Discover the world’s largest Dark Sky Preserve

Northern Lights

The sky gets plenty dark in the North through fall, winter and spring until, that is, the Milky Way spills across the sky like a starry river. If you’re lucky, the Northern Lights will light up the night sky.

The Royal Astronomical Society of Canada designated Wood Buffalo National Park the world’s largest Dark Sky Reserve in 2013. This designation preserves habitat for almost a dozen owl species, bats and other nocturnal animals. Restricted artificial light also benefits us as constellations come to life and the Milky Way spills across the horizon. Flare activity on the sun can spread the reds and greens of the Aurora Borealis (or Northern Lights) across the night sky. Late August and September offer longer - but still warm! - nights for Aurora viewing. The cold, often crystal clear nights of December, January and February also offer amazing viewing opportunities. Campers enjoy a vast night sky filled with constellations. Wolves, owls and loons are often heard as visitors gaze at this astronomical portrait far from the urban glare.

The Dark Sky Festival is scheduled every August. Front country camping (self-registration) is available from May-September. Year-round backcountry permits are available. Observation sites remain open year-round.

For more information: Dark Sky Festival

Découvrez la plus grande réserve de ciel étoilé au monde

aurores boréales

Au Nord, la nuit tombe à l'automne et demeure très présente durant tout l'hiver et au printemps, avant de laisser place à la Voie lactée qui illumine le ciel telle une rivière d'étoiles. Aurez-vous la chance d'apercevoir une aurore boréale éclairer le ciel nocturne?

La Société royale d’astronomie du Canada a désigné le parc national Wood Buffalo comme étant une réserve de ciel étoilé en 2013. Ce ciel nocturne préserve l'habitat d'une douzaine d'espèces de hiboux, de chauves-souris et d'autres animaux de nuit. Grâce aux restrictions en matière d’éclairage artificiel, admirez la Voie lactée et les constellations comme nulle part ailleurs. Les nuits de fin août à septembre, longues et encore chaudes, sont idéales pour observer les aurores boréales causées par des éruptions solaires. Observez de magnifiques aurores boréales durant les nuits claires et glaciales de décembre, janvier et février. Le vaste ciel étoilé ravit les campeurs. Laissez-vous envoûter par ce ciel infini tout en écoutant le hurlement des loups, le hululement des hiboux et le cri des huards.

Le Festival sous les étoiles se tient tous les mois d'août. Il est possible de camper dans l'avant-pays (auto-inscription) de mai à septembre. Les campings de l'arrière-pays sont ouverts à l'année. Les sites d'observation restent ouverts à l'année.

Pour de plus amples renseignements : Festival sous les étoiles