World Heritage sites are exceptional places around the world that are considered to have Outstanding Universal Value. As such, they are part of the common heritage of humankind. Places as diverse as the Pyramids of Egypt, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, the Landscape of Grand Pré in Canada, the Taj Mahal in India and Yellowstone National Park in America are only a few examples of places around the globe that make up our world’s heritage.

“State Parties”, such as Canada, which have ratified UNESCO’s 1972 Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage, have pledged to ensure the identification, protection, conservation, presentation and transmission to future generations of World Heritage sites in their territory and to avoid deliberate measures that could damage World Heritage in other countries.

UNESCO

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), is a specialized intergovernmental agency of the United Nations system. Founded on 16th November 1945 following the Second World War, UNESCO was created in order to respond to the firm belief of nations, forged by two world wars in less than a generation, that political and economic agreements are not enough to build a lasting peace. Peace must be established on the basis of humanity’s moral and intellectual solidarity.

Today, UNESCO’s aim is to contribute to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue. It strives to build networks that foster and support international unity and co-operation in its three main areas of focus: education, science and culture. In the cultural sector, the World Heritage Convention is perhaps one of the most widely recognized programs that UNESCO administers.

Learn more about UNESCO, including its history, mission and programs.

The World Heritage Convention

The Convention Concerning the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage (known as the World Heritage Convention) is an international treaty between member states of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). It was adopted on 16th November 1972. Currently, 192 countries (known as "State Parties") have ratified the World Heritage Convention including Canada which did so in 1976. The Parks Canada Agency is Canada's State Party representative to the World Heritage Convention.

The World Heritage Convention established the World Heritage List as a means of recognizing that some places, either natural or cultural, are of sufficient importance to be the responsibility of the international community as a whole. The Convention therefore seeks to identify, protect, conserve, present and transmit to future generations, cultural and natural heritage that are deemed to be of Outstanding Universal Value.

Specific criteria and conditions, defined in Chapter II of the Operational Guidelines for the Implementation of the World Heritage Convention, are used to identify properties for inclusion on the World Heritage List. As of 1st August 2016, the World Heritage List includes 1052 World Heritage sites. These include 814 cultural, 203 natural and 35 mixed properties in 165 State Parties. By ratifying the Convention, Canada has pledged to care for its World Heritage sites and to avoid deliberate measures that could damage World Heritage sites in other countries.

The Convention stipulates the obligation of State Parties to report regularly to the World Heritage Committee on the state of conservation of their World Heritage properties. It also encourages State Parties to strengthen the appreciation of the public for World Heritage properties and to enhance their protection through educational and information programs. Further, the Convention explains how the World Heritage Fund is to be used and managed and under what conditions international financial assistance may be provided.

Parks Canada as Canada's State Party Representative to the Committee

Parks Canada leads Canada's implementation of the World Heritage Convention, as well co-ordinates the input and activities of provincial, territorial, municipal and Aboriginal partners. Parks Canada also has either full or shared responsibilities for the management of 12 of Canada's 18 World Heritage sites. Six others are managed by other jurisdictions such as municipal or provincial authorities.

The World Heritage List - Global

World Heritage sites are classified as natural or cultural or a combination of the two. As of August 2016, 1054 sites of Outstanding Universal Value have been inscribed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. Globally, World Heritage sites are located in 165 countries and include properties such as:

  • The Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks, in Canada
  • The Historic District of Old Québec, in Canada
  • The Galapagos Islands, in Ecuador
  • Ancient City of Damascus, in Syria
  • The Historic Sanctuary of Machu Picchu, in Peru
  • Paris - the Banks of the Seine, in France
  • The Acropolis, in Greece
  • The Great Wall, in China
  • Ancient Thebes with its Necropolis, in Egypt
  • Stonehenge, Avebury and Associated Sites, in the United Kingdom
  • The Taj Mahal, in India
  • The Persian Garden, in Iran
  • The Great Barrier Reef, in Australia

The World Heritage Centre's Web site provides information about all of the sites inscribed on the World Heritage List. It is available in eight languages, and in addition to information on each World Heritage site, there are maps, images, documents associated with the property, and more.

The World Heritage List – Canada

Since 1976, when Canada joined the World Heritage Convention, 18 of our country's most cherished heritage sites have met the requirements to be inscribed on UNESCO's World Heritage List. They represent some of humanity's most outstanding achievements and nature's most inspiring creations. Some of our sites celebrate the history of the worldwide movements of people while others provide evidence of the forces that have shaped the planet. Some bear witness to the story of evolution of life on Earth and yet others pay tribute to extraordinary human achievements. They all cross the bounds of space, time and language and present Canada's stories of international significance to the world.

The World Heritage Committee

The World Heritage Convention established the intergovernmental World Heritage Committee. It consists of representatives from 21 of the State Parties to the Convention who are elected for terms of four to six years.

Once a property has been nominated and evaluated, it is up to the Committee to make the final decision on its inscription. Once a year, the Committee meets to decide which properties will be inscribed on the World Heritage List. In addition to inscribing a property or deciding not to inscribe, the Committee can also defer or refer the nomination and request further information on a property from the relevant State Party.

While the Committee can inscribe sites as part of its management of the World Heritage List, if necessary, it can also delete sites from it. It also manages the List of World Heritage in Danger. It monitors the state of conservation of sites on the World Heritage List and can ask State Parties to take action to ensure that World Heritage sites are protected and managed appropriately. It defines the use of the World Heritage Fund and allocates financial assistance upon requests from State Parties.

The World Heritage Centre

The work of the World Heritage Committee is supported by the UNESCO World Heritage Centre in Paris, which ensures the day-to-day management of the Convention. The Centre's primary role is as the secretariat for the Committee, though it also advises State Parties on technical matters, organizes technical assistance upon request and co-ordinates reporting on the condition of properties. It also co-ordinates emergency action for threatened sites and administers the World Heritage Fund.

Becoming a World Heritage Site

There is a four-stage process to follow for any heritage site to become a World Heritage site. A site may be proposed for inscription only by the country in which the property is located. Since Parks Canada is Canada's lead agency for implementing the World Heritage Convention, it manages this process for Canada.

Stage 1 – The National Tentative List

In order for a country to be able to nominate a potential site for the consideration of the World Heritage Committee, the property must be on the country's Tentative List. This list is an inventory of candidate sites that the country believes has good potential to meet one or more of the criteria for inscription on the World Heritage List. The World Heritage Committee examines a maximum of two nominations per year from each country's Tentative List.

Stage 2 – The Nomination Dossier

A nomination dossier is prepared for the site according to the requirements outlined in the Operational Guidelines for the Implementation of the World Heritage Convention. It is a detailed and exhaustive document. The file must clearly demonstrate that the site is of Outstanding Universal Value compared with other similar sites around the world and that it meets at least one out of ten selection criteria. (Click here to see the 10 criteria in detail.) These criteria are always considered in the context of the Convention's definitions of monuments, groups of buildings, cultural and natural sites, natural features, and geological and physiographical formations. The nomination must also show that the site meets the qualifying conditions of authenticity and/or integrity. Furthermore, it must demonstrate that the site is protected and managed under Canadian (federal, provincial, territorial and/or municipal) legislation and policies, and that it has in place a management plan adequate to ensure the continued protection of the values that led to its inscription.

Stage 3 – The Evaluation

Once the nomination file is checked by the World Heritage Centre for completeness, it is independently evaluated by the appropriate Advisory Body as mandated by the Convention. Respectively, the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) and the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), provide the World Heritage Committee with evaluations of nominated cultural and natural sites. A third Advisory Body, The International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (known as ICCROM) may review the nomination in particular if there is a museum associated with the property. As part of the review conducted by these international, non-governmental organizations, experts visit the nominated site to evaluate its heritage values, its protection and management regime, and to confirm the level of support of the various stakeholders. The Advisory Body then makes its recommendation to the World Heritage Committee.

Stage 4 – The World Heritage Committee

The World Heritage Committee makes a decision on the nomination file. It can inscribe the site on the World Heritage List, not inscribe the site on the list, or send the nomination back for further information. Committee decisions regarding nomination files are made during its annual meetings. Committee meeting are typically held in June or July and hosted by the State Party of that year's Committee Chair. Canada has hosted two World Heritage Committee meetings; the first in Banff in 1990, and the second in Quebec City in 2008.

After being placed on the Tentative List, the process of preparing a nomination can be expected to take at least two years and may take much longer. After submission of the completed nomination file, the evaluation and review process takes approximately 18 months.

Canada's Tentative List

In 2004, the Government of Canada adopted its current Tentative List. The list is an inventory of candidate sites for World Heritage designation that was developed as part of a national process of study, analysis and consultation. The sites on the list are believed to have a strong potential to meet the requirements for designation set out in the Operational Guidelines.

As of August 2016, five of the 11 sites that were on Canada's 2004 Tentative List have been successfully inscribed as World Heritage sites. Nomination files for the other six sites are in various stages of preparation. (Go to: Canada's Tentative List.)

The Government of Canada is updating the country’s Tentative List for World Heritage Sites, an inventory of natural and cultural heritage properties with strong potential to be inscribed on the World Heritage List.

Managing and Reporting on the Status of World Heritage Sites

Successfully inscribing a property on the World Heritage List is not the end of the process for Canada or for the site managers. Rather, it is the beginning of a new stage in the site's history, and one that is expected to continue in perpetuity.

Through a process called Periodic Reporting (see paragraphs 199-210 and Annex 7 of the Operational Guidelines), State Parties have an obligation to regularly prepare reports on a six-year cycle about the state of conservation and the various protective measures put in place at their properties. These reports allow the World Heritage Committee to assess the conditions at the properties and, in certain circumstances, to decide on the necessity of adopting specific measures to resolve recurrent problems. Working co-operatively with site managers, Parks Canada coordinates the preparation of Periodic Reports for Canada's World Heritage sites.

Through these reporting procedures, should it be determined that a World Heritage property is under threat, the World Heritage Committee may request reactive monitoring. To this end, the State Parties may be asked to submit specific reports each time there are potential or perceived threats which may have an effect on the state of conservation of the property.

In exceptional cases, the Committee may consider adding a property to the List of World Heritage in Danger or even removing it from the World Heritage List altogether.

The World Heritage Emblem

Official emblem of the World Heritage Convention

A design by Belgian artist Michel Olyff was adopted as the official emblem of the World Heritage Convention in 1978. The emblem represents the interdependence of the world's natural and cultural diversity. It is used to identify properties protected by the World Heritage Convention and inscribed on the official World Heritage List, and represents the universal values for which the Convention stands. While the central square symbolizes the results of human skill and inspiration, the circle celebrates the gifts of nature. The emblem is round, like the world, a symbol of global protection for the heritage of all humankind.

Use of the World Heritage emblem, is strictly regulated and determined by the World Heritage Committee, with guidelines for its use defined in Chapter VIII of the Operational Guidelines. Please note that before using the World Heritage emblem in any form, appropriate authorization is required. Please contact wh.pm@pc.gc.ca for more information regarding its use.

Les sites du patrimoine mondial sont des endroits exceptionnels situés un peu partout dans le monde et considérés comme ayant une valeur universelle exceptionnelle. Pour cette raison, ils font partie du patrimoine commun de l'humanité. Des endroits aussi variés que les Pyramides d'Égypte, la Grande Barrière de corail d'Australie, le Paysage de Grand-Pré au Canada, le Taj Mahal en Inde et le parc national Yellowstone aux États-Unis ne sont que quelques exemples de lieux de la planète qui constituent notre patrimoine mondial.

Les « États parties », comme le Canada, qui ont ratifié la Convention concernant la protection du patrimoine mondial, culturel et naturel de l'UNESCO de 1972 se sont engagés à assurer l'identification, la protection, la conservation, la mise en valeur et la transmission aux générations futures de sites du patrimoine mondial se trouvant sur leur territoire et à éviter de prendre des mesures délibérées qui pourraient porter atteinte aux sites du patrimoine mondial se trouvant dans d'autres pays.

Consultez les liens ci-dessous pour en apprendre davantage sur le patrimoine mondial au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde :

UNESCO

L'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO) est un organisme intergouvernemental du système des Nations Unies. Fondée le 16 novembre 1945 après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l'UNESCO a été créée pour répondre à la ferme croyance des nations, forgée par deux grandes guerres survenues en moins d'une génération, que les ententes politiques et économiques ne suffisent pas pour bâtir une paix durable. La paix doit reposer sur la solidarité morale et intellectuelle de l'humanité.

Aujourd'hui, l'UNESCO a pour objectif de contribuer à bâtir la paix, à éradiquer la pauvreté ainsi qu'à favoriser le développement durable et le dialogue interculturel. L'organisation s'efforce de tisser des réseaux qui nourrissent et soutiennent l'unité et la coopération internationale dans trois secteurs principaux : l'éducation, la science et la culture. Dans le secteur culturel, la Convention du patrimoine mondial est peut-être l'un des programmes les plus largement reconnus parmi ceux que l'UNESCO administre.

Cliquez ici pour en apprendre davantage sur l'UNESCO, notamment sur son histoire, sa mission et ses programmes.

Haut de la page


La Convention du patrimoine mondial

La Convention concernant la protection du patrimoine mondial, culturel et naturel (appelée la Convention du patrimoine mondial) est un traité international entre les États membres de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO). Elle a été adoptée le 16 novembre 1972. Actuellement, 192 pays (les « États parties ») ont ratifié la Convention du patrimoine mondial, dont le Canada en 1976. L'Agence Parcs Canada est le représentant du Canada en tant qu'État partie à la Convention du patrimoine mondial.

La Convention du patrimoine mondial a établi la Liste du patrimoine mondial en vue de reconnaître que certains lieux, naturels ou culturels, sont d'une importance suffisante pour que la communauté internationale dans son ensemble en assume la responsabilité. La Convention a donc pour but d'identifier, de protéger, de conserver, de mettre en valeur et de transmettre aux générations futures le patrimoine culturel et naturel qui est considéré comme ayant une valeur universelle exceptionnelle.

Des critères et des conditions précis à remplir pour identifier les biens à inscrire sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial sont énoncés au chapitre II des Orientations devant guider la mise en œuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial. En date du 1er août 2016, la Liste du patrimoine mondial comptait 1052 sites du patrimoine mondial, dont 814 biens culturels, 203 biens naturels et 35 biens mixtes répartis dans 165 États parties. En ratifiant la Convention, le Canada s'est engagé à protéger les sites du patrimoine mondial qui se trouvent sur son territoire et à éviter de prendre des mesures délibérées qui pourraient porter atteinte aux sites du patrimoine mondial se trouvant dans d'autres pays.

Aux termes de la Convention, les États parties ont l'obligation de rendre compte régulièrement au Comité du patrimoine mondial de l'état de conservation de leurs sites du patrimoine mondial. La Convention encourage également les États parties à renforcer l'appréciation du public à l'égard des biens du patrimoine mondial et à rehausser leur protection par des programmes d'éducation et d'information. En outre, la Convention explique comment le Fonds du patrimoine mondial est utilisé et géré, et à quelles conditions une aide financière internationale peut être fournie.

Haut de la page


Parcs Canada, représentant du Canada au Comité en tant qu'État partie

Parcs Canada dirige le volet canadien de la mise en œuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial, et coordonne la participation et les activités des partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux, municipaux et autochtones. Parcs Canada a également la responsabilité entière ou partagée de la gestion de 12 des 18 sites du patrimoine mondial du Canada. Six autres sont administrés par d'autres autorités, notamment municipales ou provinciales.

Haut de la page


La liste du patrimoine mondial – Liste mondiale

Les sites du patrimoine mondial sont classés comme étant des biens naturels ou culturels, ou une combinaison des deux. En date d'août 2016, 1054 sites ayant une valeur universelle exceptionnelle étaient inscrits sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. À l'échelle planétaire, les sites du patrimoine mondial sont situés dans 165 pays et comprennent notamment les biens suivants :

  • les parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes, au Canada
  • l'arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec, au Canada
  • les îles Galapagos, en Équateur
  • l'ancienne ville de Damas, en Syrie
  • le sanctuaire historique de Machu Picchu, au Pérou
  • Paris, rives de la Seine, en France
  • l'Acropole, en Grèce
  • la Grande Muraille, en Chine
  • Thèbes antique et sa nécropole, en Égypte
  • Stonehenge, Avebury et sites associés, au Royaume-Uni
  • le Taj Mahal, en Inde
  • le jardin persan, en Iran
  • la Grande Barrière, en Australie

Le site Web du Centre du patrimoine mondial fournit de l'information sur tous les sites inscrits sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial. Il est accessible en huit langues et, outre l'information sur chacun des sites du patrimoine mondial, il présente des cartes, des images, des documents liés aux biens, etc.

Haut de la page


La liste du patrimoine mondial – Liste canadienne

Depuis 1976, lorsque le Canada s'est joint à la Convention du patrimoine mondial, 18 des lieux patrimoniaux les plus précieux de notre pays ont satisfait aux critères d'inscription à la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO. Ces sites représentent certaines des réalisations les plus exceptionnelles de l'humanité, et quelques-unes des créations naturelles les plus inspirantes. Certains de nos sites soulignent l'histoire des migrations humaines planétaires tandis que d'autres témoignent des forces naturelles qui ont façonné la planète. Certains sites ont été témoins de l'histoire de l'évolution de la vie sur Terre, et d'autres encore rendent hommage à des réalisations humaines extraordinaires. Tous ces endroits transcendent les limites de l'espace, du temps et de la langue et présentent au monde entier des récits d'importance internationale sur le Canada.

Voir : Sites canadiens sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial.

Haut de la page


Le Comité du patrimoine mondial

La Convention du patrimoine mondial établit le Comité du patrimoine mondial, qui est un comité intergouvernemental. Il est constitué de représentants de 21 États parties à la Convention qui sont élus pour un mandat de quatre à six ans.

Une fois qu'un bien a été mis en candidature et évalué, il revient au Comité de prendre la décision définitive sur son inscription. Une fois par année, le Comité se réunit pour décider quels biens seront inscrits sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial. En plus de prendre des décisions relatives à l'inscription de biens, le Comité peut également différer des propositions d'inscription de biens ou les renvoyer aux États parties concernés afin d'obtenir davantage de renseignements.

Bien que le Comité puisse inscrire des sites dans le cadre de ses activités de gestion de la Liste du patrimoine mondial, il peut également en supprimer, si nécessaire. Il gère également la Liste du patrimoine mondial en péril. Il surveille l'état de conservation des sites de la Liste du patrimoine mondial et peut demander aux États parties de prendre des mesures pour s'assurer que les sites du patrimoine mondial sont protégés et gérés de façon appropriée. Le Comité définit l'utilisation du Fonds du patrimoine mondial et offre de l'aide financière aux États parties qui en font la demande.

Haut de la page


Le Centre du patrimoine mondial

Le travail du Comité du patrimoine mondial est appuyé par le Centre du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO à Paris, qui gère la Convention au quotidien. Le rôle principal du Centre est d'assurer le secrétariat du Comité, mais il a également pour mandat de conseiller les États parties sur des questions techniques, d'organiser l'aide financière sur demande et de coordonner la production des rapports sur l'état des biens. Il s'occupe également de coordonner les mesures d'urgence pour les sites menacés et administre le Fonds du patrimoine mondial.

Haut de la page


Devenir un site du patrimoine mondial

Il y a quatre étapes à suivre pour qu'un bien patrimonial devienne un site du patrimoine mondial. Un site peut être proposé pour inscription seulement par le pays dans lequel il est situé. C'est à Parcs Canada que revient la responsabilité de gérer ce processus pour le Canada puisqu'il est l'organisme principal responsable de la mise en œuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial au Canada.

Étape 1 – La liste indicative nationale

Pour qu'un pays soit en mesure de proposer l'inscription d'un site au Comité du patrimoine mondial, le bien doit être déjà inscrit sur la liste indicative. Cette liste est un inventaire des sites candidats que le pays estime susceptibles de satisfaire à un ou plusieurs des critères régissant l'inscription sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial. Le Comité du patrimoine mondial examine au plus deux propositions d'inscription par année de la liste indicative de chaque pays.

Étape 2 – Le dossier de proposition d'inscription

Le dossier de proposition d'inscription d'un site est préparé conformément aux exigences décrites dans les Orientations devant guider la mise en oeuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial. Il s'agit d'un document détaillé et exhaustif. Le dossier doit clairement démontrer que le site possède une valeur universelle exceptionnelle comparativement à d'autres sites similaires ailleurs dans le monde et qu'il répond à au moins un des dix critères de sélection. (Cliquer ici pour consulter les dix critères en détail.) Ces critères sont toujours examinés dans le contexte des définitions de monuments, de groupes de bâtiments, de sites culturels et naturels, de caractéristiques naturelles et de formations géologiques et physiographiques énoncées dans la Convention. La proposition d'inscription doit également montrer que le bien satisfait aux conditions prévues d'authenticité ou d'intégrité. En outre, elle doit démontrer que le site est protégé et géré en vertu des lois et politiques canadiennes (fédérales, provinciales, territoriales ou municipales), et qu'un plan directeur adéquat est en place pour assurer la protection continue des valeurs qui ont mené à son inscription.

Étape 3 – L'évaluation

Une fois le dossier de proposition vérifié par le Centre du patrimoine mondial, il est évalué indépendamment par l'organisation consultative mandatée par la Convention. Respectivement, le Conseil international des monuments et des sites (ICOMOS) et l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature fournissent au Comité du patrimoine mondial des évaluations de sites culturels et naturels proposés. Une troisième organisation consultative, le Centre international d'études pour la conservation et la restauration des biens culturels (appelé ICCROM) peut examiner la proposition, en particulier si un musée est associé au bien. Dans le cadre de l'examen réalisé par ces organisations non gouvernementales internationales, des spécialistes visitent le site proposé afin d'évaluer ses valeurs patrimoniales, son régime de gestion et de protection, et de confirmer l'ampleur du soutien offert par les divers intervenants. L'organisation consultative présente ensuite des recommandations au Comité du patrimoine mondial.

Étape 4 – Le Comité du patrimoine mondial

Le Comité du patrimoine mondial prend une décision sur le dossier de proposition. Il peut inscrire le site sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial, décider de ne pas l'inscrire ou renvoyer la proposition à l'État partie pour obtenir d'autres renseignements. Les décisions du Comité concernant les dossiers de proposition sont prises à l'occasion de sa réunion annuelle, qui a habituellement lieu en juin ou en juillet et est organisée par l'État partie d'où vient le président du Comité de l'année en cours. Le Canada a accueilli deux réunions du Comité du patrimoine mondial : la première a eu lieu à Banff en 1990, et la deuxième à Québec en 2008.

Après qu'un site a été placé sur la liste indicative, le processus de préparation d'une proposition peut prendre au moins deux ans, et parfois bien davantage. Après avoir soumis le dossier de proposition complet, le processus d'évaluation et d'examen prend environ 18 mois.

Haut de la page


Liste indicative du Canada

En 2004, le gouvernement du Canada a adopté sa liste indicative actuelle. La liste indicative est un inventaire des sites candidats pour une désignation au titre de site du patrimoine mondial élaboré dans le cadre d'un processus national d'étude, d'analyse et de consultation. Les sites figurant sur cette liste sont considérés comme étant fortement susceptibles de satisfaire aux exigences de désignation établies dans les Orientations.

En date d'août 2016, cinq des onze sites figurant sur la liste indicative du Canada de 2004 avaient été inscrits comme sites du patrimoine mondial. Les dossiers de propositions d'inscriptions pour les six autres sites en sont à diverses étapes de préparation (voir la liste indicative du Canada).

Le gouvernement du Canada cherche à actualiser sa liste indicative pour le patrimoine mondial, un répertoire des lieux patrimoniaux naturels et culturels les plus susceptibles d’être inscrits à la Liste du patrimoine mondial.

Haut de la page


Gérer les sites du patrimoine mondial et rendre compte de leur état

Le fait de réussir à faire inscrire un bien sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial n'est pas la fin du processus pour le Canada ou les gestionnaires de sites. C'est plutôt le début d'une nouvelle page d'histoire pour le site, page qui devrait s'écrire à perpétuité.

Dans le cadre d'un processus appelé Rapport périodique (voir les paragraphes 199 à 210 et l'annexe 7 des Orientations), les États parties sont tenus de rédiger régulièrement des rapports suivant un cycle de six ans sur l'état de conservation de leurs biens et les diverses mesures de protection qu'ils ont mises en place. Ces rapports permettent au Comité d'évaluer l'état des biens et de juger de la nécessité de prendre des mesures spécifiques pour régler les problèmes récurrents. En collaboration avec les gestionnaires de sites, Parcs Canada coordonne la préparation des rapports périodiques pour les sites du patrimoine mondial du Canada.

Dans le cadre de ces procédures de rédaction de rapports, s'il est établi qu'un bien du patrimoine mondial est menacé, le Comité du patrimoine mondial peut demander un « suivi réactif ». À cette fin, les États parties peuvent devoir soumettre des rapports précis chaque fois qu'une menace potentielle ou perçue risque d'avoir un effet sur l'état de conservation du bien.

Dans des cas exceptionnels, le Comité peut envisager d'ajouter un bien à la Liste du patrimoine mondial en péril, voire le supprimer complètement de la Liste du patrimoine mondial.

Haut de la page


L'emblème du patrimoine mondial

Dessiné par l'artiste belge Michel Olyff, l'emblème du patrimoine mondial a été adopté comme emblème officiel de la Convention du patrimoine mondial en 1978. L'emblème représente l'interdépendance de la diversité du monde naturel et du monde culturel. Il est utilisé pour identifier les biens protégés par la Convention du patrimoine mondial et inscrits sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial officielle, et représente les valeurs universelles exceptionnelles sur lesquelles repose la Convention. Alors que le carré symbolise le fruit du savoir-faire humain et de l'inspiration, le cercle célèbre les cadeaux de la nature. L'emblème est rond, comme la planète, un symbole de protection mondiale pour le patrimoine de toute l'humanité.

L'utilisation de l'emblème du patrimoine mondial est strictement réglementée et déterminée par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, avec les lignes directrices de son utilisation définies dans le chapitre VIII des Orientations. Il convient de souligner qu'avant d'utiliser l'emblème du patrimoine mondial, sous quelque forme que ce soit, une autorisation appropriée est requise. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur son utilisation, veuillez écrire à wh.pm@pc.gc.ca.

Haut de la page


Liens connexes

Site Web du centre du patrimoine mondial

Partenaires du patrimoine mondial

Pour les étudiants et les enseignants

Haut de la page