A Victorian Christmas at the Cartier’s

A christmas tree stocked with surprises!
A table top christmas tree stocked with surprises!

Looking for a touch of class this Holiday season? Discover how styles dating back to 1867 are still in vogue 150 years later! Be charmed by the elegant Victorian decor featuring miniature fir trees, handmade cards and of course, champagne.

It’s Christmas, 1867; the Confederation has just been formed, and festivities are in full swing at the Cartier home! All the latest trends in decoration, cooking and fashion are sought out to delight the guests. During your visit to the house, discover the history and unexpected origins of some of our still-current holiday traditions. If you’re looking to go out with friends or need a break from December’s hustle and bustle, come visit the Cartier house with its festive decorations. You can enjoy a hot drink by the fireplace, take a souvenir photo with charming period accessories, or make your own personalized holiday card


A group of kids visiting

Individual visits

December 2 to 24
Week-ends, from 10 am to 5:30 pm
December 26 to 31
Every day, from 10 am to 5:30 pm
Closed on December 25

Group visits

November 21 to December 22
Schedules as required and available

Reserve now

The program


Costumed woman wiht kids
Try on accessories of an other era!

Costumed presentation in the Victorian house

Guides in period costumes will describe how the bourgeoisie in Montreal prepared for Christmas in 1867: how they decorated their homes, what they ate, what activities they did during the holiday season, etc. What’s more, short videos will explain the origins of the tradition of gift-giving and the history of Santa Claus - before he became a mascot for Coca-Cola!

A “personal stylist” brings Victorian accessories, and invites visitors to immortalize their image in a Victorian-style photography studio. Play the part and share a traditional kiss under the mistletoe, or have your photo printed in black and white!


Well dressed Victorian table
A well dressed Victorian table!

Hot drinks by the fireplace: Wassail and Christmas tea

To escape the frenzy of December, take a break and enjoy a hot, old-fashioned drink next to the brazier. Discover wassail (a hot mulled English drink) and our new Victorian Christmas tea, specially created for the historic site by the Bon Thé Divine tea house, paired with a square of old-fashioned chocolate. Ambient music, fireplace, red chairs and blankets are waiting for you!


Young girl wearing a crinoline

Victorian clothing exhibition

On the ground floor, an exhibition space will be dedicated to the fashion trends of the time. Victorian-style clothing will be exhibited to highlight the richness and artistry of Montreal fashion between 1860 and 1870. Beautiful dresses and clothing that resembles Cartier’s and his family wardrobe will be displayed in this temporary exhibition, for the holiday season only!


Kissing beneath the mistletoe

Un homme embrasse une femme sous le gui

Mistletoe appears in many myths and legends. For some people, this plant with medicinal properties is both sacred and magic, and symbolizes love and forgiveness. According to popular belief, hanging mistletoe in the house during the holidays will give you luck for the ending and coming years.

Why not continue this lovely tradition dating back to 1867!


Imagine a country

Imagine a country exhibition, Christmas version

The Imagine a country exhibition will also have a Christmas makeover. Come discover this participative exhibition where visitors are invited to become actors of change in society, and to share their vision of an ideal country and their end-of-year wishes.

You will also have the opportunity to vote for the traditions you think should be part of the holiday season.


Adulte néo-canadien exhibe en souriant sa carte artisanale
Share the joy of creating a Christmas card

Workshop: Handmade Christmas cards

A Victorian-style Christmas card workshop will be offered so you can take a moment to think about those close to you. Create your very own Christmas card and write your end-of-year wishes. You can keep your card or, as a special gesture, dedicate it to a lonely elder this Christmas. They will receive it through the organization Little Brothers during Christmas Day Celebrations.

For over 55 years, Little Brothers has welcomed and provided support to lonely elders by creating a caring, committed extended family around them, dedicated to alleviating their isolation and staying by their side throughout their remaining years. www.littlebrothers.ca


Christmas cards
Do it at home!

At home, alone or with your family, you can make greeting cards and drop them to the National Historic Site when you visit us. They will also be given to the Little Brothers. To do so, download the file below and let your imagination run!
Christmas card (PDF, 825 KB)


Fees

Free entry

Noël victorien chez les Cartier

Un sapin garni de surprises!
Un sapin de table garni de surprises!

Envie d’être tendance à Noël? Découvrez combien les modes de 1867 le sont encore 150 ans après ! Dans un élégant décor Victorien, sapin de table, cartes de souhaits faites à la main, et l’incontournable champagne sauront vous inspirer!

La Confédération vient d’être créée et ce Noël 1867 se fête en grand chez les Cartier ! Les toutes dernières tendances en décoration, cuisine et mode sont mises de l’avant pour épater les invités! Au fil de votre visite dans la maison, découvrez l’histoire et l’origine insoupçonnée de certaines traditions encore d’actualité. Pour une sortie entre amis ou pour prendre le temps d’une pause dans le rythme incessant de décembre, venez visiter cette maison dans son décor des Fêtes, mais aussi déguster une boisson chaude auprès du feu, prendre une photo-souvenir paré d’accessoires chics de l’époque, ou encore confectionner à la main une carte de souhait qui sera remise à une personne seule.


Un groupe d'enfants en visite

Visites individuelles

2 au 24 décembre
Les fins de semaine de 10h à 17h30
26 au 31 décembre
Tous les jours de 10h à 17h30
Fermé le 25 décembre

Visites de groupes

21 novembre au 22 décembre
Plages horaires selon besoins et disponibilités

Réservez maintenant

Programmation


Femme costumée avec enfants
Essayez des accessoires d’une autre époque!

Animation costumée dans la maison victorienne

Des guides en costume d’époque racontent les préparatifs de Noël chez les bourgeois montréalais autour de 1867 : comment on décore, ce qu’on mange, ce qu’on fait pendant la période des Fêtes, etc. De plus, de courtes vidéos vous racontent d’où vient la tradition d’offir des cadeaux ou encore l’histoire du Père Noël avant celui de Coca-Cola

Un "styliste personnel" anime un studio photo avec des accessoires victoriens, et invite les visiteurs à immortaliser leur image inspirée de l’époque victorienne. Prêtez-vous au jeu pour le traditionnel baiser sous le gui ou imaginez vos scènes en noir et blanc!


Une table de Noël victorien bien garnie
Table victorienne bien garnie pour Noël

Breuvages chauds autour du feu : wassail et thé de Noël

Dans cette frénésie de décembre, prenez le temps d’une pause à la chaleur d’un brasero et d’un breuvage chaud d’époque ! Découvrez le wassail (breuvage anglais épicé et chaud) et le nouveau thé Noël Victorien créé tout spécialement pour le lieu historique par la maison de thé Bon Thé Divine, le tout accompagné de bouchées de chocolat d’époque. Musique d’ambiance, feu, chaises rouges et couvertures vous attendent!


Petite fille portant une crinoline

Exposition de vêtements victoriens

Un espace d’exposition au rez-de-chaussée sera dédié à l’univers de la mode de l’époque. Des vêtements de style victoriens seront exposés pour dévoiler aux visiteurs la richesse et la finesse vestimentaire des années 1860 – 1870. De belles robes et des vêtements, comme en portait Cartier lui-même et sa famille, seront visibles dans cette exposition temporaire pour le temps des Fêtes seulement!


Baiser sous le gui

Un homme embrasse une femme sous le gui

Plusieurs légendes et histoires sont associées au gui. Pour certains, cette plante magique et sacrée aux vertus médicinales est un symbole de l’amour et du pardon. Une croyance populaire mentionne que suspendre le gui dans la maison durant le temps des fêtes est un bon moyen de s’attirer de la chance en fin d’année et pour la prochaine.

Continuez cette belle tradition déjà à la mode en 1867 !


Rêver un pays

Exposition Rêver un pays, version Noël

L’exposition « Rêver un Pays » se met aussi aux couleurs de Noël. Venez découvrir cette exposition participative où les visiteurs sont invités à devenir des acteurs de changement dans la société, et à partager leur vision d’un pays de rêve ainsi que leurs souhaits de fin d’année.

Vous pourrez également y voter pour exprimer ce qui, selon vous, devrait faire partie de cette période du temps des fêtes.


Adulte néo-canadien exhibe en souriant sa carte artisanale
Partager le plaisir de créer une carte de souhait

Atelier de confection de cartes et de décorations de Noël

Un atelier de confection de cartes de à la main, inspirées de l’époque victorienne, vous offre l’occasion de prendre un moment pour penser à vos proches en créant votre carte de souhait et en y inscrivant vos vœux pour cette fin d’année. Vous pourrez l’emporter ou faire un geste en la dédicaçant à une personne âgée seule qui la recevra grâce à l'organisme Les Petits Frères lors du grand dîner de Noêl, le 25 décembre.

Depuis 55 ans, Les Petits Frères accueillent et accompagnent les personnes seules du grand âge, afin de contrer leur isolement, en créant autour d’elles une famille engagée et fidèle jusqu’à la fin de leur vie. www.petitsfreres.ca


Cartes de Noël
Faites-le à la maison !

Chez vous, seul ou en famille, vous pouvez faire des cartes de souhait et nous les remettre au lieu historique national lors de votre visite. Elles seront aussi remises aux Petits Frères. Pour cela, téléchargez le fichier ci-dessous et laisser parler votre imagination !
Carte de Noël (PDF, 825 Ko)


Tarification

Gratuit pour tous