Updates on Wood Buffalo National Park World Heritage Site

Overview of Parks Canada’s Responses to the World Heritage Committee

delta

In December of 2014, the Mikisew Cree First Nation submitted a petition to the UNESCO World Heritage Committee requesting inclusion of Wood Buffalo National Park World Heritage Site (WBNP) on the List of World Heritage in Danger. The petition cited a number of concerns related to impacts of current and planned hydroelectric dams, oil sands development, and climate change on the ecology and hydrology of the Peace-Athabasca Delta that could negatively impact the site’s world heritage values (technically called its Outstanding Universal Value (OUV)).

After considering the petition, the World Heritage Committee issued a decision in July of 2015 requesting that Canada host a Reactive Monitoring Mission and undertake a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) to assess the potential cumulative impacts of all developments (hydroelectric dams, oil sands, and mining) on the site’s world heritage values. The pace, scale and complexity of development in the region, and its potential impact on the park, and the Peace-Athabasca Delta (the PAD) in particular, were noted with concern by the Committee.

From 25 September to 4 October 2016, Parks Canada, as the federal agency responsible for implementation of the World Heritage Convention in Canada and manager of Wood Buffalo National Park, hosted a joint Reactive Monitoring Mission (RMM) of the World Heritage Centre and the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN). To better understand and discuss the impacts of upstream developments on the park’s world heritage values, mission delegates met with representatives from Indigenous communities associated with WBNP, officials from federal, territorial, and provincial governments, scientists, industry representatives, and non-government organizations. The mission report, including 17 recommendations, was released on March 10, 2017.  The RMM Report is available from the World Heritage Centre.

State of Conservation Report

Parks Canada’s most recent State of Conservation Report was submitted on 31 March, 2017. The next one is due 1 December, 2018. The State of Conservation Report is available from the World Heritage Centre. 

Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA)

In late 2016 Parks Canada awarded a contract to a consortium of external contractors to prepare the Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) requested by the World Heritage Committee. The SEA was completed in May 2018. More information is available here.

41st Session of the World Heritage Committee - Kraków, Poland, 2-12 July 2017

The World Heritage Committee meets once a year, and consists of representatives from 21 of the State Parties to the Convention elected by their General Assembly. The Committee is responsible for the implementation of the World Heritage Convention, defines the use of the World Heritage Fund and allocates financial assistance upon requests from State Parties. The Committee has the final say on whether a property is added to the World Heritage List.

At the 41st session of the World Heritage Committee in Kraków, Poland, 2-12 July 2017, the World Heritage Committee adopted a decision on the State of Conservation of Wood Buffalo National Park World Heritage Site. The July 2017 decision includes requests related to the development of an Action Plan that will reflect the findings of the SEA, coordinate with other planning processes, and involve affected Indigenous groups and stakeholders.

More information on development of the Action Plan is available here.

Nouvelles concernant le site du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo

Aperçu de la mission de suivi réactif menée par le Centre du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et l’Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN) au site du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo

delta

En décembre 2014, la Première Nation crie Mikisew a soumis une pétition au Comité du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO pour demander l’inscription du parc national Wood Buffalo sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial en péril. Le texte de la pétition faisait état de certaines préoccupations relatives à l’incidence des barrages hydroélectriques actuels et prévus, de l’exploitation des sables bitumineux et des changements climatiques sur l’écologie et l’hydrologie du delta des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca qui pourraient avoir des répercussions négatives sur les valeurs du patrimoine mondial de l’endroit (techniquement appelées valeur universelle exceptionnelle – VUE).

En juillet 2015, après avoir examiné la pétition, le Comité du patrimoine mondial a rendu sa décision selon laquelle le Canada se devait d’organiser une mission de suivi réactif et de réaliser une évaluation environnementale stratégique pour évaluer les effets potentiels cumulés de tous les aménagements (barrages hydroélectriques, exploitation des sables bitumineux et exploitation minière) sur les valeurs du patrimoine mondial de l’endroit.

Du 25 septembre au 4 octobre 2016, Parcs Canada, à titre d’organisme fédéral responsable de la mise en œuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial au Canada et de gestionnaire du parc national Wood Buffalo, a organisé une mission de suivi réactif conjointe avec le Centre du patrimoine mondial et l’Union mondiale pour la nature. Afin de mieux comprendre les répercussions des aménagements susmentionnés sur la VUE du parc national et d’en discuter, des spécialistes de mission ont rencontré des représentants des collectivités autochtones ayant un intérêt dans le parc national Wood Buffalo, des fonctionnaires des administrations fédérale, territoriale et provinciale, des scientifiques, des représentants de l’industrie et des organisations non gouvernementales. Le rapport de mission, comprenant 17 recommandations, a été publié le 10 mars 2016.
Le rapport de mission

Rapport sur l’état de conservation
Le dernier rapport sur l’état de conservation de Parcs Canada a été présenté le 31 mars 2017. Le prochain est prévu pour le 1er décembre 2018.
Rapport sur l’état de conservation

Evaluation environnementale stratégique (EES)
Fin 2016, Parcs Canada a accordé un marché à un consortium d’entrepreneurs externes pour qu’il prépare l’évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) demandée par le Comité du patrimoine mondial. L’EES est en cours de réalisation, notamment la consultation des groupes autochtones et des intervenants concernés. Vous obtiendrez davantage d’information ici.

41e session du Comité du patrimoine mondial – Cracovie (Pologne), du 2 au 12 juillet 2017

Le Comité du patrimoine mondial se réunit une fois par an. Il est constitué de représentants de 21 États parties à la Convention qui sont élus à l’occasion de leur assemblée générale. Le comité est chargé de la mise en œuvre de la Convention du patrimoine mondial; il définit l’utilisation du Fonds du patrimoine mondial et offre de l’aide financière aux États parties qui en font la demande. Le comité décide de ce qui peut être ajouté à la liste du patrimoine mondial.

Lors de sa 41e session, à Cracovie (Pologne), du 2 au 12 juillet 2017, le Comité du patrimoine mondial a adopté une décision concernant l’état de conservation du site du patrimoine mondial du parc national Wood Buffalo. La décision de juillet 2017 comprend des demandes liées à la préparation d’un plan d’action qui reflètera les conclusions de l’EES, permettra la coordination avec d’autres processus de planification, et fera participer les groupes autochtones et les intervenants concernés.

On fera le point sur les réponses aux recommandations du rapport de mission le 1er février 2018. De plus, un rapport sur l’état de conservation et sur la mise en œuvre du plan d’action sera publié le 1er décembre 2018.