What happens when a Norse saga comes to life?

According to ancient Norse stories known as the Vinland Sagas, long before Europeans discovered the New World, a high-prowed vessel from Greenland cast anchor in an inviting bay somewhere along the coast of North America.

It wasn’t until the 1960s that proof of the Viking presence came, on the tip of Newfoundland's Great Northern Peninsula, with the discovery of a small bronze cloak pin.

Norwegian explorer Helge Ingstad and his wife, archaeologist Anne Stine, were searching for Norse landing places along the coast. With the help of local resident George Decker, they would uncover the only Norse encampment ever to have been discovered in North America.

Following excavations, they determined Leif Erickson and crews of Norse explorers arrived here over a thousand years ago. The archaeological remains of the Norse encampment were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1978.

Now you can let your inner Viking shine at the oldest known European encampment in North America. See original artifacts, meet costumed Viking interpreters, tour full-scale replicas of the Norse sod buildings and pick up Viking skills from blacksmithing to weaving.

Selon d’anciens récits scandinaves appelés « sagas de Vinland », un gros navire à proue fière en provenance du Groenland a jeté l’ancre dans une baie accueillante, le long de la côte de l’Amérique du Nord, bien avant que les Européens découvrent le Nouveau Monde.

Il a fallu attendre les années 1960 pour établir la preuve d’une présence viking : une petite épingle à cape en bronze découverte à l’extrémité de la péninsule Great Northern de Terre-Neuve.

L’explorateur norvégien Helge Ingstad et son épouse, l’archéologue Anne Stine, tentaient de trouver les lieux de débarquement scandinaves le long de la côte. Avec l’aide de Goerges Decker, un résident local, ils ont mis au jour le seul campement scandinave à avoir été découvert en Amérique du Nord.

Suivant des fouilles, ils ont pu déterminer que Leif Erickson et des équipages d’explorateurs scandinaves étaient demeurés à cet endroit plus de 1000 ans auparavant. Les vestiges archéologiques de ce campement scandinave figurent au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 1978.

Vous pouvez désormais laisser libre cours au Viking qui sommeille en vous dans le campement européen le plus ancien en Amérique du Nord. Examinez des artéfacts originaux, rencontrez des animateurs-guides costumés en vikings, explorez des répliques grandeur nature des bâtiments scandinaves recouverts de gazon et développez des compétences vikings, comme l’ouvrage de forge et le tissage.