interpreters, including Ipiivik, he recorded informative oral histories about the expedition, and importantly for us, information about the Ugjulik wreck. He was told that it was sunk off what he deduced was Grant Point, at the northwest tip of the Adelaide Peninsula.

Inuit oral histories and the modern search

Although interest in the fate of the Franklin Expedition and its ships did not abate, it would be over 80 years before the wreck search was resumed. Beginning in the 1960s, researchers had begun to search for the Ugjulik wreck, searching along the shoreline and diving in the frigid waters.

The quest for the wreck was taken up by Canadian researcher and explorer David C. Woodman. He published an important book in 1992 called Unravelling the Franklin Mystery: Inuit Testimony. This exhaustive study was a reappraisal and compilation of the Inuit evidence and is an important reference work.

Woodman had spent years beginning in the 1990s searching for the wreck firsthand, often using search methods deployed from the ice in spring time, and drawing on partners that included local Inuit team members. Unfortunately, his repeated searches did not result in a wreck discovery.

 

Traditional knowledge meets contemporary search tools
An Inuit man stands near a circular gathering of stones. The land around him is flat and barren.
Louie Kamookak, historian and teacher from Gjoa Haven and a member of the advisory committee, explains that these stone tent rings, providing evidence of encampments, are common throughout Nunavut.

It was in the early 1990s that Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Team became involved in the search for the shipwrecks.

In 1997, the team took part in a major search for the Ugjulik wreck that involved a range of government and non-government partners, including David Woodman and Inuit researcher Louie Kamookak, who resides in Gjoa Haven, the community closest to the proposed search area.

Following this unsuccessful search, Parks Canada worked closely with Kamookak, who shared his traditional knowledge about regional place names and the Franklin expedition that he had gathered from elders.



“From the outset, the objective was to use both Inuit oral history and Canada’s best technology to search for the shipwrecks.”

Alan Latourelle, former CEO, Parks Canada Agency

The initial team was made up of Inuit Knowledge Holders, including Louie Kamookak, as well as members of Parks Canada, the Canadian Coast Guard, the Canadian Hydrographic Service, and importantly the Government of Nunavut.

Parks Canada took the lead in the shipwreck search while Government of Nunavut archaeologists, under the direction of Dr. Douglas Stenton, carried out parallel land-based archaeological surveys. A key component of this work was to search former Inuit habitation sites, for artefacts from the ship or shipwreck.

Reliance on Inuit knowledge has been a constant. Parks Canada and the Government of Nunavut regularly consulted with Kamookak and other residents at Gjoa Haven and Cambridge Bay.

The final discovery

Sonar image of shipwreck to the right and a black shadow down the middle of the image.
Sonar picture of HMS Erebus as it rests at the bottom of the ocean.

The team completed six years of meticulous side-scan sonar searching for the Ugjulik wreck, and despite week after week of laborious work to cover as much seafloor as possible in the search area, they never gave up on the belief that Inuit oral histories were accurate.

The well-practiced methods honed over the years paid off in 2014. On an island in the search area, Government of Nunavut team members found two artefacts from the Ugjulik wreck that had been cached by some unknown Inuk on an island.

Parks Canada shifted its search area based on this discovery and the wreck of HMS Erebus was located soon after, northeast of O’Reilly Island, near to where Inukpujijukhad told Hall it had sunk.

Le Qaujimajatuqangit (savoir traditionnel) inuit à son meilleur

Le savoir traditionnel inuit a permis de délimiter le secteur de recherches. La technologie et la méthodologie archéologiques marines et terrestres ont été des outils indispensables à une recherche scientifique approfondie et à la découverte finale des épaves.

« …sans le savoir traditionnel, il aurait été difficile de lancer les recherches : nous n’aurions pas su où chercher et nous n’aurions jamais trouvé le navire. Personne n’aurait pris la peine de chercher en raison de l’ampleur du secteur. »

David Woodman

Histoires orales des Inuits

Le savoir traditionnel transmis de génération en génération a permis de boucler la boucle près de 170 ans après que les Inuits furent témoins du sort tragique et funeste de l’expédition Franklin. Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon dont ces histoires ont mené à la découverte des épaves.

  • Histoires orales des Inuits dans les années 1850

    En 1850, les équipes de recherche de la Marine royale découvrent que Franklin a passé l’hiver sur l’île Beechey, mais ne trouvent aucune information au sujet de la direction qu’il prit ensuite.

    Quatre ans plus tard, en 1854, John Rae, explorateur pour le compte de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson apprend par l’intermédiaire des Inuits de la baie Pelly et de Repulse Bay, au Nunavut, qu’une quarantaine d’hommes blancs auraient été aperçus en 1848 sur les rives ouest de l’île du Roi-Guillaume se dirigeant vers le sud, après que leurs navires eurent apparemment été pris par la glace.

    Les Inuits racontent qu’ils trouvèrent plus tard les corps d’une trentaine d’hommes plus au sud, près de l’embouchure de la rivière Back sur la côte continentale. Rae consigne soigneusement ces récits et obtient des objets de l’expédition de Franklin que les Inuits avaient récupérés en faisant du troc.

    Carte de l'île King William
    Cliquer pour agrandir

    En 1859, une expédition, menée par le capitaine Francis Leopold McClintock, découvre une note laissée par l’expédition de Franklin dans un cairn dans le coin nord-ouest de l’île du Roi-Guillaume. Ce document dévoile comment les navires furent coincés par la glace dans les environs de l’île en 1846, la mort de Franklin en juin 1847, et l’abandon du navire en avril 1848 par les 105 membres survivants de l’équipage. Ces derniers décidèrent de quitter les navires et de se replier sur la terre ferme pour se diriger vers le poste de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson le plus proche, à plusieurs centaines de kilomètres au sud.

    McClintock trouve de nombreuses traces de ce passage, notamment des corps de membres de l’équipage morts au cours de cette longue marche. Il apprend également au cours de ses rencontres avec les Inuits que les deux navires sombrèrent plus tard, l’un au large de la côte ouest de l’île du Roi-Guillaume et l’autre à un endroit appelé « Ugjulik» (Ook-joo-lik).

  • Histoires orales des Inuits dans les années 1860 et 1870
    La carte dessinée nomme l'Île du Roi-Guillaume au centre vers le haut. Il y a deux autres îles; une en haut à la droite de l'image et une au bas de l'Île du Roi-Guillaume.
    Croquis du territoire du Roi-Guillaume fourni par Inukpujijuq à Charles Francis Hall en 1869.
    ©Bibliothèque de livres rares Thomas Fisher, Université de Toronto

    Charles Francis Hall, un journaliste américain, prend le relais des recherches et se met en quête de nouvelles preuves. Après avoir passé plusieurs années dans l’Arctique, voyageant et vivant auprès des Inuits, il recueille de précieux témoignages inuits.

    Il est important de préciser qu’il était accompagné des interprètes Taqulittuq et Ipiivik. En 1869, il apprend que l’épave d’Ugjulik est située au large de la côte ouest de la presqu’île Adelaide; le mot « Ugjulik» (plusieurs orthographes possibles) désigne un terrain de chasse aux phoques et signifie « là où se trouvent les phoques barbus ».

    Hall ne se rend pas personnellement sur les lieux, mais il recueille des renseignements précis d’informateurs inuits qui l’informent que l’épave se situe au nord-est de l’île O’Reilley. L’un des informateurs, un Inuit nommé Inukpujijuk (In-nook-poo-zhe-jook), montre sur une carte marine de l’Amirauté que Charles Francis Hall utilisait, l’emplacement précis de l’épave et dessine même sa propre carte indiquant ledit emplacement.

    Hall apprend qu’un Inuit avait trouvé le navire encore à flot prisonnier de la banquise, un printemps, et qu’il a aperçu des preuves de l’abandon du navire par l’équipage. Par la suite, des Inuits sont montés à bord pour récupérer le plus d’objets possible avant que le navire ne sombre. Ces derniers ont même découvert le corps d’un des membres de l’équipage à l’intérieur.

    La dernière expédition ayant lieu au XIXe siècle pour tenter de résoudre cette énigme est menée par le lieutenant Frederick Schwatka, un officier de la cavalerie américaine, de 1878 à 1880. Grâce aux interprètes, notamment Ipiivik, il recueille de précieux témoignages sur l’expédition, et plus important pour nous, des renseignements sur l’épave d’Ugjulik. Il apprend que le navire a sombré, au large de Grant Point (selon ses déductions) à la pointe nord-ouest de la presqu’île Adelaide.

  • Histoires orales des Inuits et recherches modernes

    Bien que l’intérêt concernant le sort de l’expédition de Franklin et de ses navires ne faiblit pas, il faut attendre plus de 80 ans avant que les recherches reprennent. Au début des années 1960, les chercheurs entreprennent de trouver l’épave d’Ugjulik en explorant le long des rivages et en plongeant dans les eaux glacées.

    Le chercheur et explorateur canadien David C. Woodman reprend la recherche des épaves. Il publie un livre majeur sur le sujet en 1992 intitulé Unravelling the Franklin Mystery: Inuit Testimony. Cette étude approfondie rassemble et réexamine les témoignages des Inuits. Il s’agit d’un ouvrage de référence important.

    Dès les années 1990, Woodman passe plusieurs années à chercher personnellement l’épave d’Ugiulik, en utilisant des méthodes de recherche sur la banquise au printemps, et en collaborant avec des partenaires, notamment des Inuits de la région membres de l’équipe. Malheureusement, ses recherches répétées ne débouchent pas sur la découverte de l’épave.

  • Combinaison du savoir traditionnel et des outils de recherche contemporains
    Un homme Inuit est près d’un cercle construit de pierres. Le terrain autours de lui est plat et stérile.
    Louie Kamookak, historien et enseignant à Gjoa Haven, membre du comité consultatif, raconte que ces ronds de pierres montrant la présence antérieure de campements inuits sont communs à travers le Nunavut.

    C’est au début des années 1990 que l’équipe d’archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada s’implique dans la recherche des épaves.

    En 1997, l’équipe participe à une importante recherche de l’épave d’Ugjulik en collaboration avec des partenaires gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux, dont David Woodman et le chercheur inuit Louie Kamookak, qui vit à Gjoa Haven, la communauté la plus proche du secteur de recherche proposé.

    Après cette recherche infructueuse, Parcs Canada continue de travailler étroitement avec Louie Kamookak qui transmet ses connaissances traditionnelles relatives aux noms de lieux régionaux et à l’expédition de Franklin qu’il tenait des aînés.


    « Dès le début, notre objectif était d’exploiter les récits oraux inuits et la meilleure technologie du Canada dans le but de trouver les épaves. »

    Alan Latourelle, ancien directeur général de Parcs Canada

    L’équipe originale était composée de détenteurs de savoir inuit, dont Louie Kamookak, ainsi que de membres de Parcs Canada, de la Garde côtière canadienne, du Service hydrographique du Canada et, fait important, du gouvernement du Nunavut.

    Parcs Canada prend la direction de la recherche des épaves et les archéologues du gouvernement du Nunavut, sous la direction de Douglas Stenton, se lancent en parallèle dans des travaux de reconnaissance archéologique terrestres. L’un des aspects essentiels de ces travaux consiste à localiser les anciens lieux habités par les Inuits, afin de trouver des artéfacts venant du bateau ou de l’épave.

    Dans le cadre de ce projet, le recours au savoir inuit a été constant. Parcs Canada et le gouvernement du Nunavut ont régulièrement consulté Louie Kamookak ainsi que d’autres résidents de Gjoa Haven et de Cambridge Bay.

La découverte finale

Image sonar d’une épave de navire située à la droite d’un ombrage au milieu de l'image.
Image sonar du HMS Erebus au fond de l’océan.

Pendant six ans l’équipe cherche l’épave d’Ugjulik à l’aide de sonars à balayage latéral. Malgré des semaines de recherches laborieuses et infructueuses d’exploration du fond marin du secteur de recherche, l’exactitude des témoignages oraux des Inuits n’est jamais remise en question.

Les méthodes employées et perfectionnées au fil des ans aboutissent à un résultat en 2014 : des membres de l’équipe du gouvernement du Nunavut découvrent sur une île située dans le secteur de recherche deux artéfacts provenant de l’épave d’Ugjulik cachés par un Inuit inconnu sur une île.

Immédiatement à la suite de cette découverte, Parcs Canada mène ses recherches marines à proximité du lieu de découverte et peu de temps après l’équipe Parcs Canada localise l’épave du HMS Erebus au nord-est de l’île O’Reilley, près de l’emplacement indiqué par Inukpujijuk à Charles Francis Hall.