The Sault Ste. Marie Canal, built in 1895, was the world’s longest lock, the first to operate using electricity and the last link in an all-Canadian navigational chain from the Atlantic Ocean to Lake Superior. Today, the Canal is a great spot for boat-watching, picnics and a variety of other activities. Let a Parks Canada interpreter introduce you to the canal’s fascinating history, rent a Fat Bike, or join us for tea at the Superintendent’s Residence.

Featured things to do

Hours of operation

Site access: Every day from 6am to 10pm

Lock navigation season: May 28 – October 15

Visitor Centre: June 14 – October 8

Complete schedule

Fees

Site access and lockage is free.

Other fees still apply.

Detailed fee list.

Contact us

Main Office: 705-941-6262
Visitor Centre: 705-941-6205
Email: pc.infolhncssm-ssmcnhsinfo.pc@canada.ca

Planning to visit during COVID-19?

Click here for details.

Sites nearby

  • A sailboat on Lake Superior.
    Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area

    Home to more than 70 fish species and 50 shipwrecks, Lake Superior is one of the world’s largest protected freshwater areas and offers outdoor activities ranging from fishing and swimming to snowshoeing and surfing.

  • Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site

    Visit Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site, 92 km south east of Sault Ste. Marie on the southern tip of St. Joseph Island, to learn about the once-vital British stronghold on Upper Canada’s western front.

  • A person in the front of a canoe.
    Pukaskwa National Park

    This is Ontario’s only wilderness national park, defined by pink-and-slate granite shores, Great Lake temperaments and near-endless stretches of spruce, fir, pine and hardwoods. Biodiverse coastal regions—where wetland, lake and forest meet—are home to iconic Canadian species like bald eagles, moose and bears.

Construit en 1895, le canal de Sault Ste. Marie était non seulement l’écluse la plus longue du monde, mais aussi la première à fonctionner à l’électricité et le dernier lien du réseau de navigation tout canadien reliant l’océan Atlantique au lac Supérieur. Aujourd’hui, le canal emprunté par des embarcations de plaisance demeure l’endroit idéal pour observer des bateaux et pour pique-niquer. Mais il y a bien plus à faire! Laissez un animateur-guide de Parcs Canada vous en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire fascinante du canal.

En vedette

Comment s’y rendre

1 promenade du Canal
Sault Ste. Marie ON P6A 6W4

Heures d’ouverture

16 mai au 7 octobre

Horaire complet

Tarifs

Éclusage gratuit en 2017. Les autres frais s’appliquent.
Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 705-941-6262
Courriel : info-saultcanal@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Un voilier sur le lac Supérieur.
    Aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur

    Le lac Supérieur abrite plus de 70 espèces de poissons et contient 50 épaves. Découvrez l’une des plus grandes étendues d’eau douce protégées au monde. De la pêche à la natation en passant par la raquette et le surf, mille et une activités de plein air vous attendent.

  • Lieu historique national du Fort-St. Joseph

    Visitez le lieu historique national du Fort St. Joseph, situé à 92 km au sud-est de Sault Ste. Marie sur la pointe sud de l’île St. Joseph. Venez en apprendre davantage sur l’emprise jadis vitale des Britanniques sur le front occidental de la province du Haut-Canada.

  • Une personne dans un canot.
    Parc national Pukaskwa

    Seul parc national sauvage de l’Ontario, Pukaskwa se caractérise par un climat capricieux propre aux Grands Lacs, par des affleurements de granit rosé et par des forêts d’épinettes, de sapins, de pins et de feuillus s’étendant à l’infini. Les régions situées en bordure du lac, riches en biodiversité, où zones humides côtoient lacs et forêts, abritent des espèces emblématiques du Canada, comme les pygargues à tête blanche, les orignaux et les ours.