Whether you’re a history buff, a nature lover or both, you’ll find inspiration at Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site. Explore the ruins of the old fort, puzzle over the mysterious chimney and imagine life in this remote outpost of Upper Canada. Then hike the nature trails that lead through the woods and wetlands surrounding the old fort, near the shores of Lake Huron.

Featured

  • A family on a hiking trail.

    ​Hike the trails to Huron's edge

    Four great hiking trails wind through the forest surrounding Fort St. Joseph. Whether you have 20 or 90 minutes, you’ll be able to complete an enjoyable hike, learning about Fort St. Joseph and its surroundings.

  • Two children looking at a ruin.

    Explore the ruins

    Once the most westerly fort in Upper Canada, Fort St. Joseph is now a fascinating historic ruin. Tour the Visitor Centre and ruins, then hike the woodland trails that surround the remains of the fort.

All activities

Vous êtes un mordu d’histoire ? Un amoureux de la nature ? Les deux à la fois ? Trouvez l’inspiration voulue au lieu historique national du Fort St. Joseph. Explorez les ruines de l’ancien fort, tentez de résoudre le mystère de l’étrange cheminée et imaginez à quoi ressemblait la vie à l’époque dans cet avant-poste éloigné de la province du Haut-Canada. Parcourez aussi les sentiers d’interprétation de la nature qui sillonnent les bois et les terres humides encerclant l’ancien fort, près des rives du lac Huron.

En vedette

  • Une famille sur un sentier de randonnée.

    ​Marcher dans les sentiers jusqu’aux rives du lac Huron

    Quatre superbes sentiers pédestres sillonnent la forêt qui entoure le fort St. Joseph. Choisissez un circuit de randonnée de 20 ou de 90 minutes, à votre guise. Apprenez une foule de choses sur le fort St. Joseph et ses environs.

  • Deux enfants regardent un bâtiment ruiné.

    Explorez les ruines

    Jadis le fort le plus à l’ouest de la province du Haut-Canada, le fort St. Joseph est devenu un site de ruines historiques fascinantes. Visitez le centre d’accueil et les ruines, puis partez à l’aventure dans les sentiers des régions boisées qui entourent les ruines du fort.

Toutes les activités