Waterloo Pioneers Tower

“In the year 1800 a small number of Mennonite families arrived from Pennsylvania to settle Block 2, former Six Nation land along the Grand River. Others, mainly Mennonites, following during the next three years until problems regarding ownership of the land curtailed the migration. Representatives were sent back to Pennsylvania to raise the money necessary to secure clear title to the land, with the result that a joint stock company was formed and 60,000 acres purchased. Pennsylvania ‘Dutch' settlers quickly took up this land, creating the first sizeable inland settlement in Upper Canada.”

First Inhabitants and Settlers

The first human inhabitants of the Grand River Valley were native peoples at least as early as 6000 B.C. These were probably nomadic hunters and gatherers. Native use of the area, including villages and some agriculture, continued through the 1800s. The British government purchased the land from the Mississaugas and in 1784 granted a parcel (six miles on either side of the Grand River) to the Six Nations for their assistance during the American War of Independence. In 1798 Joseph Brant offered for sale the land which is now Kitchener.

In 1800 the Mennonite families of Joseph Schoerg and Samuel Betzner purchased land here and emigrated from Franklin County, Pennsylvania, settling on the Grand River. By 1803 more than twenty families had joined them and the community kept growing steadily. Today there is still a strong Mennonite presence in Waterloo County.

A Memorial

In 1923 many descendants of the first Mennonite families in the area and some members of the Waterloo Historical Society formed a Memorial Association. They purchased an acre of land on the old Betzner homestead, where graves of several original family members were located, and constructed the tower, which was completed in 1926. Its random-coursed fieldstone, tapered "Swiss" copper roof, and the Conestoga wagon weathervane reflect the Swiss origin and farming lifestyle of the early Pennsylvania German settlers. The observation deck incorporates references to true north and to the Grand River Trail used by the first settlers.

The Grand River

The Waterloo Pioneers Memorial Tower is located on the Grand River, which was declared a Canadian Heritage River in 1994. The Grand River is a great example of the role of rivers in the early cultural and industrial development of Canada. It also represents a Great Lakes Lowlands river.

La tour commémorative des Pionniers-de-Waterloo

« En 1800, une poignée de familles mennonites de la Pennsylvanie vint s’établir sur le lot no.2, ancien territoire des Six Nations, qui longeait la Grande rivière. D’autres colons, pour la plupart mennonites, vinrent les retrouver au cours des trois années suivantes jusqu'à l’apparition de problèmes relatifs aux droits de propriété. Certains retournèrent lever des fonds en Pennsylvanie; l’argent permit aux colons de fonder une société par actions et d’acheter 60 000 acres de terrain. Des colons de langue allemande, venant de Pennsylvanie, s’en portèrent bientôt acquéreurs et créèrent la première importante colonie intérieure du Haut-Canada. »

Premiers habitants et colons

Les premiers habitants de la vallée de la Grande rivière furent des Autochtones, probablement des chasseurs et cueilleurs nomades, arrivés dans la région dès 6000 avant J-C. Les Autochtones demeurèrent jusque dans les années 1800, créant des villages et pratiquant une forme d'agriculture. En 1784, le gouvernement britannique acheta les terres des Mississaugas et accorda aux Six Nations une parcelle de six milles de chaque côté de la Grande rivière en reconnaissance de leur bravoure durant la guerre de l'indépendance américaine. En 1798, Joseph Brant mit en vente le terrain sur lequel se trouve aujourd'hui la ville de Kitchener.

En 1800, les mennonites Joseph Schoerg et Samuel Betzner en provenance du comté de Franklin en Pennsylvanie, immigrèrent au Canada et firent l'acquisition de terres ici même le long de la Grande rivière. En 1803, plus de vingt familles les avaient rejoints et la communauté était en pleine croissance. De nos jours, le comté de Waterloo compte encore de nombreuses familles mennonites.

Un monument commémoratif

En 1923, de nombreux descendants des premiers pionniers mennonites de la région et des membres de la Waterloo Historical Society créèrent une association commémorative. Ils achetèrent un acre de terre sur l'ancien domaine Betzner, où étaient se trouvaient plusieurs tombes des premier pionniers. Ils y érigèrent une tour commémorative qui fut complétée en 1926. Les pierres posées en assise irrégulière, le toit conique en cuivre de style « suisse » et la girouette ornée d'un chariot de type « Conestoga » rappellent les origines suisses et le mode de vie agricole des premiers colons allemands originaires de Pennsylvanie. La terrasse d'observation réfère au nord géographique.

La Grande rivière

La tour des Pionniers-de-Waterloo est située en bordure de la Grande rivière, reconnue rivière du patrimoine canadien depuis 1994. La Grande rivière illustre le rôle des cours d'eau dans le développement culturel et industriel du Canada et représente les rivières des basses-terres des Grands Lacs.