Fort Anne National Historic Site is situated on the Annapolis River in Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, 203 kilometres (or a roughly two-hour drive) from the provincial capital of Halifax.

Visitors should plan to spend at least two hours to tour the site, though it’s easy to pass more time exploring the museum, walking the fort’s earthen walls and picnicking along the Annapolis River.

The fort is open June-October and the grounds are accessible year-round, however there is no winter maintenance on the pathway.

Getting here

Location

P.O. Box 9
Annapolis Royal NS B0S 1A0

information@pc.gc.ca

By car
The site is in the town of Annapolis Royal. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and continue north on Route 8. Proceed through the traffic lights on Saint George Street in Annapolis Royal, then take the second left into Fort Anne. Driving time from Halifax is approximately 2 hours; from Yarmouth, approximately 1.5 hours.

By train
Via Rail has regular train service to the nearest train station at Halifax. From Halifax, take Highway 102, to Exit 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) and on to Highway 101. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and follow the directions above.

By ferry
Bay Ferries offers ferry services to southwestern Nova Scotia. The Princess of Acadia sails between Saint John, New Brunswick and Digby, Nova Scotia. Driving time from Digby to Annapolis Royal is approximately 30 minutes. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and follow the directions above.

Airports
The closest major airport is Halifax International Airport. It has regular flights to and from North America and Europe. From the airport take Highway 102, to Exit 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) and on to Highway 101. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and follow the directions above.

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list.

Facilities and services

Parking Parking
Dogs on leash
Picnic Area Picnic area
Accessible Facilities Accessible services
Information Information
Restrooms Restrooms
Bus parking
Lookout Lookout

Le lieu historique national du Fort-Anne se trouve au bord de la rivière Annapolis, à Annapolis Royal, à 203 km (soit environ 2 h de route) d’Halifax, la capitale provinciale.

Prévoyez au moins 2 h pour visiter le lieu, même s’il est facile d’y passer plus de temps en explorant le musée, en arpentant les murs en terre du fort et en pique-niquant au bord de la rivière Annapolis.

Le fort est ouvert de juin à octobre et le domaine est accessible à l’année, même si le sentier n’est pas entretenu en hiver.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

C.P. 9
Annapolis Royal (Nouvelle-Écosse)
B0S 1A0

information@pc.gc.ca

En voiture
Le lieu est situé dans la ville d'Annapolis Royal. Sur la route 101, prenez la sortie 22, et dirigez-vous vers le nord sur la route 8. À Annapolis Royal, aux feux de circulation, continuez sur la rue St George, puis prenez la deuxième rue à gauche, qui vous mènera au fort Anne. Annapolis Royal est situé à environ 2 heures de route de Halifax et à environ 1 heure et demie de route de Yarmouth.

En train
La compagnie ferroviaire Via Rail offre un service régulier jusqu'à la station la plus près, Halifax. De Halifax, prenez la route 102 jusqu’à la sortie 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) et ensuite la route 101 jusqu’à la sortie 22, puis suivez les directives présentées ci dessus.

En traversier
Les traversiers de l’entreprise Bay Ferries desservent le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Le bateau The Princess of Acadia assure quant à lui la liaison entre Digby, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et Saint John, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Annapolis Royal est situé à environ 30 minutes de route de Digby. Prenez la route 101 jusqu’à la sortie 22, puis suivez les directives présentées ci-dessus.

En avion
L’aéroport international de Halifax dessert de façon continue plusieurs villes d’Amérique du Nord et d’Europe. De l’aéroport, prenez la route 102 jusqu’à la sortie 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) et ensuite la route 101 jusqu’à la sortie 22, puis suivez les directives présentées ci dessus.

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les autres frais s'appliquent.
Tarification complète.

Installations et services

Parking Stationnement
Chiens en laisse
Picnic Area Aire de pique-nique
Accessible Facilities Installations accessibles
Information Renseignements
Restrooms Toilettes
Stationnement pour autocars
Lookout Belvédère