First built during the War of 1812 to defend the St. Lawrence River shipping route from attack by the United States, Fort Wellington also helped thwart another American invasion during the 1837-38 Upper and Lower Canada rebellions. Explore the wreck of an 1812-era gunboat, try on a costume and take part in military drill, witness a cannon firing, savour period treats cooked over an open fire, or play games from long ago.

Featured things to do

Whisky tasting event

Find your rations and lift your spirits at this special event at Fort Wellington National Historic Site with just a wee dram Scotch Whisky seminars.

Fort kids

In summer Fort Wellington offers junior time travellers the chance to the experience life here. The popular fort kids program encourages imagination, historical discovery and adventure.

Cannon program!

Enlist in the Royal Artillery for a day! Recruits will spend their time training to be a member of the cannon crew.

Getting here

370 Vankoughnet Street
Prescott ON K0E 1T0

Hours of operation

Canada Day (July 1st) to Labour Day (Sept. 4th)
Open daily, including statutory holidays
10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Complete schedule
Open all year round for school groups upon reservation

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Contact us

Telephone: 613-925-2896
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888
Fax: 613-925-1536
Email: ont-wellington@pc.gc.ca

Sites nearby

  • Battle of the Windmill National Historic Site

    Visit the Battle of the Windmill National Historic site to see one of Canada’s most historically significant windmills, and learn how British redcoat and Canadian loyalists waged a battle to protect Upper Canada from invaders.

  • Thousand Islands National Park

    Granite islands speckle the St. Lawrence River in a transition zone between Canadian Shield and Adirondack Mountains. Explore by boating, paddling, or hiking. Awesome Thousand Islands National Park awaits, a few hours from Toronto or Montreal.

  • Bellevue House National Historic Site

    Follow staff in period costume on a tour of Bellevue House. Hear stories about Canada’s first prime minister, who made history here in the 1840s. Feel a Lake Ontario breeze in an heirloom garden. 

  • Laurier House National Historic Site

    Two of Canada’s most important Prime Ministers, Sir Wilfrid Laurier and the Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, resided in this Victorian Ottawa mansion where they entertained dignitaries and politicians while often conducting the nation’s business.

Le fort Wellington a été construit durant la guerre de 1812 pour défendre la voie navigable du Saint-Laurent contre une éventuelle attaque des États-Unis. Il a également contribué à déjouer une autre invasion américaine pendant les rébellions survenues en 1837-1838 dans le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada. Explorez l’épave d’une canonnière datant de 1812 et assistez à un tir de canon ! Enfilez un costume de soldat et participez à un exercice militaire et à des jeux d’époque. Pour agrémenter la visite, dégustez des friandises d’antan cuites sur un feu à ciel ouvert.

En vedette

Activité de dégustation de whisky

Un spécialiste du whisky guidera vos sens lors d’une dégustation de whisky et d’accords avec les mets tout en vous faisant découvrir l’histoire de la fabrication de cet alcool.

Les enfants découvrent la vie au fort

Cet été, viens vivre un voyage dans le temps en participant au programme populaire « Les enfants découvrent la vie au fort ».

Tir au canon!

Laisse libre cours à ton imagination en vivant une expérience remplie de découvertes historiques et d’aventures liées à la guerre de 1812 et à la rébellion de 1838 au fort Wellington.

Comment s’y rendre

370, rue Vankoughnet
Prescott ON K0E 1T0

Heures d’ouverture

5 septembre jusqu'à l'Action de grâce (le 9 octobre)
Ouvert du jeudi au lundi : 10 h à 17 h
Mardi et mercredi : fermé 

Horaire complet
Ouvert à l’année pour les groupes scolaires sous réservation

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les autres frais s’appliquent.
Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 613-925-2896
Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Télécourriel : 613-925-1536
Courriel : ont-wellington@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent

    Visitez le lieu historique national de la Bataille-du-Moulin-à-Vent pour voir l’un des moulins à vent les plus importants du pays sur le plan historique. Découvrez comment les « Habits rouges » britanniques et les loyalistes canadiens ont livré bataille pour protéger le Haut-Canada des envahisseurs.

  • Parc national des Mille-Îles

    Les îles de granit parsèment le fleuve Saint-Laurent dans une zone de transition située entre le Bouclier canadien et les monts Adirondacks. Explorez les lieux en naviguant, en pagayant ou en marchant. À quelques heures de Toronto et de Montréal, le merveilleux parc national des Mille-Îles n'attend plus que vous.

  • Lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue

    Visitez la villa Bellevue en compagnie du personnel en costume d'époque. Revivez l’époque des années 1840 et découvrez comment Sir John A. Macdonald marqua l'histoire en ce lieu. Détendez-vous dans le jardin patrimonial et laissez-vous porter par la brise provenant du lac Ontario.

  • Lieu historique national de la Maison-Laurier

    Deux grands premiers ministres du Canada, Sir Wilfrid Laurier et William Lyon Mackenzie King, ont résidé ici. Entrez dans cette demeure victorienne du centre-ville d’Ottawa où ces hommes d’État ont dirigé les affaires du pays, en plus de recevoir dignitaires et politiciens.