L.M. Montgomery’s Cavendish National Historic Site is a cultural landscape that embraces the landscape near Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, that author L. M. Montgomery knew so well and made famous in her “Anne of Green Gables” books. The designated area includes the Green Gables house, Montgomery’s Cavendish home, and several landscape features such as the Haunted Wood Trail, Balsam Hollow Trail and Lover’s Lane, dear to Montgomery and familiar to her readers.

The Site of Lucy Maud Montgomery's Cavendish Home

The Site of Lucy Maud Montgomery's Cavendish Home is the farm of Montgomery’s maternal grandparents where she lived for the first 37 years of her life. This farmscape incorporates the ruins of the house and farm buildings that existed in Montgomery’s time, as well as the wooded groves and pathways described in her stories.

Please note: This site is not included for free entry with the 2017 Discovery Pass.

Green Gables Heritage Place

The second area encompasses Green Gables, the neighbouring farmstead which inspired the setting of Montgomery’s most famous novel, "Anne of Green Gables" published in 1908. The site includes the house in its natural setting with surroundings that inspired both her imagination and her fiction including the Haunted Wood, the site of the schoolhouse, Lover’s Lane and the babbling brook.

Together these landscapes evoke both Montgomery’s real life and the fictional world she created.

Getting here

8521 Cavendish Rd
Hunter River RR#2 PE C0A 1M0

Hours of operation

Green Gables Heritage Place: Complete schedule

Site of Lucy Maud Montgomery's Cavendish Home: Complete schedule

Fees

Green Gables Heritage Place: Free admission.

Other fees still apply for The Site of Lucy Maud Montgomery's Cavendish Home: More details

Contact us

Telephone: 902-963-7874
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888
Email: greengables.info@pc.gc.ca

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Cavendish de L.M. Montgomery est un paysage culturel situé près de Cavendish, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. L'auteure L.M. Montgomery, qui le connaissait par cœur, l'a rendu célèbre dans ses livres sur «Anne et la maison aux pignons verts». La zone désignée comprend la Maison Green Gables, la résidence de L.M. Montgomery à Cavendish, et plusieurs éléments paysagers comme les sentiers du Bois hanté et de la Niche aux impatientes ainsi que l'allée des Amoureux, chers à Montgomery et bien connus de ses lecteurs.

Site de la résidence de Lucy Maud Montgomery à Cavendish

Le site de la résidence de Lucy Maud Montgomery à Cavendish est en fait celui de la ferme des grands parents maternels de Montgomery, où elle aura passé les 37 premières années de sa vie. Ce paysage agricole comprend les ruines de la résidence et des bâtiments qui existaient du temps de Montgomery, ainsi que les bocages et les sentiers décrits dans ses histoires.

Veuillez noter : Ce lieu ne fait pas partie des endroits dont l’entrée est gratuite avec la carte Découverte 2017.

Site patrimonial Green Gables

Le second secteur couvre Green Gables, l’exploitation agricole voisine qui a inspiré le cadre du roman le plus célèbre de Montgomery, Anne… La maison aux pignons verts, publié en 1908. Le site comprend la résidence dans son cadre naturel et les terrains environnants qui ont enflammé tant son imagination que sa fiction, notamment la Forêt hantée, le site de l’école, le Chemin des amoureux et le ruisseau sonore.

Ces paysages évoquent ensemble la vie vécue par Montgomery et le monde fictif qu’elle a créé.

Comment s’y rendre

8521 rue Cavendish
Hunter River RR#2 PE C0A 1M0

Heures d’ouverture

Site patrimonal Green Gables: Horaire complet

Site de la résidence de Lucy Maud Montgomery à Cavendish: Horaire complet (anglais seulement) 

Tarifs

Site Patrimonial Green Gables: Entrée gratuite.

Les autres frais s’appliquent pour le site de la résidence de Lucy Maud Montgomery à Cavendish.
Pour de plus amples renseignements (anglais seulement)

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 902-963-7874
Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Courriel : greengables.info@pc.gc.ca