Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site is one of Canada’s fine examples of how the fur trade helped shape the nation. Enjoy exhibits, walk through archaeological remains of the four forts, get hands on experience with Métis skills of the fur trade. Stay awhile and camp in Indigenous trapper’s tents and tipis. 

Getting here

The National Historic Site is located 6 km west of Rocky Mountain House on Highway 11A.

How to Get Here

Hours of operation

October 1 to December 31: Closed for the season

Complete Schedule

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply.

Detailed fees list

Contact us

Telephone: 1-403-845-2412
Email: rocky.info@pc.gc.ca

Interpretive Programs 

Dive deeper into the past and the stories of this place. Book a hands-on experience for yourself, your family or group. All supplies are included in the program fee. Programs or workshops are of varying length and can be customized or bundled to suit your needs. 

Sites nearby

  • Two people sight seeing in Banff
    Banff National Park

    Founded in 1885, Banff is Canada’s first national park and part of the first national park system in the world. With its soaring peaks, azure lakes and abundant wildlife, this Rocky Mountain park attracts millions of visitors every year.

  • Bar U Ranch National Historic Site
    Bar U Ranch National Historic Site

    Ride into history on a wagon pulled by Percheron horses to discover the life of a ranching cowboy from the late 1800s. Back-dropped by the Rocky Mountains - it’s a true Alberta experience!

Le lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House est un bel exemple du rôle de la traite des fourrures dans le développement du Canada. Faites la tournée des expositions, promenez-vous entre les vestiges archéologiques des quatre forts, et apprenez les techniques métisses de la traite des fourrures. Prolongez votre séjour, et passez la nuit dans une tente de trappeur ou un tipi.

Comment s’y rendre

Le lieu historique national se trouve à 6 km à l'ouest de la ville de Rocky Mountain House, par la route 11A.

Comment s'y rendre

Heures d’ouverture

1er janvier au 9 mai
Fermé pour la saison

10 mai au 3 septembre
Tous les jours, de 10 h à 17 h

Horaire complet

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les autres droits sont exigibles.

Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 1-403-845-2412
Courriel : rocky.info@pc.gc.ca

Activités spéciales du 150e anniversaire du Canada

Célébrez le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne en participant à des activités spéciales, comme la course de canots Canada 150 Voyageurs Rendezvous – un périple d’un mois sur la rivière Saskatchewan Nord.

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Parc national Banff

    Créé en 1885, Banff est le premier parc national du Canada et fait partie du premier réseau officiel de parcs nationaux au monde. Avec ses pics imposants, ses lacs bleu-azur et sa faune abondante, ce parc des Rocheuses attire des millions de visiteurs chaque année.

  • Bar U Ranch National Historic Site
    Lieu historique national du Ranch Bar U

    À bord d’une charrette tirée par de grands percherons noirs, découvrez la vie de cow-boy de ranch à la fin des années 1800. Entouré des montagnes Rocheuses, vivez une véritable expérience albertaine !