Charles Fort National Historic Site is situated in Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, 203 kilometres (or a roughly two-hour drive) from the provincial capital of Halifax.

The site is located on the grounds of Fort Anne National Historic Site. A commemorative plaque indicates where Fort Charles once stood, but there are no visible remains. Most visitors explore Charles Fort as part of a visit to the Officers’ Quarters Museum at Fort Anne.

The museum is open June-September, and the grounds are accessible year round, however there is no winter maintenance on the pathways.

Getting here

Location

P.O. Box 9
Annapolis Royal NS B0S 1A0

By car

The site is in the town of Annapolis Royal. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and continue north on Route 8. Proceed through the traffic lights on Saint George Street in Annapolis Royal, then take the second left into Fort Anne. Driving time from Halifax is approximately 2 hours; from Yarmouth, approximately 1.5 hours.

By train

Via Rail has regular train service to the nearest train station at Halifax. From Halifax, take Highway 102, to Exit 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) and on to Highway 101. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and follow the directions above.

By ferry

Bay Ferries offers ferry services to southwestern Nova Scotia. The Princess of Acadia sails between Saint John, New Brunswick and Digby, Nova Scotia. Driving time from Digby to Annapolis Royal is approximately 30 minutes. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and follow the directions above.

Airports

The closest major airport is Halifax International Airport. It has regular flights to and from North America and Europe. From the airport take Highway 102, to Exit 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) and on to Highway 101. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and follow the directions above.

Free admission in 2017. Other fees from Fort Anne National Historic Site apply. Detailed fees list.

Facilities and services

Accessible Facilities Accessible services
Information Information
Picnic Area Picnic area
Bus parking
Lookout Lookout
Restrooms Restrooms
Dogs on leash
Parking Parking

Le lieu historique national du Fort-Charles se trouve à Annapolis Royal, à 203 km (soit environ deux heures de route) d’Halifax, la capitale provinciale.

Il est situé sur le lieu historique national du Fort-Anne. Une plaque commémorative indique l’endroit où se trouvait autrefois le fort Charles, mais aucun vestige visible ne subsiste. La plupart des visiteurs explorent le fort Charles en même temps que le musée du quartier des officiers du fort Anne.

Le musée est ouvert de juin à septembre et le domaine est accessible à l’année. Le sentier n’est toutefois pas entretenu durant l’hiver.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

C.P. 9
Annapolis Royal (Nouvelle-Écosse) B0S 1A0

Le lieu historique national du Fort-Charles est situé dans les limites du lieu historique national du Fort-Anne et enterré sous les ouvrages de terre du fort Anne.

En voiture

Le lieu est situé dans la ville d'Annapolis Royal. Sur la route 101, prenez la sortie 22, et dirigez-vous vers le nord sur la route 8. À Annapolis Royal, aux feux de circulation, continuez sur la rue St George, puis prenez la deuxième rue à gauche, qui vous mènera au fort Anne. Annapolis Royal est situé à environ 2 heures de route de Halifax et à environ 1 heure et demie de route de Yarmouth.

En train

La compagnie ferroviaire Via Rail offre un service régulier jusqu'à la station la plus près, Halifax. De Halifax, prenez la route 102 jusqu’à la sortie 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) et ensuite la route 101 jusqu’à la sortie 22, puis suivez les directives présentées ci dessus.

En traversier

Les traversiers de l’entreprise Bay Ferries desservent le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Le bateau The Princess of Acadia assure quant à lui la liaison entre Digby, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Annapolis Royal est situé à environ 30 minutes de route de Digby. Prenez la route 101 jusqu’à la sortie 22, puis suivez les directives présentées ci-dessus.

En avion

L’aéroport international de Halifax dessert de façon continue plusieurs villes d’Amérique du Nord et d’Europe. De l’aéroport, prenez la route 102 jusqu’à la sortie 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) et ensuite la route 101 jusqu’à la sortie 22, puis suivez les directives présentées ci dessus.

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les frais du Lieu historique national du Fort-Anne s'appliquent.
Tarification complète.

Installations et services

Accessible Facilities Installations accessibles
Information Renseignements
Picnic Area Aire de pique-nique
Stationnement pour autocars
Lookout Belvédère
Restrooms Toilettes
Chiens en laisse
Parking Stationnement