Parks Canada is advising the public that the Rideau Canal’s 24 lockstations located between Ottawa and Kingston will close for the season on October 10, 2017, following the Thanksgiving long weekend. 

Parks Canada encourages the public to use caution in and around canal structures and channels over the winter months. From mid-October to the end of May, the canal’s lock stations are closed and use of the canal is at one’s own risk. Unmarked hazards may exist. Wet leaves, ice, and snow may remain on stairs and walkways, and ice conditions on the waterway can vary. Boaters are advised that during the non-navigation season, aids to navigation may be missing, off-station, or inoperable until next spring.  

From mid-October until mid-November, water levels in the Rideau Canal system, between Ottawa Locks and Burritt’s Rapids, will be decreased to winter storage levels by adjusting dams and spillways in the Lower Rideau Watershed in order to prepare for freeze up and to reduce the possibility of spring flooding. The following Rideau Canal sections will be affected:

  • Water levels will be decreased in the sections below Hog's Back, including Dow's Lake, beginning Monday,  October 9, 2017 and will remain at their lowest level until mid-November, after which the water level will then be raised approximately one metre between Hartwells and Ottawa lockstations to prepare for the Skateway. 
  • Water levels will be lowered between Hog's Back to Black Rapids beginning Tuesday, October 10, 2017. 
  • Water levels will be lowered between Long Island to Black Rapids beginning Tuesday, October 10, 2017. 
  • Water levels will be lowered between Burritt's Rapids to Long Island beginning Monday, October 30, 2017.   

We would like to thank all visitors and look forward to welcoming you again in 2018. Lockage and mooring permits for 2018 will soon be available for purchase on the Parks Canada website.

Parcs Canada informe le public que les 24 postes d’éclusage du canal Rideau situés entre Ottawa et Kingston ont fermés pour une autre année le 10 octobre, 2017, suite au lundi de l’Action de grâce. 

Parcs Canada encourage le public à faire preuve de prudence aux alentours des structures du canal et des chenaux pendant l’hiver. De la mi-octobre à la fin de mai, les postes d’éclusage du canal sont fermés et les personnes qui utilisent le canal le font à leurs propres risques. Certains dangers subsistent même s’ils ne sont pas indiqués. Des feuilles mouillées, de la glace et de la neige peuvent s’accumuler dans les escaliers et sur les allées piétonnières, et l’état des glaces sur la voie navigable peut varier. Les plaisanciers sont avisés que durant la saison morte, les aides à la navigation ne sont pas toutes en place, et certaines peuvent être déplacées ou non fonctionnelles jusqu’au printemps. 

De la mi-octobre à la mi-novembre, le niveau de l’eau dans le canal Rideau, entre les écluses d’Ottawa et de Burritt’s Rapids, sera abaissé au niveau d’hivernage par l’ajustement des barrages et des déversoirs dans le bassin hydrographique du cours inférieur de la rivière Rideau, afin de se préparer au gel et de réduire la possibilité d’inondation printanière. Les tronçons suivants du canal Rideau seront affectés:

  • Le niveau de l’eau sera abaissé aux tronçons situés en aval de Hog’s Back, y compris le lac Dow’s, à compter du lundi 9 octobre, et demeurera à son niveau le plus bas jusqu’au mi-novembre, date à partir de laquelle il sera relevé d’environ un mètre entre les postes d’éclusage de Hartwells et d’Ottawa afin d’entamer les préparatifs pour la patinoire. 
  • Le niveau de l’eau sera abaissé entre Hog's Back et Black Rapids à compter du mardi 10 octobre 2017.
  • Le niveau de l’eau sera abaissé entre Long Island et Black Rapids à compter du mardi 10 octobre 2017.
  • Le niveau de l’eau sera abaissé entre Burritt's Rapids et Long Island à compter du lundi 30 octobre 2017. 

Nous tenons à remercier tous les visiteurs et nous serons ravis de vous accueillir à nouveau en 2018. Nous vous rappelons que les permis d’éclusage et d’amarrage 2018 seront bientôt disponibles sur le site Web de Parcs Canada.