Large waterfall between tree-lined cliffs with two canoes and four canoeists in foreground. Virginia Falls, Nahanni National Park World Heritage Site

Nahanni National Park Reserve, Northwest Territories

Three rafts on rocky beach in forground with river and tall clifs in background. Rafting the Gate on the South Nahanni River
Mineral-encrusted rock with small stream. Tufa Mounds, Nahanni National Park World Heritage site

Date of Inscription: 1978

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

Nahanni National Park was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criteria:

Criterion (vii): The Nahanni River is one of the most spectacular wild rivers in North America, with deep canyons, huge waterfalls, and spectacular karst terrain, cave systems and hot springs. Exposure of geologic and geomorphologic features includes the meanders of ancient rivers, now raised high above present river levels.

Criterion (viii): In Nahanni National Park, there is exceptional representation of on-going geological processes, notably fluvial erosion, tectonic uplift, folding and canyon development, wind erosion, karst and pseudo-karst landforms, and a variety of hot springs. The major geologic and geomorphologic features provide a combination of geological processes that are globally unique.

Description

Prospectors started searching the South Nahanni River in the Northwest Territories for gold a century ago. They found little. But they did encounter vast reaches of the most varied and spectacular environment imaginable - towering mountains and tundra plains, wetlands and sand dunes, badlands and luxuriant forests, grizzly bears and trumpeter swans. There are steaming hot springs and complexes of caves, some lined with ice crystals, others with colourful stalagmites and stalactites.

And everywhere rivulets and streams and rushing rivers, all feeding the restless, prodigious South Nahanni, alive with frenzied rapids and whirlpools, with meanders and braids, crashing over the cataract of Virginia Falls, twice the height of Niagara Falls, cutting for kilometres through canyons 1,000 metres deep, then bending through a tortuous constriction called Hell’s Gate.

Today, remarkably, nothing has changed. The South Nahanni still swirls and crashes, the hot springs steam, the grizzlies prowl. This is a wilderness largely unmodified by humans. Indeed, running water remains the major agent of change. Rivers cut canyons through the Mackenzie Mountains and spread alluvial fans. And since the region escaped glaciation during the last Ice Age, canyon walls remain sharp and deep, neither widened nor smoothed by grinding ice.

More Information

Parks Canada:

Nahanni National Park Reserve of Canada

World Heritage Centre:

World Heritage - Nahanni National Park

Large chute entre des falaises bordées d’arbres; deux canots et quatre canoéistes en avant plan. Chutes Virginia, parc national Nahanni, site du patrimoine mondial

Le Parc national Nahanni, Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Trois radeaux pneumatiques sur la plage rocheuse en avant plan et rivière et hautes falaises en arrière plan. « The Gate » en radeau pneumatique, sur la rivière Nahanni Sud
Roche incrustée de minéraux et petit ruisseau. Amoncellements de tuf, parc national Nahanni, site du patrimoine mondial

Date d’inscription : 1978

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Le Parc national Nahanni des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (vii) : La Nahanni est l’une des rivières sauvages les plus spectaculaires d’Amérique du Nord, avec de profonds canyons, des chutes imposantes, un relief karstique, des systèmes de grottes et des sources chaudes spectaculaires. L’exposition des caractéristiques géologiques et géomorphologiques comprend les méandres d’anciens cours d’eau qui s’élèvent maintenant bien au-dessus des niveaux des cours d’eau actuels.

Critère (viii) : Dans le Parc national Nahanni, il existe une représentation exceptionnelle des phénomènes géologiques en cours, notamment l’érosion fluviale, le soulèvement tectonique, le plissement et la formation de canyons, l’érosion éolienne, la formation de reliefs karstiques et pseudokarstiques, et diverses sources thermales. Les principales structures géologiques et géomorphologiques présentent un ensemble de processus géologiques qui sont uniques au monde.

Description

Les chercheurs d'or ont commencé à passer au crible la rivière Nahanni-Sud il y a cent ans, sans grand succès. Devant eux, par contre, se dressait un des environnements les plus variés et les plus spectaculaires imaginables — des montagnes escarpées et des plaines de toundra, des marécages et des dunes, des bad lands et des forêts luxuriantes, des cygnes trompettes et des grizzlis. Il y a aussi des sources thermales et des cavernes tapissées de stalagmites et de stalactites colorées ou de cristaux de glace.

Partout, des filets d’eau, des ruisseaux et des rivières agitées se déversent dans la grande et turbulente Nahanni-Sud. Cette rivière de rapides fous et de tourbillons, de méandres et d’anastomoses fluviales s’écrase au fond des chutes Virginia, deux fois la hauteur des chutes Niagara, et coule au centre de canyons de 1 000 mètres de haut avant de se cogner à une étroite gorge surnommée la Porte de l’enfer.

Heureusement, rien n’a changé depuis l’arrivée des chercheurs d’or. La rivière Nahanni gronde et tourbillonne, les sources thermales bouillonnent et les grizzlis rôdent. Il n’y a ni route ni agglomération — la nature est presque vierge. En fait, c’est l’eau qui crée le plus de changements, par le biais de rivières qui creusent des canyons dans les montagnes Mackenzie et répandent leurs cônes alluviaux. Et comme la région n’a pas goûté à la dernière période glaciaire, les falaises des canyons ne sont pas élargies et arrondies, mais aiguisées et profondes.

Plus d'information

Parcs Canada :

Réserve de parc national du Canada Nahanni

Centre du patrimoine mondial :

Patrimoine mondial - Parc national Nahanni