Melanson Settlement: A Rich History

The Melanson Settlement was an Acadian family settlement in the former Port-Royal area. It was located on the north shore of the Dauphin (now Annapolis) River, 6.5 kilometres down river from the town of Port-Royal (later Annapolis Royal.) Like the other Acadian settlements scattered along the river, the Melanson Settlement was an agricultural community where family members and neighbours worked co-operatively in the distinctive dykeland agriculture that was unique in colonial North America.

The houses, farm buildings and other architectural features of the settlement, as well as its orchards and upland gardens were situated on an upland terrace, overlooking the river, while its dykes and extensive fields were located on the salt marshes. Because it was on the approach to the fort at Port-Royal/Annapolis Royal, engineers recorded the Melanson Settlement on several 18th-century maps, providing an unusually detailed record for a pre-Deportation Acadian settlement.

Artwork of the establishment of agricultural dykelands Artwork of the establishment of agricultural dykelands
© Parks Canada/A. Vienneau, Nova Scotia Museum

Early Years

The settlement was founded by Charles Melanson dit La Ramée and Marie Dugas after their marriage in about 1664. The couple built their home on the edge of the upland adjacent to the St.Charles marsh and, working with the Guilbeaux, their neighbours on the other side of the marsh, built the first dyke across the extensive marsh. Before Charles Melanson's death in about 1700, the couple had 14 children. As they grew to adulthood and married, eight of the children chose to remain in the family settlement, but not all at the same time.

Artwork of trade at the Melanson settlement
Artwork of trade at the Melanson settlement 
© Parks Canada/C. Picard



British Period

Under the British, the Melanson Settlement was part of a wider area sometimes known as Pointe aux Chesnes. Alexandre Robichaud and later Jean Melanson served as a deputy, representing the area in its dealings with the British governor and council at Annapolis Royal. The settlement on the upland grew slightly but seems to not have exceeded 10 to 12 households.

Dykeland agriculture continued at the site. A second dyke had been constructed by 1708. By 1725, the reclaimed marshland extended all the way to the river on both sides of the Melanson Settlement. Significant portions of the 17th and 18th-century Acadian dykes still survive.

 

Artwork of the Acadian Deportation Artwork of the Acadian Deportation
© Parks Canada/C. Picard

By the time of the Deportation, four generations of Melansons had lived in the Melanson Settlement. Its residents were among the 1666 Acadians deported from the Annapolis Royal area in December of 1755. All of the buildings of the settlement probably were destroyed at this time.

History After the Deportation

In 1759, the north shore of the Annapolis Basin and the Annapolis River, including the lands of the Melanson Settlement, became part of Granville Township and was granted to New England Planters. The Planter and later landowners of the former Settlement continued the cultivation of the dykelands. They built their homes along a road, away from the upland terrace that held the remains of the Acadian buildings. Over the past 250 years, the Acadian foundations have remained relatively undisturbed.




Revelations from a 17th century Acadian settlement
 

Interview with Brenda Dunn, historian and author


Interviewed by Andi Rierden for Parks Canada

Brenda Dunn at Melanson Settlement Brenda Dunn at the Melanson settlement
© Parks Canada/A. Rierden

Few places in North America can tell us as much about Acadian family and community life in the 17th and 18th centuries than the Melanson Settlement National Historic Site. Archaeological digs in the 1980s - aided by historic documentation - revealed ruins of a village left untouched, apart from light farming, since 1755. As historian Brenda Dunn details in a conversation below, the site emerges as a prominent and important early Acadian settlement, whose members were key in helping to create a distinct society based primarily on family kinships and a unique form of agriculture. Located on the upland overlooking the entrance to the Dauphin (Annapolis) River en route to the epicentre of government for Acadie, the settlement managed to thrive for many decades under the weight of a long and unremitting struggle for control over the region.

Before retiring from Parks Canada in 1998, Ms. Dunn served as an historian for the Nova Scotia National Historic Sites of Canada at Louisbourg, Fort Anne, Grand-Pré and Melanson Settlement. She has published widely on Nova Scotia’s colonial history and is the author of A History of Port-Royal/Annapolis Royal : 1605-1800 (Nimbus Publishing, 2004). Here are some excerpts from our conversation:


What is the link between Melanson Settlement and the Fort Anne and Port-Royal National Historic Sites?
The settlement is an important part of the larger history of European settlement in the Annapolis Royal area. It was founded by Charles Melanson and his wife Marie Dugas, following their marriage in about 1664. Marie Dugas was among the first generation of Acadians to be born at Port-Royal; her father and her maternal grandfather had settled at Port-Royal with Charles de Menou d’Aulnay in the early years of the colony. Charles Melanson arrived from England with his parents in 1657 when Acadia was under English rule. His father was a French Huguenot and his mother was English. Through his marriage into the Dugas family, Charles gained connections to many other Acadian families. In addition, Charles’ brother, Pierre Melanson, married Marguerite Mius d’Entremont and they eventually moved up to the upper Bay of Fundy and founded Grand-Pré. As their network grew, the Melansons became one of the most influential families in Acadia.

It’s important as well that the fort [present-day Fort Anne National Historic Site] was the seat of government for the region and so that had a definite impact on the Melansons economically and politically. As one example, in 1720 [a decade after the British gained control], Alexandre Robichaud, the second husband of Anne Melanson, who came from an established Acadian family and lived at the Melanson settlement, was selected as one of the first deputies to represent the Acadians in their dealings with the British government at Annapolis Royal.

View to Goat Island (on the right), and the opening to the Annapolis (formerly Dauphin) River From the upland of the settlement visitors can view Goat Island (on the right), and the opening to the Annapolis (formerly Dauphin) River from the Annapolis (formerly Port-Royal) Basin
© Parks Canada/A. Rierden

Why was the Melanson Settlement so well documented very early on?
Under the French and later the British, various engineers at the fort [present-day Fort Anne National Historic Site] prepared several maps of the approach to the fort from Goat Island [formerly l’île aux Chèvres], providing a valuable record of the evolution of the Melanson Settlement and the other settlements on the lower river. No other area of Acadian settlement is so well documented.

A map drawn in 1708 by Pierre-Paul Delabat, engineer at the fort, showed the Melanson Settlement on the upland point overlooking the St. Charles’ marsh [now the Queen Anne marsh]. The map shows five houses in the Melanson settlement.

The most important details on the map are the names of the occupants of the houses. Although only one name is Melanson, members of the Melanson family lived in four of the five houses. An Acadian family rarely lived in isolation; its members were related by marriage to others in the community, often in several ways.

Dotted areas adjacent to four of the houses indicate gardens where crops such as turnips, cabbages, herbs and flax would have grown. Small trees on the slope running down to the marsh belonged to the Melansons’ orchard. In the one census that included orchards, taken in 1698, Charles Melanson had 76 trees, one of the largest orchards in Port-Royal. He had the second largest amount of arable land.

The 1708 map and another drawn in 1710 provide a direct correlation between the people of the settlements along the lower river and the physical setting. We are also very fortunate that the French census of 1707 links to Delabat’s 1708 map. It is not possible to make this link for any other settlement area in pre-Deportation Acadia.

How did the Acadians evolve?
In the 1630s, Isaac de Razilly brought settlers from France to La Have. After his death, Charles d’Aulnay [Razilly’s lieutenant] moved the settlers to Port-Royal and brought new colonists from France. Under d’Aulnay, they built the first dykes, beginning Acadia’s distinctive dykeland agriculture. During the period of English rule, which lasted from 1654 to 1670, the settlers began to leave the town site and extend settlement along the Dauphin [now Annapolis] River from Goat Island, the island at the entrance to the river from the Port-Royal [now Annapolis] Basin, to above the present town of Bridgetown.

One of the earliest references to the term comes from François Du Pont Duvivier of Louisbourg. Hoping his Acadian connections would be influential in urging the Acadians to join his expedition prior to his attack on the fort in 1744, he told them, “Je suis Acadien.” By the late 17th century, these settlers had evolved into a distinct Acadian society. They were removed from France and had developed a great affinity to the land in this area.

A grass fire uncovered the Melanson site in the early eighties, which eventually led to the archaeological excavations in which you were involved as an historian. What were the overall findings?
The findings led to the conclusion that the site was not used as domestic settlement after the deportation in 1755. We have assumed that most, if not all, of the features identified date to the period of the Acadian occupation of the area. The historical record also supported this conclusion. It is the only pre-expulsion Acadian settlement that has extended ruins with detailed historical documentation.

The archaeological team uncovered quite a range of artifacts such as ceramics from England, Germany and China, scissors, coins and glass beads. This discovery added much to the understanding of the Melanson Settlement and Acadian life in the 17th and 18th centuries.

The excavations on one feature showed that four buildings had been built in succession on the same site. The first two were of picquet or vertical post construction and the second two of charpente, heavy timber framing with clay and marsh hay fill, built on a fieldstone foundation. The charpente houses both had a substantial fireplace and an exterior bake oven on the west wall. The first of these two houses had lead-camed windows - one caming was stamped with the date 1740. Bake ovens and a similar cycle of rebuilding were also found in excavations at Belleisle, further up the river.

Prior to the Deportation, how did the battles between the British and the French impact the daily life of the Melanson settlement?
It was very stressful for people living on the lower river because of all the expeditions anchoring off Goat Island. The settlement was the first Acadian settlement that came into view as vessels sailed up the Dauphin, now Annapolis, River after passing through the channel on the north side of Goat Island, at the entrance to the river from the Port-Royal, now Annapolis Basin. On at least five occasions while Acadia was under French rule, enemy fleets anchored off Goat Island, near the Melanson Settlement. On a few occasions, raiders burned Acadian buildings and killed their livestock.

What happened to the Melansons after the Deportation?
During the Deportation, most of the residents were put on the Pembroke destined to go to North Carolina. Charles Belliveau, who had grown up in the Melanson Settlement, and others managed to overpower the crew and took the ship to the St. John River. From there, most of them made their way to Quebec. Subsequently some died from a smallpox epidemic including Charles Melanson and his brother Ambroise and Ambroise’s wife, Marguerite Comeau. Both men were elderly. Two years after the Deportation, a British officer described the scene along the lower river as he approached Annapolis Royal with Acadian villages in ruins, with large numbers of pear and apple trees bending under the weight of their unpicked fruit.

What do you want visitors to the site to come away with?
I want them to come away with a sense of place and an understanding of the history of the Acadians who settled along the Dauphin River (now Annapolis) and undertook a form of dykeland agriculture unique in North America. The settlement is a distinct example of Acadian settlement before the Deportation and links to the wider history of French and British colonization in the 17th and 18th centuries. 



Dykeland Agriculture

Mother and child walking across dyke road at high tide and at low tide Mother and child walking across dyke road at high tide and at low tide
© Parks Canada

The dykeland system in Nova Scotia began with Charles de Menou d’Aulnay in the 1630s who applied a technique similar to one long used in France. The concept entailed constructing earthen dykes along a tidal river or bay to prevent salt water from flooding the marshland. At low tide, a system of canals, streams and dykes allowed freshwater to flow through sluices (aboiteaux) in the dykes made from hollowed logs or planks and out to sea. At high tide, a wooden valve at the river end of the sluice closed as the tide rose, preventing the sea water from entering the marshland. Within a few years, rain and melting snow leached out most of the salt, creating a fertile plain where farmers could cultivate crops such as wheat, oat and flax.

Roads in farming areas often led along the tops of dykes. Carts drawn by oxen or horses were used for local travel. The dykeland system has survived throughout the centuries. Today, thousands of hectares of agricultural land along the Bay of Fundy coast in Nova Scotia are maintained as dykelands, based on the concept brought here by d’Aulnay and his settlers.

Modern-day aboiteau on the Annapolis River Modern-day aboiteau on the Annapolis River
© Parks Canada/A. Rierden
Remnants of sod layers and with branch webbing from early dyking construction have survived through time Remnants of sod layers and with branch webbing from early dyking construction have survived through time
© Parks Canada/A. Rierden

 

Dykeland Construction

A) Aboiteau at low tide

 
1. Flow of fresh water from the marsh
2. Clapper valve opened by the pressure of the flow of the fresh water
3. Sluice (aboiteau)
4. Dyke

Aboiteau at low tide © Parks Canada



 

 

 

 

 

 


B) Aboiteau at high tide


1. The drained marsh is below sea level
2. Clapper valve closed to prevent salt water from entering the dyked area
3. Sluice (aboiteau)
4. Dyke

Aboiteau at high tide © Parks Canada


 

 

 

 





Resources

BLEAKNEY, J. Sherman. Sods, soil, and spades: the Acadians at Grand Pré and their dykeland legacy, McGill University Press, 2007.

Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture and Marketing, Maritime Dykelands: the 350 year old struggle, 1987.

l'Établissement Melanson © Parcs Canada/K. Sollows












Une histoire riche

Entrevue avec une historienne : Révélations au sujet d’un établissement acadien du 17e siècle
L'agriculture du marais asséché
Galerie d'images 


L'Établissement-Melanson : Une histoire riche


L'Établissement-Melanson était une communauté familiale acadienne qui se trouvait dans la région de l'ancien Port-Royal. Il était situé sur la rive nord de la rivière Dauphin (l'actuelle rivière Annapolis), à 6,5 kilomètres en aval de la ville de Port-Royal (plus tard appelée Annapolis Royal). À l'instar des autres peuplements acadiens éparpillés le long de la rivière, l'Établissement-Melanson était une communauté agricole où la famille et les voisins travaillaient ensemble et pratiquaient une agriculture bien particulière en Amérique du Nord coloniale, en asséchant les marais au moyen de digues.

Les habitations, bâtiments de ferme et autres constructions de l'établissement, ainsi que ses vergers et ses potagers étaient situés sur une terrasse qui surplombait la rivière, tandis que les digues et les vastes champs se trouvaient dans les marais asséchés. Comme l'établissement était situé sur la route du fort à Port-Royal [aujourd'hui Annapolis Royal], les ingénieurs indiquèrent son emplacement sur plusieurs cartes, au 18e siècle, donnant ainsi des précisions exceptionnellement détaillées pour un établissement acadien d'avant la Déportation.

Œuvre illustrant la construction d’une aboiteau Œuvre illustrant la construction d’une digue
© Parcs Canada/A. Vienneau, Musée de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Les premières années

L'établissement fut fondé par Charles Melanson dit La Ramée et Marie Dugas après leur mariage vers 1664. Les Melanson se construisirent sur le bord de la terrasse surplombant le marais Saint-Charles et, en collaboration avec leurs voisins, les Guilbeau qui habitaient de l'autre côté du marais, érigèrent la première digue à travers le vaste marais. Charles Melanson mourut vers 1700. Huit des quatorze enfants Melanson, une fois adultes et mariés, se sont installés dans l'établissement familial, mais pas tous en même temps.


Œuvre illustrant le commerce à l'Établissement-Melanson   Œuvre illustrant le commerce à l'Établissement-Melanson
© Parcs Canada/C. Picard

Le régime britannique

Sous le régime britannique, l'Établissement-Melanson faisait partie de la grande région de Pointe aux Chesnes et plus tard Oak Point. Alexandre Robichaud et, ultérieurement, Jean Melanson ont été députés de la région dans les pourparlers avec le gouverneur britannique et le conseil d'Annapolis Royal. L'établissement de la terrasse a pris un peu d'expansion, mais il ne semble pas y avoir eu plus de 10 ou 12 ménages.

L'assèchement des marais à des fins agricoles s'est poursuivi sur le lieu. Une deuxième digue fut érigée en 1708. En 1725, le marais asséché s'étendait jusqu'à la rivière, des deux côtés de l'Établissement-Melanson. D'importantes sections des digues construites par les Acadiens aux 17e et 18e siècles sont toujours debout.

Œuvre illustrant la Déportation  Œuvre illustrant la Déportation
© Parcs Canada/C. Picard

À l'époque de la Déportation, quatre générations de Melanson avaient habité l'Établissement-Melanson. Ses habitants furent au nombre des 1,666 Acadiens de la région d'Annapolis Royal qui ont été déportés en décembre 1755. De toute évidence, les bâtiments de l'établissement furent détruits à ce moment-là.

Histoire après la Déportation

La rive nord de l'Annapolis et de son bassin, y compris les terres de l'Établissement-Melanson, fut incorporée en 1759 au canton de Granville, puis donné à des Planters de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Ces derniers, et les propriétaires qui leur succédèrent, ont continué à cultiver le marais asséché. Ils construisirent leurs habitations le long d'un chemin, loin de la terrasse où se trouvaient les vestiges des anciens bâtiments acadiens. Les fondations de ces bâtiments sont restées relativement intactes au cours des 250 dernières années.






Révélations au sujet d’un établissement acadien du 17e siècle 

Questions et réponses avec Brenda Dunn, historienne et auteure


Interviewée par Andi Rierden, pour Parcs Canada

Brenda Dunn à l'Établissement-Melanson Brenda Dunn à l'Établissement-Melanson
© Parcs Canada/A. Rierden

Peu d’endroits en Amérique du Nord nous révèlent autant d’informations sur la vie familiale et communautaire acadienne aux 17e et 18e siècles que le lieu historique national de l'Établissement-Melanson. Des fouilles archéologiques réalisées dans les années 1980, et étayées par des documents historiques, ont permis de découvrir les ruines pratiquement intactes d’un village, à l’exception d’une exploitation légère des terres depuis 1755. Comme l’explique l’historienne Brenda Dunn dans la conversation qui suit, l’endroit se révèle être un important établissement acadien du début de la colonie, un établissement dont les membres ont contribué de manière significative à la création d’une société distincte fondée sur la collaboration entre les familles et la pratique d’une agriculture bien particulière. Surplombant l’embouchure de la rivière Dauphin (l'actuelle rivière Annapolis), sur la route menant au centre névralgique du gouvernement, l’établissement a pu prospérer pendant de nombreuses décennies malgré le poids d’une longue et implacable lutte pour le contrôle de la région.

Avant de prendre sa retraite de Parcs Canada en 1998, Mme Dunn a été historienne des lieux historiques nationaux de Canada à Louisbourg, au Fort-Anne, à Grand-Pré et à l’Établissement-Melanson en Nouvelle-Écosse. Elle a publié de nombreux articles sur l’histoire coloniale de la Nouvelle-Écosse et est l’auteure de l’ouvrage A History of Port-Royal/Annapolis Royal: 1605-1800 (Nimbus Publishing, 2004). Voici quelques extraits de notre conversation :

Quel est le lien entre l’Établissement-Melanson et les lieux historiques nationaux du Fort-Anne et de Port-Royal?
L’établissement représente une partie importante de l’histoire plus vaste de l’établissement européen dans la région d’Annapolis Royal. Il a été fondé par Charles Melanson et son épouse Marie Dugas, après leur mariage vers 1664. Marie Dugas faisait partie de la première génération d’Acadiens nés à Port-Royal. Son père et son grand-père maternel s’étaient établis à Port-Royal avec Charles de Menou d’Aulnay durant les premières années de la colonie. Charles Melanson est arrivé d’Angleterre avec ses parents en 1657, quand l’Acadie était sous la domination britannique. Son père était un huguenot français et sa mère était anglaise. En se mariant à un membre de la famille Dugas, Charles a noué des liens avec de nombreuses autres familles acadiennes. Pierre Melanson, le frère de Charles, s’est marié à Marguerite Mius d’Entremont, et le couple s’est plus tard établi dans la partie supérieure de la baie de Fundy et a fondé Grand-Pré. À mesure que leur réseau s’élargissait, les Melanson sont devenus l’une des familles les plus influentes d’Acadie.

Il est aussi important de mentionner que le fort [aujourd’hui le lieu historique national du Fort-Anne] était le siège du gouvernement dans la région et qu’il a eu des répercussions économiques et politiques profondes sur les Melanson. Par exemple, en 1720 [une décennie après la prise de contrôle par les Britanniques], Alexandre Robichaud, le deuxième époux d’Anne Melanson, qui venait d’une famille acadienne établie et vivait à l’Établissement-Melanson, a été l’un des premiers députés choisis pour représenter les Acadiens dans les pourparlers avec le gouvernement britannique à Annapolis Royal.

Vu vers l’île Goat et l’embouchure de la rivière Annapolis Des hauteurs de l’établissement, les visiteurs peuvent apercevoir l’île Goat (à droite, autrefois l’île aux Chèvres), et l’embouchure de la rivière Annapolis (autrefois Dauphin) dans le bassin Annapolis (autrefois Port Royal).
© Parcs Canada/A. Rierden

Pourquoi l’Établissement-Melanson est-il si bien documenté dès ses débuts?
Sous le régime français, et plus tard le régime britannique, divers ingénieurs du fort [aujourd’hui le lieu historique national du Fort-Anne] ont préparé plusieurs cartes de l’approche du fort depuis l’île aux Chèvres [aujourd'hui île Goat]. Ils nous ont ainsi fourni une documentation précieuse sur l’évolution de l’Établissement-Melanson et des autres établissements en aval de la rivière. Aucun autre lieu d’établissement acadien n’est aussi bien documenté.

Une carte dessinée en 1708 par Pierre-Paul Delabat, un ingénieur du fort, représente l’Établissement-Melanson sur les hauteurs surplombant le marais Saint-Charles [aujourd’hui le marais Queen Anne]. On y voit cinq maisons. Les détails les plus importants sur cette carte sont les noms des occupants des maisons. Bien qu’un seul de ces noms soit Melanson, des membres de la famille Melanson vivaient dans quatre des cinq maisons. Une famille acadienne vivait rarement isolée. Ses membres étaient liés par le mariage à d’autres membres de la communauté, souvent de plusieurs façons.

Des lignes pointillées adjacentes à quatre maisons indiquent l’emplacement des jardins où l’on cultivait du navet, du chou, des herbes et du lin. De petits arbres sur la pente dévalant vers le marais représentent une partie du verger des Melanson. Selon le seul recensement qui incluait les vergers, en 1698, Charles Melanson avait 76 arbres, soit l’un des plus grands vergers de Port-Royal. Il possédait la deuxième plus grande quantité de terres arables.

La carte de 1708 et une autre dessinée en 1710 établissent un lien direct entre les occupants des établissements le long de la partie inférieure de la rivière et le cadre physique. Nous avons aussi beaucoup de chance que le recensement de 1707 soit lié à la carte de Delabat de 1708. Il n’est pas possible d’établir un tel lien pour tout autre lieu d’établissement dans l’Acadie d'avant la Déportation.

Comment la communauté acadienne a-t-elle évolué?
Dans les années 1630, Isaac de Razilly a amené des colons de France à La Hève [aujourd'hui La Have]. Après son décès, Charles d’Aulnay [le lieutenant de Razilly] a déplacé les colons à Port Royal et en a amené d’autres de France. Sous l’autorité de d’Aulnay, ils ont construit les premières digues, amorçant ainsi l'agriculture sur marais asséché, une pratique agricole particulière à l’Acadie. Durant la domination britannique, de 1654 à 1670, les colons ont commencé à quitter la ville pour s’établir le long de la rivière Dauphin [l'actuelle rivière Annapolis], de l’île aux Chèvres [aujourd'hui l'île Goat], située à l’embouchure de la rivière dans le bassin de Port Royal [aujourd’hui Annapolis], jusqu’au-dessus de la présente ville de Bridgetown.

L’une des premières références au terme « Acadien » vient de François Du Pont Duvivier de Louisbourg. Espérant que ses liens avec les Acadiens l’aideraient à convaincre ces derniers de se joindre à son expédition avant son attaque du fort en 1744, il leur a déclaré « Je suis Acadien ». À la fin du 17e siècle, ces colons formaient une société distincte acadienne. Ils étaient très loin de la France et avaient développé une affinité profonde avec la terre de cette région.

Un feu d’herbe a mis au jour le site de l’Établissement-Melanson au début des années 1980, ce qui a mené à la réalisation de fouilles archéologiques auxquelles vous avez participé à titre d’historienne. Dans l’ensemble, qu’avez-vous découvert?
Les résultats des fouilles nous ont permis de conclure que le site n’a pas été utilisé comme établissement domestique après la Déportation en 1755. Nous avons présumé que la plupart, sinon l’ensemble, des aménagements identifiés dataient de la période d’occupation de la région par les Acadiens. Les documents historiques appuient également cette conclusion. Il s’agit du seul établissement acadien d’avant la Déportation ayant des ruines étendues et faisant l’objet d’une documentation historique détaillée.

Les archéologues ont mis au jour toute une variété d’artefacts, comme des céramiques d’Angleterre, d’Allemagne et de Chine, des ciseaux, des pièces de monnaie et des perles de verre. Cette découverte a permis de mieux comprendre l’Établissement-Melanson et la vie des Acadiens aux 17e et 18e siècles.

Les fouilles effectuées à l’un des aménagements ont montré que quatre bâtiments avaient été construits successivement au même endroit. Les deux premiers étaient faits de piquets ou rondins verticaux et les deux autres avaient une charpente composée de lourdes poutres de bois, isolée à l’aide d’argile et d’herbe des marais et construite sur une fondation en pierres des champs. Les maisons à charpente avaient toutes deux un vaste foyer et un four extérieur sur le mur ouest. Les deux premières maisons avaient des fenêtres à ruban de plomb, et sur un des rubans était estampée la date « 1740 ». Des fours et des cycles de reconstruction semblables ont aussi été observés lors de fouilles à Belleisle, en amont de la rivière.

Avant la Déportation, quelles ont été les répercussions des batailles entre Britanniques et Français sur la vie quotidienne à l’Établissement-Melanson?
C’était très stressant pour les personnes qui vivaient le long de la partie inférieure de la rivière parce que tous les navires d’expédition étaient amarrés à l’île aux Chèvres [aujourd’hui l’île Goat]. L’Établissement-Melanson était le premier établissement que les navires apercevaient en remontant la rivière Dauphin [l'actuelle rivière Annapolis] après avoir traversé le chenal du côté nord de l’île au chèvre, à l’embouchure de la rivière, dans le bassin Port Royal [aujourd’hui Annapolis]. À au moins cinq occasions durant le régime français, des flottes ennemies ont ancré leurs navires à l’île aux Chèvres, près de l’Établissement-Melanson. À quelques occasions, les attaquants ont brûlé les bâtiments des Acadiens et tué leur bétail.

Qu’est-il advenu des Melanson après la Déportation?
Durant la Déportation, la plupart des résidants ont été embarqués à bord du Pembroke à destination de la Caroline du Nord. Charles Belliveau, qui avait grandi à l’Établissement Melanson, et d’autres prisonniers ont toutefois réussi à neutraliser l’équipage, puis ont mis le cap sur la rivière Saint-Jean. De là, la plupart d’entre eux se sont rendus jusqu’à Québec. Certains sont morts durant une épidémie de variole, y compris Charles Melanson, son frère Ambroise, et l’épouse de ce dernier, Marguerite Comeau. Les deux hommes étaient alors d’un âge avancé. Deux ans après la Déportation, un officier britannique a décrit la scène le long de la partie inférieure de la rivière à l’approche d’Annapolis Royal, où se trouvaient des villages acadiens en ruine et de très nombreux poiriers et pommiers croulant sous le poids de leurs fruits qui n’étaient pas cueillis.

Que voulez-vous que les visiteurs retiennent de leur visite du lieu?
Je veux qu’ils fassent l'expérience de l'esprit du lieu et aient une meilleure compréhension de l’histoire des Acadiens qui se sont établis le long de la rivière Dauphin (aujourd’hui Annapolis) et ont entrepris l'agriculture sur marais asséché, une pratique agricole unique en Amérique du Nord. L’établissement est un exemple distinct d’établissement acadien d’avant la Déportation et établit un lien avec l’histoire plus vaste de la colonisation française et britannique aux 17e et 18e siècles.





L'agriculture sur marais asséché

Une mère et son enfant traversant un digue à marée haute et à marée basse Une mère et son enfant traversant un digue à marée haute (haut); terres agricoles à gauche à marée basse (bas)
© Parcs Canada
L’agriculture sur marais asséché a commencé en Nouvelle-Écosse dans les années 1630, quand Charles de Menou d’Aulnay a appliqué une technique semblable à celle qui était utilisée depuis très longtemps en France. Le concept comportait la construction de digues en terre le long d’un cours d’eau ou d’une baie, dans le but d’empêcher l’eau salée d’inonder le marais. À marée basse, un système de canaux de drainage permettait à l’eau douce de s’écouler vers la mer par les aboiteaux ou écluses fabriquées d’un tronc d’arbre évidé ou de madriers. À marée haute, le clapet ou vanne de l’aboiteau se fermait du côté de la rivière ou de la mer à mesure que la marée montait, empêchant ainsi l’eau de mer d’entrer dans le marais. En quelques années, la pluie et la neige fondue avaient lessivé la majeure partie du sel, créant une plaine fertile où les fermiers pouvaient cultiver entre autres le blé, l’avoine et le lin.

Les chemins des terres agricoles traversaient souvent sur les digues. Des chariots tirés par des bœufs ou des chevaux servaient aux déplacements locaux. Le système de digues a survécu au fil des siècles. De nos jours, des milliers d’hectares de terres agricoles le long de la baie de Fundy, sur la côte de la Nouvelle-Écosse, sont encore endigués selon le concept établi par d’Aulnay et ses colons.

Aboiteau moderne sur la rivière Annapolis Aboiteau moderne sur la rivière Annapolis
© Parcs Canada/A. Rierden
Les vestiges des couches de terre et de branches disposées lors de la construction des premières digues ont survécu jusqu’à aujourd’hui Les vestiges des couches de terre et de branches disposées lors de la construction des premières digues ont survécu jusqu’à aujourd’hui
© Parcs Canada/A. Rierden

 

 

Aménagement d’un marais asséché

A) Aboiteau à marée basse

1. L’eau douce s’écoule du marais
2. La vanne ou clapet s’ouvre sous la pression du flot d’eau douce
3. Aboiteau
4. Digue

Aboiteau à marée basse © Parcs Canada

 

 

 

 

 
 

B) Aboiteau à marée haute

1. Le marais asséché se situe sous le niveau de la mer
2. La vanne ou clapet se ferme pour empêcher l’eau salée d’inonder la terre endiguée
3. Aboiteau
4. Digue

Aboiteau à marée haute © Parcs Canada

 

 

 

 


 

Ressources

 
BLEAKNEY, J. Sherman. Sods, soil, and spades: the Acadians at Grand Pré and their dykeland legacy, McGill University Press, 2007.

Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture and Marketing, Maritime Dykelands: the 350 year old struggle, 1987.