On the rich shores of Nova Scotia’s Annapolis Basin, Port-Royal’s Habitation was one of North America’s oldest European settlements. From 1605 to 1613 French colonists including Samuel de Champlain lived in this fortified compound, forging ties with the Mi’kmaq who welcomed them to their territory and who helped them survive.

Because of its historical significance, the Habitation’s cluster of adjoining hewn timber buildings with an enclosed courtyard and surrounding palisade was reconstructed in 1939 using early 17th century building techniques.

Step into the daily life of a frontier colony; explore the gentlemen’s quarters, trading and store rooms, bakery, kitchen and forge, filled with period furnishings and tools. Learn skills from the early 1600s. Spend time experiencing a remarkable and realistic glimpse of life within an early i French outpost on what was, to Europeans, a little known continent.

Située sur les rives fertiles du bassin d’Annapolis en Nouvelle-Écosse, l’Habitation de Port-Royal a abrité l’une des plus anciennes colonies en Amérique du Nord. De 1605 à 1613, des colons français, dont Samuel de Champlain, ont habité dans cette enceinte fortifiée et tissé des liens avec les Mi’kmaq, qui les ont accueilli sur leur territoire et aidé à survivre.

En 1939, en raison de sa valeur historique, l’ensemble de bâtiments contigus de l’Habitation en bois de construction dressé à la hache, ainsi qu’une cour intérieure et une palissade entourant le lieu ont été reconstruits, selon des techniques du début du XVIIe siècle.

Revivez le quotidien d’une colonie frontalière. Explorez les logements des gentilshommes, les salles de commerce et d’entreposage, la boulangerie, la cuisine et la forge qui contiennent des meubles et des outils d’époque. Apprenez des techniques de fabrication remontant aux années 1600. Vous aurez un aperçu remarquable et réaliste du quotidien, au sein d’un avant-poste français, sur un continent que les Européens ne connaissaient que très peu.