Set on the banks of the Annapolis River, Fort Anne offers visitors a vivid reminder of an era when Europe’s powers battled for supremacy in North America. First fortified by the Scots as early as 1629, the site was later controlled by the French before falling for good to British troops in 1710. It would remain a regular scene of battles until the fall of Quebec in 1759.

Today, the fort – Canada’s first administered National Historic Site – consists of a renovated 1797 officers’ quarters (now a museum) and 1708 stone powder magazine, surrounded by a maze of defensive ditches, banks and bastions known as Vauban-style earthworks. Inside the museum, visitors can learn what this place means to the Mi’kmaq, see centuries-old artefacts, as well as the Heritage Tapestry, a hand-stitched work showing 400 years of history.

Outside, enjoy sweeping views of the Annapolis River on the Perimeter Trail or visit the 300-year-old Garrison Graveyard, where soldiers and civilians have been buried since the 1630s. Interpretive panels throughout the grounds bring the site’s rich history to life.

Situé au bord de la rivière Annapolis, le fort Anne vous entraîne à une époque où les puissances européennes s’affrontaient pour la suprématie en Amérique du Nord. D’abord fortifié par les Écossais dès 1629, le lieu a ensuite été contrôlé par les Français avant de tomber pour de bon entre les mains des troupes britanniques en 1710. Il a continué d’être le théâtre de nombreuses batailles jusqu’à la chute de Québec en 1759.

Aujourd’hui, le fort, premier lieu historique national à être administré au Canada, comporte un quartier des officiers datant de 1797, rénové pour servir désormais de musée. Il abrite aussi une poudrière en pierre datant de 1708, entourée d’un labyrinthe de fossés, de talus et de bastions de défense, connus sous le nom de « terrassements de style Vauban ». Dans le musée, les visiteurs peuvent apprendre la signification de ce lieu selon les Mi’kmaq, contempler des artéfacts datant de plusieurs siècles, ainsi que la Tapisserie du patrimoine, une œuvre brodée à la main qui retrace 400 ans d’histoire.

Dehors, admirez la vue époustouflante sur la rivière Annapolis depuis le sentier périphérique, ou visitez le cimetière de la garnison, où sont enterrés des soldats et des civils depuis les années 1630. Des panneaux d’interprétation disposés dans l’ensemble du domaine donnent vie à la riche histoire des lieux.