Whether you are here for a family adventure or a relaxing getaway, there is no better way to experience Banff’s pristine mountain landscape than to get out there in the snow. Lace up your boots, wax up your skis, strap on a pair of snowshoes or hop on a fat bike and enjoy one of many winter trails.

In 2018, we are celebrating families with free admission to all Parks Canada’s places for youth 17 and under. In celebration of diversity, Parks Canada will also continue to offer free admission for new Canadians through the Institute for Canadian Citizenship’s Cultural Access Pass Program. Learn more and purchase your Parks Canada Discovery Pass here, download the new Parks Canada mobile app, and follow us on social media (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube) to start planning your next Parks Canada experience.

Plan ahead

Banff National Park is a winter wonderland full of great activities for the whole family! If you're planning a trip, it's important to plan ahead and ensure you are prepared for the winter conditions and potential hazards that could impact your visit.

Take advantage of trip planning tools like BanffNOW to help plan your Banff National Park experience with ease! Get the information you need to enjoy your winter national park adventure.

Ask for advice at a Parks Canada Visitor Centre for help with trip planning. Visitor Centres offer maps, brochures, permits, backcountry reservations, up-to-date park information, weather, trail, avalanche and road reports, interpretive exhibits and events. Banff Lake Louise Tourism has an office in the Banff Visitor Centre and in the Lake Louise Visitor Centre. 

Trip planning references

Winter Safety
Winter hazards include avalanches, disorientation, thin ice, hypothermia and frostbite.

Safety is your responsibility. There are always hazards associated with outdoor recreational activities. Even short trips from the Town of Banff can have serious consequences.

Avalanche season is here: Know before you go, don`t take risk! Be aware that thousands of avalanches occur throughout Banff National Park every year. Visitors wishing to venture beyond the limits of the trails described in this guide should assume that they are travelling in avalanche terrain and should be prepared with the appropriate knowledge, skills and equipment. For more information on the avalanche hazard, visit parksmountainsafety.ca or a Parks Canada Visitor Centre. Look for the Avalanche Terrain Ratings brochure and the current Avalanche Forecast.

Banff Legacy Trail: A winter warning of the Banff Legacy Trail is in effect. Use of the trail is not recommended as it is not maintained in the winter. Hazards may include snow plow debris, closed gates, icy sections and deep snow.

Ice Safety: Ice thickness of at least 6" is recommended for safety; the thicker the ice, the better. It`s up to YOU to assess the thickness of the ice. Please visit this page for more information on ice safety.

Safety references

Wildlife

Although bears hibernate during winter, they can awaken at any time for short periods. Cougars, wolves and other wildlife remain active throughout the year. If you see wildlife, do not approach; give them lots of space and observe from a distance with binoculars or a telephoto lens. If tracks are observed, do not follow them towards the animal.

Be alert, make noise and carry bear spray.

While dangerous interactions with humans are rare, please visit parkscanada.gc.ca/banff-wildlife to learn more about keeping yourself safe.


In case of EMERGENCY, call 911 or 403-762-1470 Banff Dispatch. Cell phones are not always reliable throughout the national park. For recent information on trail conditions, warnings and closures, visit:

Winter activities in Banff National Park

Visiting Banff National Park is an amazing experience at any time of year. While some shiver and scoff at the idea of winter, visitors to Banff National Park know that this is the time of year you don’t want to miss! If there’s snow on the ground, there outdoor fun to be had. Regardless of your activity of choice, the winter adventure opportunities in Banff National Park are endless.

Que vous soyez à la recherche d’une aventure en famille ou d’une escapade relaxante, le meilleur moyen de découvrir ce magnique parc de montagne en hiver consiste à sortir au grand air. Chaussez vos bottes, fartez vos skis, enlez une paire de raquettes ou enfourchez un vélo d’hiver pour proter de nos nombreuses possibilités d’excursions hivernales.

L’année 2017 marque le 150e anniversaire du Canada, ce qui veut dire que nous allons célébrer toute l’année! Comme l’entrée dans les parcs est gratuite cette année, nous serons ravis de vous accueillir avec votre famille aussi souvent que vous le pourrez.

En 2018, nous célébrons les familles en offrant l’entrée gratuite dans tous les parcs et lieux de Parcs Canada pour les jeunes de 17 ans et moins. Pour célébrer la diversité, l’organisation continuera également d’offrir un accès gratuit aux néo Canadiens par l’intermédiaire du programme de Laissez-passer culturel de l’Institut de la citoyenneté canadienne. Pour en apprendre davantage et commencer à planifier votre prochaine expérience avec Parcs Canada, achetez votre carte d’entrée Découverte ici, téléchargez la nouvelle application mobile de Parcs Canada et suivez nous sur les médias sociaux (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube).

Planifiez votre excursion

Le parc national Banff, dans son cadre féérique, offre une multitude d’activités hivernales qui sauront plaire à toute la famille! Si vous envisagez de faire une visite dans le parc, il est important de bien planifier et de vous préparer en fonction des conditions hivernales et des risques qui pourraient avoir des conséquences sur votre séjour.

Tirez parti des outils de planification de voyage, comme BanffActuel, pour vous aider à planifier votre expérience au parc national Banff! Trouvez l’information dont vous avez besoin pour bien profiter de votre aventure hivernale dans un parc national.

Demandez conseil au personnel d’un centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada pour planier vos excursions. Les centres d'accueil offrent de nombreux services, cartes, dépliants, laissez-passer, réservations pour l'arrière-pays, information à jour sur le parc, bulletins sur la météo, l'état des routes et des sentiers et les risques d'avalanche, panneaux et activités d'interprétation. Tourisme de Banff et Lake Louise se trouve dans le centre d'accueil de Banff et au centre d'accueil de Lake Louise.

Veuillez garder à l'esprit

La sécurité en hiver
Pendant les mois d’hiver, les dangers sont variés : avalanches, désorientation, glace mince, hypothermie et engelures.

Vous êtes responsable de votre sécurité. Les activités récréatives en plein air comportent toujours des risques. Même de courtes excursions à partir de la ville de Banff peuvent avoir de graves conséquences.

La saison d'avalance est arrivée : Ne prenez pas de risque et informez-vous! Sachez que le parc national Banff est balayé chaque année par des milliers d’avalanche. Les visiteurs qui s’aventurent au-delà des limites des sentiers décrits dans le présent guide doivent présumer qu’ils se trouvent en terrain avalancheux. Il leur faut donc posséder des connaissances, des compétences et de l’équipement appropriés. Pour en savoir davantage sur les risques d’avalanche, visitez le site parcssecuritemontagne.ca ou rendez-vous à un centre d’accueil de Parcs Canada.

Piste cyclable de l’Héritage du parc national Banff : Un avertissement de conditions hivernales est en vigueur pour le sentier de l’Héritage du parc national Banff. Il n’est pas recommandé d’emprunter ce sentier car la chaussée n’est pas entretenue en hiver. Les usagers s’exposent à divers risques: débris laissés par les chasse-neiges, barrières fermées, tronçons glacés et neige épaisse.

Sécurité sur la glace : La glace doit avoir au moins 15 cm d’épaisseur pour que l’on puisse y patiner sans danger; plus la glace est épaisse, mieux c’est. Il en revient à vous d’évaluer l’épaisseur de la glace. Plus d`information ici: Sécurité sur la glace (en anglais).

La sécurité en hiver

 Faune

Même si les ours hibernent pendant les mois d’hiver, ils peuvent se réveiller en tout temps pour de courtes périodes. Les carnivores tells que le couguar et le loup restent actifs tout au long de l’année. Si vous apercevez une bête sauvage, résistez à la tentation de vous en approcher. Donnez beaucoup d’espace aux animaux et observez-les de loin avec des jumelles ou un téléobjectif. Si vous voyez des pistes, évitez de les suivre en direction de l’animal.

Restez sur le qui-vive, faites du bruit et transportez du gaz poivré. Les affrontements dangereux avec les humains sont rares.

Consultez le site www.parcscanada.gc.ca/faune-banff pour en apprendre davantage sur les mesures à prendre afin de rester en sécurité.


En cas d’URGENCE, faites le 911 ou appelez le Service de répartition du parc Banff au 403-762-1470. Les téléphones cellulaires ne sont pas toujours fiables dans le parc.

Splendeurs de l'hiver

Visiter le parc national Banff est une expérience extraordinaire à tout moment de l’année. Tandis que certains frissonnent en pensant à l’hiver et le méprisent, les visiteurs du parc national Banff savent que c’est la période de l’année qu’ils ne veulent pas manquer! S’il y a de la neige au sol, les joies du plein air seront au rendez-vous. Quelle que soit l’activité de votre choix, les possibilités d’aventures hivernales sont infinies au parc national Banff.

Raquette
Ski de fond
La promenade des Glaciers
Sources thermales