Drilled in 1902, Western Canada’s first oil well was short-lived but ignited Alberta’s passion for petroleum exploration. Investigate the site and explore for nearby traces of the town in the forests of Waterton Lakes National Park. Learn how the entrepreneurs discovered and drilled for the oil and why they ultimately abandon their dreams.

At this time, First Oil Well in Western Canada National Historic Site is not accessible due to its location on the Akamina Parkway in Waterton Lakes National Park. This road is closed because of the Kenow Fire.

Featured things to do

Enjoy a drive on the scenic Akamina Parkway

The Akamina Parkway is a winding mountain road which runs 16 km along the Cameron Valley and ends at Cameron Lake. Along the way, stop at the national historic site commemorating Western Canada's first oil well.

Getting here

PO Box 200
Waterton Park AB T0K 2M0

Hours of operation

Open year round (subject to weather)
Complete schedule

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees may apply.
Detailed fees list

Contact us

Telephone: 403-859-5133
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888
Email: waterton.info@pc.gc.ca

Le premier puits de pétrole de l’Ouest canadien a été foré en 1902. Il n’a été en activité que durant une courte période, mais il a déclenché une frénésie pour l’exploration pétrolière en Alberta. Transformez-vous en prospecteur et explorez les environs, à l’affût de traces qui témoignent de la présence de la ville dans les forêts du parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Voyez comment les entrepreneurs découvraient du pétrole et en effectuaient le forage, et comprenez la raison qui les poussait à ultimement abandonner leurs rêves.

Pour l’instant, le lieu historique national du Canada du Premier-Puits-de-Pétrole-de-l'Ouest-Canadien n’est pas accessible en raison de son emplacement sur la promenade Akamina, dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Cette route est fermée en raison du feu de Kenow.

En vedette

Faites une promenade en voiture sur la route de la promenade Akamina

La promenade Akamina est une route de montagne sinueuse qui longe la vallée du Cameron sur une distance de 16 km pour déboucher sur le lac Cameron. Le long de la route, faites une halte au lieu historique national qui commémore le premier puits de pétrole de l'Ouest canadien.

Comment s’y rendre

CP 200
Waterton Park AB T0K 2M0

Heures d’ouverture

Ouvert toute l'année (si le temps le permet)
Horaire complet

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. D’autres frais peuvent s’appliquer.
Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 403-859-5133
Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Courriel : waterton.info@pc.gc.ca