Parks Canada’s Infrastructure Program

What to know before you visit

Over the next five years, Parks Canada will invest $3 billion to rehabilitate infrastructure assets within national historic sites, national parks, and national marine conservation areas across Canada.

This historic investment supports conservation while promoting visitor experience and making our infrastructure safer and more appealing to visitors.

When visiting or driving through Elk Island National Park, you may encounter one or more construction zones or reduced services while we complete this important work. Please plan ahead before you travel to avoid inconvenience. Consult the following list of current infrastructure projects in Elk Island National Park to see if any road or facility work might impact your trip.

Infrastructure Projects in Elk Island National Park

For a list of infrastructure projects that may impact visitors, see below.

Infrastructure Project - Minor visitor impact
Infrastructure Project - Closure
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Map Data
Map data ©2017 Google
 
 
Map data ©2017 Google
 
 
 
 
Map
Satellite

Astotin Lake Visitor Facility Rehabilitation

Periodic construction and rehabilitation work will improve visitor experience within the Astotin Lake Recreation Area. Work includes upgrading facilities in the main visitor day use area, campground, roads, pathways and trails. The project is slated for completion in fall 2020. Disruption to visitors will be minimal, however visitors should check the important bulletins web page or contact the Visitor Centre for additional information on what areas within the Astotin lake Recreation Area may be affected.

During the work period, single-lane alternating traffic detours or temporary road and trail closures may be encountered. Road workers, heavy equipment and flag persons may also be present in the work area. Visitors are asked to drive with care and obey all traffic sings in and around the affected work areas.

For more information contact the Elk Island National Park Visitor Centre.

Check the Elk Island National Park Important Bulletins for updates.

Welcome Area Rehabilitation

This project will rehabilitate facilities within Elk Island National Park’s Welcome Area, including visitor reception, washroom facilities and parking areas, so they meet the needs of visitors and can accommodate larger recreational vehicles and parking areas.

Rehabilitation work is expected to commence during winter 2017, with project completion slated for spring 2019. Disruption to visitors will be minimal as work progresses.
During the work period access to the Welcome Area and temporary washroom facilities will be available.

For more information contact the Elk Island National Park Visitor Centre.

Check the Elk Island National Park Important Bulletins for updates.

Access Roads Rehabilitation

Access roads to areas within Elk Island National Park will be rehabilitated so they can be travelled safely by visitors and staff. Areas included are the Tawayik day use area, Bison Loop and Lookout, Bison Handling Facility, administration and operations building and Wood Bison day use area.

The Visitor Centre parking lot will be under construction during fall 2016 to spring 2017. Roadwork along Admin Access Road (from West Gate Entrance to Parkway Road) is expected to commence during winter 2017. All roadwork is expected to be completed by spring 2020.

During the work period, single-lane alternating traffic detours or temporary road closures may be encountered. Road workers, heavy equipment and flag persons may also be present in the work area. Visitors are asked to drive with care and obey all traffic sings in and around the affected work areas.

For more information contact the Elk Island National Park Visitor Centre.

Check the Elk Island National Park Important Bulletins for updates.

*Please note: This is not an exhaustive list of infrastructure projects underway in Elk Island National Park. Only projects that may impact visitors are listed.


Map data ©2017 Google

Programme d’infrastructure de Parcs Canada

Ce qu’il faut savoir avant votre visite

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, Parcs Canada investira 3 milliards de dollars pour remettre en état les infrastructures des lieux historiques nationaux, des parcs nationaux et des aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada.

Cet investissement historique appuie la conservation tout en favorisant une expérience mémorable pour les visiteurs et en accroissant la sécurité et l’attrait de notre infrastructure.

Au cours de votre passage dans le parc national Elk Island, vous pourriez devoir traverser un ou plusieurs chantiers de construction ou zones de services réduits pendant la réalisation de ces travaux importants. Veuillez planifier à l’avance pour éviter des désagréments. Consultez la liste suivante de projets d’infrastructure en cours dans le parc national de Elk Island pour vérifier si des travaux d’amélioration des routes ou des installations pourraient avoir une incidence sur votre voyage.

Projets d’infrastructure au parc national Elk Island

Pour obtenir une liste des projets d’infrastructure qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les visiteurs, consultez le lien ci-dessous.

Projet d'infrastructure - peu d'impact pour le visiteur
Projet d'infrastructure - fermeture

Remise en état des installations destinées aux visiteurs au lac Astotin

Des travaux périodiques de construction et de réfection amélioreront l’expérience du visiteur dans l’aire récréative du lac Astotin, notamment grâce à la modernisation de l’aire de fréquentation diurne principale, des terrains de camping, des routes, des sentiers et des pistes. Le projet devrait prendre fin à l'automne 2020. Les perturbations causées aux visiteurs seront minimales, mais les visiteurs devraient consulter la page Web des bulletins importants ou communiquer avec le centre d’accueil pour obtenir des renseignements additionnels sur les secteurs qui pourraient être touchés dans l’aire récréative du lac Astotin.

Durant les travaux, la circulation pourrait être limitée à une seule voie dans des directions alternantes ou être déviée, et les routes et sentiers pourraient être fermés temporairement. Des travailleurs routiers, de la machinerie lourde et des signaleurs pourraient aussi se trouver sur les lieux. Les visiteurs sont priés de rouler prudemment et de respecter la signalisation routière à l’intérieur et aux environs du chantier.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez communiquer avec le centre d'accueil du parc national Elk Island.

Veuillez consulter la page Bulletins importants du parc national Elk Island pour obtenir des informations à jour.

Remise en état de l’aire d’accueil

Ce projet consiste en la remise en état des installations à l’intérieur de l’aire d’accueil du parc national Elk Island, notamment le centre d’accueil, les installations sanitaires et les aires de stationnement, afin de répondre aux besoins des visiteurs et de pouvoir accueillir des véhicules récréatifs plus gros.

Les travaux de remise en état devraient commencer durant l’hiver 2017 et se terminer au printemps 2019. Les perturbations causées aux visiteurs seront minimales durant les travaux.

L’aire d’accueil et des installations sanitaires temporaires seront accessibles durant les travaux.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez communiquer avec le centre d'accueil du parc national Elk Island.

Veuillez consulter la page Bulletins importants du parc national Elk Island pour obtenir des informations à jour.

Réfection des routes d’accès

Les routes d’accès à certains secteurs du parc national Elk Island seront remises en état afin d’être sécuritaires pour les visiteurs et le personnel. Les secteurs touchés sont l’aire de fréquentation diurne Tawayik, la boucle et le belvédère de l’enclos des bisons, l’installation de rassemblement des bisons, le bâtiment de l’administration et des opérations, et l’aire de fréquentation diurne du bison des bois.

Le stationnement du centre d’accueil sera en construction de l’automne 2016 au printemps 2017. Les travaux routiers le long de la route d’accès à l’administration (à partir du poste d’entrée ouest jusqu’à la route de la promenade) devraient commencer durant l’hiver 2017. Tous ces travaux routiers devraient être terminés d'ici le printemps 2020.

Durant les travaux, la circulation pourrait être limitée à une seule voie dans des directions alternantes ou être déviée, et la route pourrait être fermée temporairement. Des travailleurs routiers, de la machinerie lourde et des signaleurs pourraient aussi se trouver sur les lieux. Les visiteurs sont priés de rouler prudemment et de respecter la signalisation routière à l’intérieur et aux environs du chantier.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez communiquer avec le centre d'accueil du Parc national Elk Island.

Veuillez consulter la page Bulletins importants du parc national Elk Island pour obtenir des informations à jour.

*Prière de noter que la liste de projets d’infrastructure en cours dans le parc national Elk Island n’est pas exhaustive. Seuls les projets qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les visiteurs y figurent.