Follow the fabled Chilkoot Trail along the centuries old path first crossed by Chilkoot Tlingit traders and later stormed by the Klondike Gold Rush stampeders. Hike through narrow windswept valleys and scale the precipitous Chilkoot Pass. Visit a Victorian-era church still standing in a vanished boom town. Straddle the historic boundary between British Columbia and Alaska on a route revealing the immense natural wealth of the North.

Featured things to do

Hike the legendary Chilkoot Trail

Snare lifelong bragging rights on a challenging multi-day hike from the ocean shore in Alaska through a glacier-sculpted mountain corridor to Bennett Lake, B.C. -- once a bustling gold rush boom town.

Skookum Jim House

Visit us at the Carcross Commons, a contemporary First Nations commercial village, and explore the history of the Klondike Gold Rush, Yukon sternwheelers, and the vibrant living culture of the Carcross Tagish people.

Bennett Camping Adventure

Answer “the call of the wild” riding the White Pass & Yukon Route railway into Bennett Lake campground for hiking and family fun steeped in the riveting history of the Klondike Gold Rush.

Sites nearby

  • S.S. Klondike National Historic Site

    Steam-powered sternwheelers were the Yukon’s link to the outside world for almost a century. The S.S. Klondike National Historic Site in Whitehorse honours these vessels, so vital to the settlement of the North.

  • Klondike National Historic Sites

    Step back into the days of the 1898 Klondike Gold Rush. Prowl a paddlewheeler. Explore goldfields. Magical Dawson City is a frontier town where history mingles with everyday life.

  • Kluane National Park

    With vast icefields and 17 of Canada’s 20 highest peaks, Kluane offers outstanding alpine scenery, rich First Nations culture and history, and a mix of extreme adventure and accessible outdoor recreation.  

  • Vuntut National Park

    Explore untouched northern landscapes and learn the story of the Vuntut Gwitchin people and their relationship to the land and animals of the northern Yukon. 

Current Conditions

Hours of operation

Phone reservations
January to August
Monday to Friday: 8:30 am to 4 pm (PST)

North America toll free:
1-800-661-0486 

Local and overseas:
1-867-667-3910 

Contact us

North America toll free:
1-800-661-0486

Local and overseas:
1-867-667-3910

whitehorse.info@pc.gc.ca

Suivez la formidable piste Chilkoot, ce chemin plusieurs fois centenaire. Il a d’abord été traversé pour la première fois par les commerçants Tlingit de Chilkoot. Plus tard, ce sont les prospecteurs de la ruée vers l’or qui l’ont pris d'assaut. Parcourez en randonnée les étroites vallées balayées par le vent et montez dans la montagne vers le col Chilkoot. Visitez une église de l’ère victorienne toujours intacte dans une ville abandonnée qui fût jadis prospère. Chevauchez la frontière historique entre la Colombie Britannique et l'Alaska sur une route qui vous révélera l’immense richesse naturelle du Nord.

En vedette

Conditions actuelles

Comment s’y rendre

Le lieu historique national de Chilkoot Trail se trouve dans le coin nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.

Planifiez votre visite

Heures d’ouverture

Service de information et réservations
Du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h (HNP)

Réservations

Trail Center
De la début mai au début septembre : tous les jours de 8 h à 17 h (HAA)

Nous joindre

205-300 rue Main
Whitehorse YT  Y1A 2B5 

l'Amérique du Nord (sans frais) :
1-800-661-0486

Appels locaux ou de l'étranger :
1-867-667-3910

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national S.S. Klondike

    Venez découvrir comment les bateaux à aubes ont permis, pendant près d’un siècle, de relier cette région au reste du monde. Le lieu historique national S.S. Klondike rend hommage à ces bateaux dont l’apport fut vital à la colonisation du Nord.

  • Lieux historiques nationaux du Klondike

    Pénétrez au cœur de l’époque de la ruée vers l’or du Klondike de 1898. La ville frontalière de Dawson vous surprendra, mêlant l’histoire à la vie de tous les jours. Explorez un bateau à aubes et parcourez les champs où l’on a jadis découvert de l’or.

  • Parc national et réserve de parc national Kluane

    Adonnez-vous à de nombreuses activités de plein air. D’immenses champs de glace et 17 des 20 plus hauts sommets du Canada vous offrent des paysages alpins à couper le souffle! Appréciez la richesse culturelle et historique de ses Premières Nations.  

  • Parc national Vuntut

    Explorez des paysages vierges, découvrez l’histoire du peuple des Gwitchin Vuntut et de leur relation avec la terre et les animaux dans le nord du Yukon.