The birthplace of Confederation and the seat of Prince Edward Island's provincial legislature since 1847, Province House National Historic Site is a Charlottetown landmark. Stroll the grounds to experience the magnificent neo-classical architecture of this majestic building and learn about its fascinating history through interpretive panels and the official Province House App.

While the building is closed for conservation work, please visit the Story of Confederation exhibit at Confederation Centre of the Arts located next door. Experience an impressive replica of Confederation Chamber and watch Parks Canada's award-winning film, A Building of Destiny, to learn more about the history of Province House and the Charlottetown Conference.

Parks Canada is committed to providing updates on the important conservation project at Province House National Historic Site. For more information about this project, visit our Conservation Project schedule page.

The temporary Legislative Assembly Chamber in the Honourable George Coles Building is now open for visits. Stop in for a guided tour in French or English from 9AM to noon or 1PM-4PM, Monday to Friday until September 1 2017. Please note: The Chamber will be closed on July 3 and August 18.

Participate in Parks Canada's Imagine a Country experience. Share your ideas and vision for your dream country at our interactive photobooth.

 

Getting here

165 Richmond Street
Charlottetown PE C1A 1J1

Hours of operation

Although the actual building is closed for conservation work,
please visit: The Story of Confederation.

 

Fees

Free admission

Contact us

Telephone: 902-566-7050
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888
Email: pnipe.peinp@pc.gc.ca

Sites nearby

  • Green Gables Heritage Place

    Be charmed by an encounter with Canada’s iconic redheaded sweetheart, Anne of Green Gables. Relive the fictional orphan’s youthful adventures at the Island farmstead that inspired author Lucy Maud Montgomery.

  • Prince Edward Island National Park

    Stroll the serene and grand grounds surrounding Ardgowan, the former Charlottetown home of William Henry Pope, one of Canada’s Fathers of Confederation who resided and entertained in this cottage-style house during the Charlottetown Conference of 1864.

  • Ardgowan National Historic Site

    Stroll the serene and grand grounds surrounding Ardgowan, the former Charlottetown home of William Henry Pope, one of Canada’s Fathers of Confederation who resided and entertained in this cottage-style house during the Charlottetown Conference of 1864.

  • Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site

    Established in 1720, Port-la-Joye was the entry point for European settlers coming to Île Saint-Jean to embark on a new life. There are centuries of history to discover in this historic location, declared a national historic site in 1967.

Province House est le berceau de la Confédération et le siège de l’Assemblée législative de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard depuis 1847. C’est sans contredit un lieu d’intérêt de Charlottetown. Promenez-vous à l’extérieur de ce majestueux bâtiment afin d’admirer son architecture néo-classique. Découvrez son histoire fascinante grâce à des panneaux d’interprétation et au moyen de l'application officielle de Province House.

Bien que le bâtiment soit fermé aux fins de conservation, on peut visiter le Centre des arts de la Confédération pour découvrir L'histoire de la Confédération. Vous pourrez notamment admirer une impressionnante réplique de la Salle de la Confédération et visionner une nouvelle vidéo fort intéressante intitulée « Un édifice, une destinée ».

Parcs Canada s'est engagé à fournir des mises à jour sur cet important projet de conservation au lieu historique national de Province House. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le projet de conservation de Province House, visitez notre page.

La Chambre de l'assemblée legislative temporaire située dans l'édifice George Coles est maintenant ouverte aux visiteurs. Des visites guidées sont disponibles en français ou en anglais de 9h à midi et de 13h à 16h, du lundi au vendredi jusqu'au 1er septembre 2017. Remarque: La Chambre sera fermée le 3 juillet et le 18 août.

Faites-nous part de vos idées et de votre vision pour construire le pays de vos rêves dans notre cabine photo interactive

Comment s’y rendre

165 rue Richmond
Charlottetown PE C1A 1J1

Heures d’ouverture

Le bâtiment est actuellement fermé en raison de travaux de conservation de patrimoine,
mais SVP visitez :L’histoire de la Confédération.

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 902-566-7050
Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Courriel : pnipe.peinp@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Site patrimonial Green Gables

    Succombez au charme du personnage emblématique du célèbre roman canadien Anne... la maison aux pignons verts. Revivez les aventures de la jeune orpheline aux cheveux roux en visitant la maison qui a inspiré l’auteure, Lucy Maud Montgomery.

  • Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

    Vous rêvez d’un séjour au bord de la mer pour pratiquer des activités de plein air ou simplement pour vous reposer ? Le parc national de l’île-du-Prince-Édouard vous comblera. Au programme : des plages bordées de falaises et de dunes, des sentiers de vélo longeant la mer et des zones humides abritant de nombreuses espèces sauvages.

  • Lieu historique national Ardgowan

    Promenez-vous dans les lieux sereins et majestueux entourant Ardgowan, l’ancienne résidence de Charlottetown de William Henry Pope, l’un des Pères de la Confédération qui a habité cette maison au caractère champêtre et reçu des invités dans le cadre de la Conférence de Charlottetown de 1864.

  • Lieu historique national de Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst

    Établie en 1720, Port-la-Joye était le point d’entrée pour les pionniers européens qui se rendaient sur l’île Saint-Jean afin de commencer une nouvelle vie. Découvrez cet endroit unique, désigné lieu historique national en 1967.