Grand-Pré was designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 1955 for the following reasons: the Deportation of the Acadians; it was a centre of Acadian activity from 1682-1755; a strong attachment remains to this day among Acadians throughout the world to this area, the heart of their ancestral homeland and symbol of the ties which unite them.

The heritage value of Grand-Pré National Historic Site of Canada lies in its historical associations with the Acadian people and the central role it continues to play within the Acadian diaspora. This value is illustrated by the landscaping, the architecture and art that characterises the commemorative monuments, and by the physical evidence of early Acadian occupancy.

From 1682 until 1775, the village of Grand-Pré was the centre of Acadian settlement in the area of Les Mines, on the Mines Basin. In 1755, the site served as the headquarters for the deportation of over six thousand Acadians from their lands in Nova Scotia, by the British government. John Frederic Herbin purchased the site in 1907 to create a memorial park for the Acadians. In 1917, he sold the land to the Dominion Atlantic Railway, with the exception of a parcel of land intended for a memorial chapel. In 1922 the railway hired architect Percy Nobbs to design a memorial park and the Acadian Société Nationale l’Assomption hired architect René Frechet to construct a chapel to commemorate the original Église Saint-Charles. In addition, sculptor Philippe Hébert created a statue of Évangeline, the heroine of Acadian poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Although the Deportation took place in several areas of Nova Scotia, a strong attachment to the area remains among Acadians throughout the world. In fact, for decades Acadians have come to the site either individually or in organized groups from as far away as Louisiana to connect with their history and their ancestral homeland.

Grand-Pré a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 1955 pour les raisons suivantes : la Déportation des Acadiens; il est un centre de la vie acadienne depuis 1682 jusqu’en 1755; le profond attachement qu’éprouvent jusqu’à présent les Acadiens de par le monde envers cette région, cœur de leur patrie ancestrale et symbole des liens qui les unissent.

La valeur patrimoniale du lieu historique national du Canada de Grand-Pré réside dans le rôle de cet endroit dans l’histoire du peuple acadien et dans la place centrale qu’il continue d’occuper pour la diaspora acadienne. Cette valeur se traduit par l’aménagement paysager, par l’architecture et l’art qui caractérisent les monuments commémoratifs, et par les preuves tangibles de la présence des premiers Acadiens.

De 1682 à 1755, le village de Grand-Pré a été le centre de peuplement par les Acadiens dans la région des Mines, située autour du bassin du même nom. En 1755, l’endroit servit de quartier général lors de la déportation de plus de six mille Acadiens en Nouvelle-Écosse, par le gouvernement britannique. John Frederic Herbin acheta le terrain en 1907 en vue d’y créer un parc commémoratif à la mémoire des Acadiens. En 1917, il a vendu le lieu à la Dominion Atlantic Railway, à l’exception d’une parcelle qu’il destine à la construction d’une chapelle commémorative. En 1922, les architectes Percy Nobbs et René Fréchet ont été respectivement engagés par la compagnie ferroviaire et la Société Nationale l’Assomption, une société acadienne, pour concevoir un parc commémoratif et construire une chapelle commémorant la première Église Saint-Charles. En plus, le sculpteur Philippe Hébert réalise une statue représentant Évangéline, l’héroïne acadienne du poète Henry Wadsworth Longfellow. Bien que l’expulsion des Acadiens s’organisa depuis plusieurs endroits en Nouvelle-écosse, cette région continue d'exercer un profond attachement auprès des Acadiens à travers le monde. En fait, depuis des décennies des Acadiens se rendent au lieu, soit seuls soit en groupes, d’aussi loin que la Louisiane, pour renouer avec leur histoire et leur patrie ancestrale.