Thanks to its peerless position in Halifax Harbour, Georges Island was occupied by military forces for 200 years from 1750, acting as a key fortification protecting access to a key British station. Created by deposits left by glaciers thousands of years ago, the small island stood guard while battles raged for control of the East coast. Georges Island does not currently offer a visitor program, but special events are occasionally held, offering a rare opportunity to visit. Learn more about this site.

Getting here

PO Box 9080 Postal Station A
Halifax NS B3K 5M7

Hours of operation

Georges Island is not open for general visitation at this time; however, from time to time there may be opportunities to visit the island in conjunction with special events.

Fees

Georges Island is not open to general visitors at this time. However, occasionally is may be possible to visit in conjunction with special events.

Contact us

Telephone: 902-426-5080
Email: halifax.citadel@pc.gc.ca

Sites nearby

  • Halifax Citadel National Historic Site

    Where better to get your Halifax bearings than at the Halifax Citadel, which in its current form has been a core part of this culturally vibrant city since 1828. Halifax’s original guardian has many tales to tell, plus affords spectacular views and promises engaging activities.

  • Prince of Wales Tower National Historic Site

    Built in 1796-97 to protect against French attack, the Prince of Wales Tower was the first of its kind in North America. Visitors can explore its history, architectural features and significance as a defensive structure.

  • Fort McNab National Historic Site

    From the 1880s and for more than half a century, Fort McNab played a key role in the Halifax Defence System, guarding one of the British Empire’s (and then Canada’s) most significant naval stations.

  • York Redoubt National Historic Site

    An integral part of Halifax’s Defense Complex, York Redoubt helped protect this strategic port city from military attack for over 200 years. Walking paths and interpretive panels help tell its impressive story.

L’île Georges occupe une position stratégique dans le port d’Halifax. C’est pourquoi elle a été occupée par des forces militaires pendant 200 ans, à partir de 1750. Elle faisait partie du système de défense maritime de l’Empire britannique. D’ailleurs, elle a monté la garde lors de combats visant à contrôler la côte Est. Cette petite île est façonnée par des dépôts laissés par des glaciers il y a des milliers d’années. L’île Georges est actuellement fermée au public. Toutefois, il est possible de la visiter lors d’activités spéciales qui s’y déroulent à l’occasion. En savoir plus sur cette île.

 

Comment s’y rendre

C.P. 9080 succursale A
Halifax NS B3K 5M7

Heures d’ouverture

L’île Georges est fermée au public en ce moment. Toutefois, des occasions de visiter l’île sont offertes de temps à autre en conjonction avec la tenue d’activités spéciales.

Tarifs

L’île Georges est fermée au public en ce moment. Toutefois, des occasions de visiter l’île sont offertes de temps à autre en conjonction avec la tenue d’activités spéciales.

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 902-426-5080
Courriel : halifax.citadel@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d'Halifax

    Rendez-vous à la citadelle d’Halifax : aucun autre endroit ne vous servira de meilleur point de repère pour vous orienter à Halifax ! La citadelle actuelle est au cœur de la vie culturelle de la ville depuis 1828. Des vues spectaculaires vous y attendent ! Le tout premier gardien d’Halifax vous fera découvrir de nombreux récits.

  • Lieu historique national de la Tour-Prince-de-Galles

    Érigée en 1796-1797 pour protéger les batteries britanniques des Français, la tour Prince-de-Galles a été la première du genre à être construite en Amérique du Nord. Découvrez son histoire, ses caractéristiques architecturales et son importance à titre d’ouvrage défensif.

  • Lieu historique national du Fort-McNab

    À partir des années 1880 et durant plus de 50 ans, le fort McNab a joué un rôle majeur dans le Complexe de défense d’Halifax, qui assurait la protection de l’une des principales bases navales de l’Empire britannique, puis du Canada.litaires pendant des siècles.

  • Lieu historique national de la Redoute-York

    La redoute York, qui fait partie du Complexe de défense d’Halifax, a contribué à la protection de cette ville portuaire stratégique contre les attaques militaires pendant plus de 200 ans. Empruntez les sentiers pédestres et lisez bien les panneaux d’interprétation pour plonger au cœur du récit de cette impressionnante histoire.