Smell the roses blossoming along a circular carriage driveway, stroll 19th century gardens and an orchard on the grounds of the picturesque rural cottage set in the Victorian era of Ardgowan, former home to William Henry Pope, one of the Fathers of Confederation. Hear birdsong; imagine genteel ladies on the croquet lawn. Spread a picnic amid the tranquil past in an historic setting in Charlottetown.

Getting here

2 Palmers Lane
Charlottetown, PE C1A 5V8

Hours of operation

Open all year-round
Administration services are available Monday to Friday, from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. Closed statutory holidays.

 

Fees

Free admission. Other fees still apply.

Contact us

Telephone: 902-566-7050
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888
Email: pnipe.peinp@pc.gc.ca

Sites nearby

  • Green Gables Heritage Place

    Be charmed by an encounter with Canada’s iconic redheaded sweetheart, Anne of Green Gables. Relive the fictional orphan’s youthful adventures at the Island farmstead that inspired author Lucy Maud Montgomery.

  • Dalvay-by-the-Sea National Historic Site

    Surrounded by sand dunes, beaches and a lake, Dalvay-by-the-Sea is a peek into a luxurious Victorian estate. Explore the interior, cycle the shoreline, stroll the grounds or simply relax in an Adirondack chair with a view.

  • Prince Edward Island National Park

    Stroll the serene and grand grounds surrounding Ardgowan, the former Charlottetown home of William Henry Pope, one of Canada’s Fathers of Confederation who resided and entertained in this cottage-style house during the Charlottetown Conference of 1864.

  • Province House National Historic Site

    The birthplace of Confederation and the seat of Prince Edward Island's provincial legislature since 1847, Province House National Historic Site is a Charlottetown highlight. Stroll the grounds to experience the magnificent neo-classical architecture of this majestic building and view interpretive panels.

Respirez le parfum des roses épanouies ornant une entrée circulaire et promenez-vous dans des jardins et un verger du 19e siècle, situés sur les lieux d’une résidence typique de l’époque victorienne. Vous voici à Ardgowan, ancien domaine de William Henry Pope, l’un des Pères de la Confédération. En écoutant le gazouillis des oiseaux, imaginez des dames élégantes jouant sur le terrain de croquet. Installez-vous pour pique-niquer en vous imprégnant de la douce ambiance d’autrefois dans un décor historique de Charlottetown.

Comment s’y rendre

2 allée Palmers
Charlottetown PE C1A 5V8

Heures d’ouverture

Ouvert à l'année
Les services administratifs sont disponibles du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30, sauf les jours fériés.

 

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite. Les autres frais s’appliquent.

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 902-566-7050

Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Courriel : pnipe.peinp@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Site patrimonial Green Gables

    Succombez au charme du personnage emblématique du célèbre roman canadien Anne... la maison aux pignons verts. Revivez les aventures de la jeune orpheline aux cheveux roux en visitant la maison qui a inspiré l’auteure, Lucy Maud Montgomery.

  • Lieu historique national Dalvay-by-the-Sea

    Bordée par des dunes de sable, des plages et un lac, Dalvay-by-the-Sea offre la découverte d’une luxueuse demeure victorienne. Explorez l’intérieur de la maison, longez la côte à vélo, promenez-vous en famille ou reposez-vous dans un fauteuil Adirondack en profitant de la vue panoramique.

  • Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

    Vous rêvez d’un séjour au bord de la mer pour pratiquer des activités de plein air ou simplement pour vous reposer ? Le parc national de l’île-du-Prince-Édouard vous comblera. Au programme : des plages bordées de falaises et de dunes, des sentiers de vélo longeant la mer et des zones humides abritant de nombreuses espèces sauvages.

  • Lieu historique national Province House

    Berceau de la Confédération et siège de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard depuis 1847, Province House est un monument important de Charlottetown. Promenez-vous à l’extérieur de ce majestueux bâtiment, admirez son architecture néo-classique et lisez les panneaux d'interprétation.