Ecosystem monitoring measures changes in ecosystems over time. In Parks Canada we manage ecosystems to maintain and restore ecological integrity (EI). Thus the specific objective of the Parks Canada monitoring program is to measure changes in the ecological integrity of park ecosystems.

Why monitor?

Parks Canada's central management mandate is to enhance and restore ecological integrity while fostering public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment. EI Monitoring provides park managers with critical information on changes in ecological integrity with regard to that mandate. Parks Canada is presently in the process of assessing our present monitoring program, and adjusting these programs to provide more comprehensive reporting of changes in park ecological integrity.

A well-designed EI monitoring program can provide useful information:

  • Assess the effectiveness of our management actions;
  • Increase our understanding of ecosystem change;
  • Find areas where further research is needed, and;
  • Serve as an 'ecological baseline' to which non-protected landscapes can be compared.
Wetland in Riding Mountain National Park of Canada
Temperate rainforest in Pacific Rim National Park Reserve of Canada
Mixed Grass Prairie, with the Badlands in the distance, Grasslands National Park of Canada
Arctic tundra at Oliver Sound, Sirmilik National Park of Canada

History of Parks Canada monitoring

Over the years, Parks Canada has been a leader in ecosystem monitoring in the protected area community. Ecosystem management has occurred within parks since the 1930s, and the term ecological integrity was introduced to park policy as early as 1979. National parks across the system have been monitoring different aspects of park biology for many years, in response to a wide variety of management concerns. The important role of EI monitoring in national parks was brought into clear focus through the Parks Canada's response (coming soon) to the Report of the Panel on the Ecological Integrity of Canada's National Parks. What is new at this time is that managing for the integrity of park ecosystems has been legislated as the primary management focus, and parks are now required to report comprehensively on the whole park ecosystem.

The EI monitoring framework

The EI monitoring framework was developed by Parks Canada to provide a conservation science context for comprehensive EI monitoring and reporting in national parks. The EI monitoring framework divides park ecological integrity into two components - plant and animal diversity, and ecosystem processes. The framework also identifies categories that describe the principal stressors that affect park ecosystems.

Assessing ecological integrity: suite of indicators

Biodiversity
(characteristic of region)
Species richness
  • change in species richness
  • numbers and extent of exotics
Population dynamics
  • mortality/natility rates of indicator species
  • Imigration/ emigration of indicator species
  • population viability of indicator species
Trophic structure
  • size class distribution of all taxa
  • predation levels
Ecosystem functions
(resilient, evolutionary potential)
Succession/ retrogression
  • disturbance frequencies and size (fire. insects, flooding)
  • vegetation age class distributions
Productivity
  • remote or by site
Decomposition
  • by site
Nutrient retention
  • Ca, N by site
Stressors
(unimpaired system)
Human land-use patterns
  • land use maps, roads densities, population densities
Habitat fragmentation
  • patch size, inter-patch distance, forest interior*
Pollutants
  • sewage, petrochemicals, etc.
  • long-range transport of toxics
Climate
  • weather data
  • frequency of extreme events
Other
  • park specific issues

Changing the way we monitor park EI

A major task for each park will be to adjust their present EI monitoring programs to ensure that revised monitoring programs can report on specific management activities, and on the whole park ecosystem, as dictated by management objectives and outlined by the EI monitoring framework. This process is underway through a national survey summarizing all monitoring presently occurring in national parks. A pilot survey in Atlantic parks indicated that considerable monitoring is occurring, but is focussed primarily on monitoring animal populations.

A major challenge for each park will be to develop core- monitoring indicators that are relevant for a park, but can be summarized regionally and nationally. The monitoring and reporting of the ecological integrity at park-level and national levels can be visualized as a monitoring pyramid.

The Parks Canada ecological integrity monitoring pyramid
 

Another major challenge of the program will be to develop new approaches to synthesizing and presenting complex ecological information into a format useful for park management, and for communicating to Canadians on the condition of national parks.

La surveillance de l'écosystème mesure les modifications de l'écosystème au fil du temps. À Parcs Canada, nous gérons les écosystèmes afin de maintenir ou de rétablir l'intégrité écologique (IE). Par conséquent, l'objectif du programme de surveillance de Parcs Canada est de mesurer les modifications de l'intégrité écologique.

Pourquoi surveiller?

Le mandat principal de Parcs Canada est d'améliorer et de rétablir l'intégrité écologique tout en amenant le public à mieux comprendre, mieux apprécier et mieux profiter des parcs nationaux. La surveillance de l'IE fournit aux gestionnaires de l'information cruciale sur les modifications de l'intégrité écologique dans le cadre de ce mandat. Parcs Canada travaille actuellement à évaluer notre programme de surveillance et à rajuster ces programmes afin qu'ils rendent compte de façon plus globale des modifications de l'intégrité écologique.

Un programme de surveillance de l'IE bien conçu peut fournir de l'information utile :

  • pour évaluer l'efficacité de nos mesures de gestion;
  • pour mieux comprendre les modifications de l'écosystème;
  • pour déterminer les secteurs où il faut pousser la recherche plus loin;
  • pour bâtir une « base de référence écologique » à laquelle les paysages non protégés peuvent être comparés.
Marécage du parc national du Canada du Mont-Riding
La forêt pluviale tempérée de la réserve de parc national du Canada Pacific Rim
Prairie mixte enherber, avec les bad-lands en arrière-plan, parc national du Canada des Prairies
Toundra arctique du baie Oliver, parc national du Canada Sirmilik

Historique de la surveillance de Parcs Canada

Au cours des ans, Parcs Canada a été un chef de file en matière de surveillance des aires protégées. La gestion de l'écosystème s'exerce dans les parcs depuis les années 1930 et l'expression intégrité écologique a été intégrée dans la politique sur les parcs dès 1979. Les parcs nationaux du réseau surveillent depuis bien des années différents aspects de la biologie des parcs, en fonction d'une vaste gamme de préoccupations de gestion. La réponse (bientôt disponible) de Parcs Canada au Rapport de la Commission sur l'intégrité écologique des parcs nationaux du Canada a clairement souligné le rôle important joué par la surveillance de l'IE dans les parcs nationaux. Ce qui est nouveau maintenant, c'est que gérer en fonction de l'intégrité des écosystèmes des parcs a été défini dans la loi comme étant une priorité de gestion et que les parcs doivent dorénavant rendre compte intégralement de la santé de l'ensemble de leur écosystème.

Le cadre de surveillance de l'IE

Parcs Canada a élaboré le cadre de surveillance de l'IE afin de définir un contexte de science de la conservation pour assurer la surveillance et la reddition de compte globales dans les parcs nationaux. Le cadre de surveillance de l'IE divise l' intégrité écologique du parc en deux volets - diversité végétale et animale et processus de l'écosystème. Le cadre précise également les catégories qui décrivent les principaux facteurs de stress qui affectent les écosystèmes des parcs.

Évaluation de l'intégrité écologique - Suite d'indicateurs

Biodiversité
(typique de la région)
Diversité des espèces
  • changement de la diversité des espèces
  • nombre et étendue des espèces exotiques
Dynamique de la population
  • taux de mortalité et de natalité des indicateurs
  • immigration et migration des indicateurs
  • durabilité de la population des indicateurs
Structure trophique
  • répartition de la classe de taille de tous les taxa
  • niveaux de prédation
Fonctions des écosystèmes
(potentiel de résilience, évolutif)
Succession et rétrogression
  • fréquence et ampleur des perturbations (incendie. insectes, inondations)
  • répartition des classes d'âge de la végétation
Productivité
  • éloignée ou par site
Décomposition
  • par site
Rétention des nutrients
  • Ca, N par site
Facteur de stress
(système non perturbé)
Profils d'utilisation des terres par les humains
  • cartes d'utilisation des terres, densités routières, densité des populations
Fragmentation de l'habitat
  • taille des parcelles, distance entre parcelles, intérieur des forêts
Polluants
  • eaux usées, produits pétrochimiques, etc.
  • transport de matières toxiques sur de longues distances
Climat
  • données météorologiques
  • fréquence des phénomènes extrêmes
Autres
  • problèmes propres au parc

Changer notre façon de surveiller l'IE des parcs

L'une des tâches importantes de chaque parc sera d'ajuster ses programmes de surveillance de l'IE pour s'assurer que ces programmes révisés permettent de rendre compte d'activités de gestion précises et de l'ensemble de l'écosystème du parc, comme l'exigent les objectifs de gestion et comme le précise le cadre de surveillance de l'IE. Ce processus est en cours et prend la forme d'un sondage national visant à résumer toute la surveillance qui s'effectue actuellement dans les parcs nationaux. Un sondage pilote réalisé dans les parcs de l'Atlantique a montré qu'il se fait beaucoup de surveillance, mais que celle-ci vise surtout les populations animales.

Chaque parc devra relever un défi de taille, soit d'élaborer des indicateurs clés de la surveillance qui soient pertinents dans son cas, mais qui puissent être résumés à l'échelle régionale et nationale. La surveillance et la reddition de compte en matière d'intégrité écologique dans les parcs et à l'échelle nationale peuvent être illustrées par une pyramide de la surveillance.

La pyramide de surveillance de l'intégrité écologique de Parcs Canada
 

Un autre défi important se pose pour le programme, soit d'établir de nouvelles méthodes afin de synthétiser des données écologiques complexes et de les présenter sous une forme utile pour la gestion des parcs et pour la diffusion au public canadien d'information sur l'état des parcs nationaux.