Canso Islands National Historic Site is located the waterfront of Canso—a 3.5-hour drive from Sydney or a 4-hour drive from Halifax, Nova Scotia. A free, 15-minute ride on a fishing boat shuttles guests from the mainland to Grassy Island.

Plan to spend two hours exploring both the visitor centre and Grassy Island.

Getting here

Location

1465 Union Street
Canso, Nova Scotia
B0H 1H0

Canso Islands National Historic Site lies in the Atlantic Ocean 0.5 km (0.3 mi) off the Canso waterfront. The visitor reception centre is located in the town of Canso, Nova Scotia, on the waterfront off Union Street.

If you're driving from Antigonish, take TransCanada Highway 104 to exit 37 (Monastery). Follow Route 16 along Chedabucto Bay to Canso. Driving time is 90 minutes. Or take TransCanada Highway 104 to exit 40 (Aulds Cove) and follow scenic Route 344 past the Strait of Canso to Route 16. Driving time is two hours.

From Sherbrooke, take Route 211 to coastal Route 316, then follow Route 16 to Canso. Driving time is two hours.

Hours of operation

July 1 to September 3, 2018

The visitor centre is open daily from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Recommended visiting time:
Allow 30 minutes to explore the visitor centre. Plan slightly more than one hour to visit Grassy Island. It takes about 15 minutes each way by boat and about half an hour to walk the self-guiding trail.
The boat is available on demand, but the last departure time from the visitor centre is 3 p.m.

Free admission

Facilities and services

Ample free parking is available in front of the visitor centre. Public washrooms and a public telephone are available in the visitor centre. Washrooms are wheelchair accessible. Two pit privies are available on Grassy Island.

Services for visitors with disabilities

The visitor centre is wheelchair accessible. The video presentation is captioned. The interpretive trail on Grassy Island is wheelchair accessible under most conditions, but assistance is necessary.

Local services

Canso is a traditional Nova Scotia fishing community. As you enter the community, stop by the Seamen's Memorial. Framed by the ribs of a boat, it is dedicated to all local residents lost at sea. A memorial service is held each year in August.

Visit the Canso Museum: Whitman House, which also contains a seasonal tourist information centre. Ask for information about the town's services and visitor resources. Then get a bird's-eye view from the widow's walk, see period furniture and photographs, and enjoy panoramas by Canso folk artist Mel Schrader.

Visit the commemorative cairn and tablet on School Street.

Quick facts

  • On the mainland, a Visitor Centre illuminates daily life in the 18th century with full-size dioramas of the Officer’s Study, Tavern and Merchant’s Parlour.
  • The turbulent history of the region is illustrated via a nine-minute video—“Grassy Island: The Forgotten Settlement.”
  • A scenic hiking trail guides guests around Grassy Island, connecting the intriguing remnants of 1700s-era homes, churches, merchant shops and Fort William Augustus.

Le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso est situé sur les rives de Canso, soit à trois heures et demie de route de Sydney ou à quatre heures de route d’Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Montez à bord du bateau de pêche qui vous emmènera en quinze minutes à l’île Grassy. Le bateau est disponible sur demande mais le dernier départ du centre d'accueil est à 15 h.

Prévoyez deux heures pour explorer le centre d’information et l’île Grassy.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

1465, rue Union
Canso (Nouvelle-Écosse)
B0H 1H0

Lieu historique national des Îles-Canso est située dans l'océan Atlantique, à 0,5 km (0,3 mi) au large du quai de Canso. Le centre d'accueil se trouve à Canso (Nouvelle-Écosse), sur le quai, près de la rue Union.

À partir d'Antigonish, prenez la route 104 (transcanadienne) jusqu'à la sortie 37 (Monastery). Suivez la route 16, qui longe la baie de Chedabucto, jusqu'à Canso. Le trajet dure 90 minutes. Vous pouvez aussi rester sur la route 104 jusqu`à la sortie 40 (Aulds Cove) et prendre la panoramique route 344, le long du détroit de Canso, jusqu'à la route 16. Le trajet dure deux heures.

De Sherbrooke, prenez la route 211 jusqu'à la route 316, puis suivez la route 16 jusqu`à Canso. Le trajet dure deux heures.

Heures d'ouverture

Du 1er juillet au 3 septembre 2018

Le centre d'accueil est ouvert tous les jours de 10 h à 18 h.

Temps à prévoir pour la visite :
Prévoyez consacrer une demi-heure à la visite du centre d'acceuil. Il faut compter au moins une heure pour visiter les Îles-Canso : deux trajets de 15 minutes en bateau, plus une demi-heure pour parcourir le sentier d'interprétation.

Entrée gratuite

Installations et services

Le stationnement est gratuit et abondant devant le centre d'accueil. Des toilettes publiques, accessibles aux fauteuils roulants et des téléphones publics se trouvent au centre d'accueil. Il y a deux latrines à l'île Grassy.

Accessibilité pour personnes handicapées

Le centre d'accueil est accessible en fauteuil roulant. La vidéo est sous-titrée. Le sentier d'interprétation sur l'île Grassy est accessible en fauteuil roulant la plus part du temps, moyennant de l'aide.

Canso

Canso est un village de pêche traditionnel de la Nouvelle-Écosse. En entrant dans le village, arrêtez-vous au Monument aux marins. Entouré des membrures d'un bateau, ce monument est dédié aux habitants de la région qui ont péri en mer. Une messe commémorative est dite chaque année au mois d'août.

Visitez le musée de Canso, dans la maison Whitman (lien en anglais seulement), où un centre d'accueil est ouvert pendant la saison touristique. Demandez de l'information sur les services et les ressources pour les touristes. Prenez le temps d'admirer la vue à partir du balcon de veuve. Regardez les photos et les meubles d'époque, et admirez les paysages de Canso peints par l'artiste naïf, Mel Schrader.

Visitez aussi le cairn et la plaque commémoratives sur la rue School.

Faits en bref

  • Au centre d’information situé sur la terre ferme, vous serez plongé dans la vie quotidienne au 18e siècle ! Des dioramas grandeur nature illustrent le bureau d’un officier, une taverne et le salon d’un marchand.
  • Visionnez la vidéo L’île Grassy : une colonie oubliée. En neuf minutes, découvrez l’histoire tumultueuse de la région.
  • Empruntez un sentier pédestre panoramique entourant l’île Grassy. Il relie les vestiges de maisons du 18e siècle, d’églises, d’échoppes de marchands et du fort William Augustus.