What to know before you visit

Over the next five years, Parks Canada will invest $3 billion to rehabilitate infrastructure assets within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada. This historic investment supports conservation while promoting visitor experience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitors.

When visiting Halifax Citadel National Historic Site, you may encounter one or more construction zones or reduced services while we complete this important work. Please plan ahead before you travel to avoid inconvenience. Consult the following list of current infrastructure projects to see if any road or facility work might impact your trip.


Ongoing work

South Front Rehabilitation

The “South Front” refers to the area of the fort – the southern part of the front (harbour-facing) section of the fort, that is, the section that includes the front entrance and as far south as the signal masts.
 
This project includes a complete assessment of South Front elements including masonry walls, the Signal Establishment, casemates and demi-casemates, drainage systems, look-off decks, etc., and stabilization of those elements in poor condition.
 
The restoration work will consist largely of masonry work: laborious re-pointing of the granite and mortar that make up a number of layers of fortification, and in some cases, the rooms within the walls. Work is currently underway and completion is expected for March 2018. 


Heritage Experience Centre

One of Parks Canada's current infrastructure projects is replacing the four theatre Tides of History program with a modern, flagship exhibit to present the stories of the Halifax Citadel in new, interactive ways. Content and design planning are well underway and it is anticipated that the exhibit will be completed in 2017 –  Canada’s 150th birthday!


Old Town Clock Rehabilitation

Like all historic buildings, the iconic Old Town Clock requires ongoing protection and maintenance to ensure its structural and aesthetic integrity for years to come. Assessment of the structure has shown water infiltration to be a problem along the roofline and around the windows.

Parks Canada has begun a project which will protect this city icon by replacing the roof and some windows to address the current water infiltration and prevent further deterioration. The project also includes painting and general restoration of the clock faces on the exterior of the clock tower.

A fenced work site will be erected around the Old Town Clock this summer, but pedestrian access up the hill from Brunswick St. will not be affected. The clockworks will need to be stopped while some of the work is in progress. The work is expected to be completed in 2017.


We apologize for any inconvenience these projects may cause. Please contact us if you would like help planning your visit to Halifax Citadel National Historic Site!



Work completed

Commercial Signal Mast Installation

The 140 foot mast had the important role of informing the public of commercial marine traffic in the harbour before the advent of electronic telecommunications. 

Perimeter Road Resurfacing

Perimeter Road, the access road to Halifax Citadel National Historic Site, required resurfacing. Parks Canada undertook a project to improve the road surface, as well as pedestrian safety and access at the site’s rear kiosk. Work included road paving, walkway, curbing, line painting, guard rails, signage and the entrance gates at Sackville Street and Rainnie Drive.


Garrison Grounds Drainage Infrastructure

Parks Canada is undertook a project to improve drainage infrastructure on the Garrison Grounds at Halifax Citadel National Historic Site. The work took place on the section of the grounds closest to the corner of Sackville Street and Bell Road, part of the area which is available for facility rental through Parks Canada.

*Note that this part of the facility rental area of the Garrison Grounds will be unavailable as of August 1, 2016. The work area will be fenced and closed to the public. Although field drainage work was completed in the 2016 season, the area will remain closed through the winter and the spring to allow the new sod time to take root. The area will re-open May 1, 2017.

Visitors to Halifax Citadel National Historic Site and parking clients of Indigo Park, the operator of the Garrison Grounds parking lot, should rarely be impacted by this work. 


We are also doing work at nearby Prince of Wales Tower National Historic Site, located in Halifax's Point Pleasant Park.

See also: Archaeology

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant votre visite

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, Parcs Canada investira 3 milliards de dollars pour remettre en état les infrastructures des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada. Cet investissement historique appuie la conservation tout en favorisant une expérience mémorable pour les visiteurs et en accroissant la sécurité et l’attrait de notre infrastructure.

Au cours de votre passage au lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d'Halifax, vous pourriez devoir traverser un ou plusieurs chantiers de construction ou zones de services réduits pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants. Veuillez planifier à l’avance pour éviter des désagréments. Consultez la liste suivante de projets d’infrastructure en cours pour vérifier si des travaux d’amélioration des routes ou des installations pourraient avoir une incidence sur votre voyage.


Travaux en cours

Restauration de la façade sud

La « façade sud » désigne la partie de la forteresse (partie sud de l’avant, qui fait face au port) qui comprend l’entrée principale et s’étend vers le sud jusqu’aux mâts de signalisation.

Le projet comprend une évaluation complète de l’état des éléments de la façade sud, à savoir les murs en maçonnerie, la plateforme de signalisation, les casemates et demi casemates, les systèmes de drainage et les belvédères, entre autres, et la stabilisation des éléments en mauvais état.

Les travaux de restauration seront essentiellement des travaux de maçonnerie : rejointoiement laborieux du granite et du mortier qui constituent une partie des couches de fortification et, dans certains cas, les salles qui sont aménagées dans les murs. Les travaux sont présentement en cours et le tout devrait être complété pour mars 2018.


Centre d’expérience du patrimoine

L’un des projets d’infrastructure de Parcs Canada en cours est le remplacement du programme Les marées de l'histoire, présenté dans quatre théâtres, par une exposition phare moderne qui raconte les récits associés à la citadelle d’Halifax par de nouveaux moyens interactifs. La planification du contenu et de la conception est déjà avancée, et le travail sur l'exposition devrait se terminer en 2018. 

Restauration de la vieille tour de l’horloge

Comme tous les bâtiments historiques, la célèbre vieille tour de l’horloge a besoin d’être protégée et entretenue en permanence pour conserver son intégrité structurelle et esthétique au fil du temps. L’évaluation de l’état de la structure a permis de constater des problèmes liés à l’infiltration d’eau sur la crête du toit et autour des fenêtres.

Parcs Canada a entamé un projet qui devra protéger cet emblème de la ville en remplaçant le toit et certaines fenêtres pour régler l’actuel problème d’infiltration et empêcher toute détérioration supplémentaire. Le projet prévoit également la peinture et la restauration générale du cadran de l’horloge sur l’extérieur de la tour de l’horloge.

Une zone de travail clôturée sera érigée autour de la vieille tour de l’horloge l'été prochain, mais l’accès des piétons à la colline à partir de la rue Brunswick ne sera pas fermé. Le mécanisme de l’horloge devra être stoppé lors de certains travaux. Les travaux devraient être terminés en 2018.


Nous vous prions de nous excuser de tout inconvénient causé par ces travaux. Nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous aider à planifier votre visite à la Citadelle d'Halifax -
contactez nous



Travaux terminés

Installation du mât de signalisation commercial

Le nouveau mât commercial de signalisation a été installé. Le mât pour la marine marchande, mesurant une hauteur de 140 pieds, avait le rôle important d'informer le public de l’arrivée imminente de navires marchands dans le port avant l’avènement des télécommunications électroniques. 

Resurfaçage de la route périphérique

La route périphérique, qui mène au lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax, a fait l’objet d’un resurfaçage. Parcs Canada a entrpris un projet afin d’améliorer la surface de la route, ainsi que la sécurité des piétons et l’accès au kiosque arrière du lieu historique. Les travaux on visé le revêtement de la route, les trottoirs, les bordures, la peinture de lignes, les glissières de sécurité, l’affichage et les postes d’entrée de la rue Sackville et de Rainnie Drive.

Infrastructure de drainage sur les terrains de la garnison

Parcs Canada a entrepris un projet afin d’améliorer l’infrastructure de drainage sur les terrains de la garnison au lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax. Les travaux ont été réalisés sur les parties des terrains les plus près de l’intersection de la rue Sackville et de Bell Road, une partie du secteur qu’il est possible de louer auprès de Parcs Canada.

*Il ne sera pas possible d’accéder à cette partie du secteur louable des terrains de la garnison à compter du 1er août 2016. La zone des travaux sera clôturée et fermée au public. Le drainage du terrain a été achevée pendant la saison 2016, mais la zone demeurera fermée pendant l’hiver et au printemps pour favoriser l’enracinement de la nouvelle pelouse. Le secteur rouvrira le 1er mai 2017.

Les visiteurs du lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d’Halifax et les clients du stationnement de Indigo Park, l’exploitant du stationnement des terrains de la garnison, ne seront que rarement touchés par les travaux.


Nous faisons aussi des travaux au lieu historique national de la Tour-Prince-de-Galles, situé dans le parc Point Pleasant.

À voir aussi : Archéologie