This compendium of case studies is a companion to the Principles and guidelines for ecological restoration in Canada’s protected natural areas. The case studies are from a variety of parks and other protected natural areas across Canada and illustrate a broad range of restoration challenges and solutions. They demonstrate approaches to ecological restoration that are:

  • Effective in restoring and maintaining ecological integrity
  • Efficient in using practical and economic methods to achieve functional success
  • Engaging through implementing inclusive processes and by recognizing and embracing interrelationships between culture and nature

These case studies focus on restoration of natural heritage, including native biodiversity and ecosystem functions. At the same time, they recognize the long-standing inextricable interrelationship between humans and the environment, and the need to incorporate considerations for protection of cultural heritage. For example, at Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site in British Columbia, restoration of Garry oak ecosystems opened up historical viewscapes and enhanced presentation of the site’s cultural heritage resources.

In addition, the case studies demonstrate that restoration can help connect Canadians with their special places by enhancing their understanding and appreciation of both natural and cultural heritage. Visitors and the public are given the opportunity to experience restoration first-hand by getting involved, and traditional cultural relationships with the land are restored.

For example, in Grasslands National Park in Saskatchewan, traditional Aboriginal activities were an important element of the bison reintroduction ceremony, which was witnessed by many visitors. Opportunities for traditional spiritual and ceremonial activities in the park have helped build relationships with Aboriginal people and re-integrate nature and culture.

Case studies

Grasslands ecosystem restoration
Grasslands National Park, Saskatchewan
Aquatic ecosystem restoration
La Mauricie National Park, Quebec
Restoration of Pink Lake
Gatineau Park, Quebec
Restoration of salmon to Lyall Creek
Gulf Islands National Park Reserve, British Columbia
Garry oak ecosystems restoration
Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site, British Columbia
Kennedy Flats watershed restoration
Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, British Columbia
Restoration of ecological linkages
Long Point World Biosphere Reserve, Ontario

Le présent compendium d’études de cas complète les Principes et lignes directrices pour la restauration écologique dans les aires naturelles protégées du Canada. Les cas proviennent de divers parcs et d’autres aires naturelles protégées du Canada et illustrent un large éventail de problèmes et de solutions en restauration. Ils décrivent le processus de restauration écologique qui repose sur les principes suivants, à savoir que la restauration doit être :

  • Efficace, pour restaurer et maintenir l’intégrité écologique;
  • Efficiente, par l’emploi de méthodes pratiques et économiques permettant la réussite fonctionnelle;
  • Engageante, par la mise en œuvre de processus inclusifs et par la reconnaissance et la valorisation de l’interrelation entre culture et nature.

Les études de cas sont axées sur la restauration du patrimoine naturel, entre autres de la biodiversité indigène et des fonctions des écosystèmes. En même temps, elles reconnaissent les interrelations inextricables de longue date des humains et de l’environnement, et la nécessité de tenir compte de la protection du patrimoine culturel. Au lieu historique national Fort Rodd Hill en Colombie Britannique, par exemple, la restauration des écosystèmes à chênes de Garry a dégagé des vues historiques et amélioré la présentation des ressources du patrimoine culturel du lieu.

Les études de cas montrent en outre que la restauration peut aider les Canadiens à tisser des liens avec ces endroits particuliers en leur faisant mieux comprendre et apprécier le patrimoine tant naturel que culturel. Les visiteurs et le public ont l’occasion de voir de près la restauration en y participant, et les liens culturels traditionnels avec la terre sont alors restaurés.

Par exemple, dans le parc national des Prairies, en Saskatchewan, les activités autochtones traditionnelles ont été un aspect important de la cérémonie de réintroduction du bison, dont ont été témoins de nombreux visiteurs. Les possibilités d’activités spirituelles et cérémonielles traditionnelles dans le parc ont contribué à bâtir les relations avec les peuples autochtones et à intégrer de nouveau nature et culture.

Les études de cas

Restauration de l’écosystème des Prairies
Parc national des prairies, Saskatchewan
Restauration d’écosystèmes aquatiques
Parc national de la Mauricie, Québec
Restauration du lac Pink
Parc de la Gatineau, Québec
Restauration du saumon dans le ruisseau Lyall
Réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf, Colombie-Britannique
Restauration des écosystèmes à chênes de Garry
Lieu historique national Fort Rodd Hill, Colombie-Britannique
Restauration du bassin versant Kennedy Flats
Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim, Colombie-Britannique
Restauration des liens écologiques
Réserve de la biosphère mondiale de Long Point, Ontario