For many years paddle wheelers plied the Yukon River, pushing cargo-laden barges carrying everything from gold dust to passengers, evening gowns to dynamite. Burning wood to create steam, these riverboats used thousands of cords of wood that were stacked at riverside wood camps. They were the lifeline to the outside world, until improved roadways retired them in the 1950s. The S.S. Keno is a riverboat typical of that era.

Located on the Dawson City waterfront, the S.S. Keno National Historic Site is open to the public from mid-May until mid-September.


Welcome aboard!

photo © CTC / Fritz Mueller
Welcome aboard

Stride up the gangplank of the S.S. Keno and into an era when the Yukon’s rivers were its highways and sternwheelers were the main means of travel and trade, practically the only contact with the outside world. A costumed interpreter will introduce you to the famous steam ship Keno and take you back to a world without roads.

At your own pace

people in the frieght deck
Exhibit on the freight deck

Re-live paddlewheeler days at an interpretive exhibit on the freight deck,  then settle into the CBC’s documentary Last voyage of the Keno that chronicles the last-ever riverboat trip down the Yukon River to Dawson City in 1960 before she became a National Historic Site.

 

George Hunter photo exhibit

people viewing photo exhibitPhoto exhibit on the upper deck

Head to the Keno's upper deck to view Canadian photographer, George Hunter’s, exhibit Dawson City in the 1950s. George Hunter (1921–2013) is renowned for having three of his images on the Canadian five, ten, and fifty dollar bills. One of the first photographers to be accepted into the Royal Canadian Academy of the Arts he was awarded a lifetime achievement award in 2001 by The Canadian Association of Photographers and Illustrators.

Pendant des années, des bateaux à aubes ont navigué sur le fleuve Yukon tirant des barges chargées de passagers et de marchandises allant de la poussière d’or aux robes de soirée sans oublier la dynamite. Sur ces bateaux, on brûlait du bois pour créer de la vapeur. À cette fin, des milliers de cordes de bois étaient stockées dans des camps riverains d’exploitation forestière. Les bateaux à aubes étaient le seul moyen d’accéder au monde extérieur avant que l’on ne cesse de les utiliser, dans les années 1950, en raison des améliorations routières. Le S.S. Keno est un bateau à aubes typique de cette époque.

Le S.S. Keno se trouve sur les berges du fleuve Yukon dans la ville de Dawson. Il est ouvert de la mi-mai à la mi-septembre.


Bienvenue d'abord

© CTC / Fritz Mueller
Bienvenue d'abord

Grimpez sur la passerelle et montez à bord du S.S. Keno. Vous voilà propulsé à l’époque où le fleuve Yukon et ses affluents jouaient le rôle d’autoroutes sur lesquelles circulaient les bateaux à aubes. Ils étaient le principal mode de transport et de commerce et représentaient presque le seul contact avec le monde extérieur.

 

À votre propre rythme

L'exposition sur le pont des marchandises

Revivez l’époque des bateaux à aubes : Installez-vous devant le documentaire de CBC intitulé Last voyage of the Keno (Le dernier voyage du Keno), qui retrace le tout dernier voyage d’un bateau à roue sur le fleuve Yukon jusqu’à la ville de Dawson, avant que le Keno n’obtienne en 1960 la désignation de lieu historique national.

 

L’exposition d’un photographe du George Hunter

L’exposition photographique sur le pont supérieur

Rendez-vous sur le pont supérieur pour voir l’exposition d’un célèbre photographe canadien, George Hunter, montrant la vie à Dawson dans les années 1950. George Hunter (1921 au 2013) est un photographe canadien célèbre; trois de ses photos se retrouvent sur les billets canadiens de cinq, de dix et de cinquante dollars. Il ramène à la vie une autre époque de Dawson.