Used by generations of First Nations as a route east from the Columbia River Valley through the rugged Rocky Mountains, Howse Pass now sees fewer travelers. It served the First Nations as a route through the mountains to bison, and was a short-lived gateway for European traders to the interior of British Columbia from trading posts in the foothills of Alberta. Blocked by tribes east of the pass, the traders, lead by explorer and fur trader David Thompson, found a more northerly route.

Getting here

Banff National Park
PO Box 900
Banff AB T1L 1K2

Map

Hours of operation

Always open. Note: The site may be inaccessible due to snow in the winter.

Map

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply. Detailed fees list

Contact us

Banff National Park
Visitor Centres

Sites nearby

  • Two people sight seeing in Banff
    Banff National Park

    Founded in 1885, Banff is Canada’s first national park and part of the first national park system in the world. With its soaring peaks, azure lakes and abundant wildlife, this Rocky Mountain park attracts millions of visitors every year.

  • Jasper National Park

    Jasper astonishes visitors with its vast wilderness, dotted with glaciers, lakes, waterfalls, rivers, mountains and deep-cut canyons. Hike, paddle, swim, ski, fish, and take in soothing hot springs, scenic drives and extraordinary wildlife.

Le col Howse relie le versant est des montagnes abruptes des Rocheuses à la vallée du Columbia. Il a été utilisé par des générations d’Autochtones. Aujourd’hui, moins de voyageurs le traversent. Les Premières Nations empruntaient cette voie de passage à travers les montagnes pour accéder aux hardes de bisons. Les commerçants européens l’ont également suivi pendant une courte période pour atteindre l’intérieur des terres de la Colombie-Britannique, depuis leurs postes de traite situés dans les contreforts de l’Alberta. Lorsque le col a été bloqué par des tribus à l’est, les commerçants, dirigés par l’explorateur et commerçant de fourrures David Thompson, ont trouvé un itinéraire plus au nord.

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Parc national Banff

    Créé en 1885, Banff est le premier parc national du Canada et fait partie du premier réseau officiel de parcs nationaux au monde. Avec ses pics imposants, ses lacs bleu-azur et sa faune abondante, ce parc des Rocheuses attire des millions de visiteurs chaque année.

  • Parc national Jasper

    Émerveillez-vous devant cet océan de nature sauvage parsemé de glaciers, de lacs, de chutes, de rivières, de montagnes et de canyons abrupts et profonds. Adonnez-vous à la randonnée, au canot, à la baignade, au ski et à la pêche et profitez des sources thermales apaisantes, des routes panoramiques et de la faune extraordinaire.

Heures d’ouverture

Ouvert à l’année. Nota : Le lieu historique pourrait être inaccessible en hiver en raison d’accumulation de neige.

Carte

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les autres frais s'appliquent. Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Parc national Banff
Centres d'accueil