Bloody Creek National Historic Site is located on sloping farmland in Bridgetown, Nova Scotia. Two circles of land mark the sites of two battles, which took place in 1711 and 1757, between British forces and allied French and Aboriginal forces over the possession of Acadia. The first battle site is centred on the northwest shore of the Annapolis River, and the second site is centred on the east shore of Bloody Creek. Both are comprised of land and water. A Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada stone cairn, near the site of the 1757 battle, marks the location. Official recognition refers to the two circles as they were at the time of designation in 1930. Learn more

Sites nearby

  • Fort Anne National Historic Site

    Dating to the early 1600s, Fort Anne on Nova Scotia’s Annapolis River is Canada’s first administered National Historic Site. A new innovative interpretive exhibit complements the historic grounds, whose earthen walls and restored buildings speak to centuries of struggle.

  • Port-Royal National Historic Site

    Converse with costumed interpreters as they share their knowledge and tell the story of a colony of intrepid French inhabitants. Experience the early 17th century lifestyle in the reconstructed Habitation at Port-Royal. You will also learn about the way of life of the first people on this land – the Mi’kmaq.

  • Kejimkujik National Park and Historic Site

    Explore 4,000 years of Mi’kmaw heritage. Camp lakeside amidst Acadian forest. Spot harbour seals from a singing beach. Be enthralled by a Dark Sky Preserve. There are many sides to Kejimkujik and you can discover them all.

  • Grand-Pré National Historic Site

    Discover powerful Acadian stories within a picturesque landscape. Successes and struggles are illuminated through multimedia presentation and engaging displays, a splendid Victorian garden and a Memorial Church. This is Grand-Pré National Historic Site, monument to Acadian culture and deportation.

Hours of operation

Open year-round

Fees

Free admission.

Contact us

Telephone : 902-532-2321
Email : southwestnova.nhs@pc.gc.ca

Le lieu historique national Bloody Creek est situé sur des terres agricoles en pente à Bridgetown, en Nouvelle Écosse. Deux zones circulaires marquent l’emplacement de deux batailles pour la possession de l’Acadie qui ont eu lieu en 1711 et en 1757 et opposant les forces britanniques aux forces françaises et à leurs alliés autochtones. L’emplacement de première bataille a pour point central la rive nord ouest de la rivière Annapolis, et celui de la deuxième bataille, la rive est du ruisseau Bloody. Ils se composent de terres et d’étendues d’eau. Un cairn de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, installé près du champ de bataille de 1757, marque l’emplacement. La reconnaissance officielle vise les deux zones circulaires, telles qu’elles étaient au moment de la désignation en 1930. En savoir plus

Comment s’y rendre

P.O. Box 9
Annapolis Royal NE B0S 1A0

Heures d’ouverture

Ouvert toute l'année

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite.

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 902-532-2321
Courriel : southwestnova.nhs@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne

    Construit au début des années 1600 au bord de la rivière Annapolis en Nouvelle-Écosse, le fort Anne est le premier lieu historique national administré du Canada. Une toute nouvelle exposition intéractive vient s'ajouter au musée du quartier des officiers du domaine historique dont les murs en terre et les bâtiments restaurés témoignent de plusieurs siècles de lutte. Entrez!

  • Lieu historique national de Port-Royal

    Discutez avec des artisans en habits du XVIIe siècle et découvrez leur mode de vie dans les bâtiments reconstruits de l’Habitation. Vous découvrirez également le mode de vie des premiers habitants de cette terre; les Mi’kmaq.

  • Parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik

    Explorez 4000 ans d’héritage mi’kmaq. Campez au bord du lac, en plein cœur de la forêt acadienne. À Kejimkujik Bord de mer, tentez d’apercevoir des phoques communs depuis une plage tranquille. Émerveillez-vous devant la réserve de ciel étoilé. Kejimkujik possède plusieurs atouts. À vous de les découvrir!

  • Lieu historique national de Grand-Pré

    Découvrez les récits acadiens marquants dans un paysage pittoresque. Partagez les triomphes et les luttes de ce peuple en assistant à une présentation multimédia et en contemplant des objets témoins de ce pan troublant de l’histoire. Visitez le lieu historique national de Grand-Pré, un monument dédié à la culture acadienne et à la déportation.