Tensions were mounting in British North America when war was declared between the US and Great Britain in June of 1812. Conflicts raged at sea and along frontier borders. As a colony of Great Britain, Canada was swept up in war and often invaded by Americans.

On the shores of St. Andrews, the townspeople grew fearful of attack by American privateers and military. Residents banded together to raise funds and built two batteries, each with its own wooden blockhouse.

St. Andrews Blockhouse and battery was built by locals with militia support to stand guard over the harbour. On the upper floor, a 4-pounder carronade was mounted. Below, Royal Artillery soldiers occupied barracks for the war’s duration. The western battery was originally equipped with three 18-pounder guns, all pointing seaward.

Today you can tour the only remaining blockhouse in Canada built for the War of 1812!

En juin 1812, l’Amérique du Nord britannique était en proie à de vives tensions lorsque la guerre a éclaté entre les États-Unis et la Grande-Bretagne. Les conflits faisaient rage tant en mer que le long des frontières. En tant que colonie britannique, le Canada a subi les assauts de la guerre et s’est retrouvé à maintes reprises envahi par les Américains.

Venez en ces lieux où les habitants des rives de Saint Andrews craignaient d’être attaqués par les corsaires et des soldats américains. Apprenez comment ils ont amassé des fonds pour financer la construction de deux batteries, chacune dotée de son propre blockhaus en bois.

Le blockhaus de St. Andrews et sa batterie ont été construits par les habitants pendant que la milice surveillait le port. Une caronade de 4 livres a été installée au deuxième étage. Le rez-de-chaussée a servi de caserne aux soldats de la Royal Artillery pendant toute la durée de la guerre. La batterie ouest était à l’origine équipée de trois canons de 18 livres, tous orientés vers la mer.

Venez visiter le seul blockhaus construit pour la guerre de 1812 encore debout au Canada!