Paving project completes resurfacing of Highway 5

Chief Roy Fabian of the Katlodeechee First Nation says a prayer to open the Highway 5
Chief Roy Fabian of the Katlodeechee First Nation says a prayer to open the Highway 5 celebration ceremony on October 13 in Wood Buffalo National Park.

 
Wood Buffalo National Park is pleased to announce that construction on Highway 5 has ended and the route through Canada’s largest national park is now fully paved.

Opened in 1966 as a gravel road, the Highway passes through the northern part of Wood Buffalo National Park and connects the community of Fort Smith to the NWT Highway System. The highway was paved over the past number of years from both the north and the south end but a 64-kilometre portion in the park remained unpaved. This past summer Parks Canada funded a $27 million construction project to complete the chip sealing.

Michael McLeod, Member of Parliament for the Western Arctic, joined Parks Canada staff, Indigenous leaders, and community leaders at a ceremony in the park on October 13, 2017, to formally reopen NWT Highway 5 as a fully paved road.

“As we celebrate the 150th anniversary of Confederation, the Government of Canada is proud to invest in improvements to this important highway corridor that traverses Wood Buffalo National Park,” said Mr. McLeod.

“Through infrastructure investments in trails and highways, Parks Canada is encouraging Canadians to connect with nature, while supporting local economies, contributing to growth in the tourism sector, and strengthening the appeal of national parks as destinations to celebrate our nation. Parks Canada is proud to work with nearby communities, such as Hay River and Fort Smith, and local Indigenous peoples to help grow local tourism and create jobs. I encourage Canadians to take advantage of the improved access to Wood Buffalo National Park and experience the park’s natural and cultural treasures.”

Local dignitaries joined Park staff to celebrate the reopening of NWT Highway 5
Local dignitaries joined Park staff to celebrate the reopening of NWT Highway 5 as a fully paved road. As part of the celebration, the dignitaries helped park staff remove the "pavement ends" sign from the highway. Left to right: Fort Smith Deputy Mayor Kevin Smith, Salt River First Nation Chief Frieda Martselos, Western Arctic MP Michael McLeod, Hay River Mayor Brad Mapes, Katlodeechee First Nation Chief Roy Fabian and Wood Buffalo National Park Superintendent Cam Zimmer.

 

Mr. McLeod was joined at the ceremony by Chief Roy Fabian of the Katlodeechee First Nation and Chief Frieda Martselos of the Salt River First Nation. The highway passes through the traditional territory of both First Nations. He was also joined by the Mayor of Hay River, NT and the Deputy Mayor of Fort Smith, NT, the two communities connected by the highway. The dignitaries joined together to ceremonially remove the “pavement ends” sign from the highway.

Le projet d’asphaltage de la route 5 est terminé

Le chef Roy Fabian de la Première Nation de Katlodeechee dit une prière lors de la cérémonie de   réouverture de la route 5
Le chef Roy Fabian de la Première Nation de Katlodeechee dit une prière lors de la cérémonie de réouverture de la route 5 le 13 octobre au parc national Wood Buffalo.

 
Le parc national Wood Buffalo est heureux d’annoncer que les travaux effectués sur la route 5 sont maintenant terminés, et que la route qui traverse le plus grand parc national du Canada est désormais entièrement asphaltée.

Aménagée en 1966 sous la forme d’une route de gravier, la route 5 traverse la partie nord du parc national Wood Buffalo et relie la communauté de Fort Smith au réseau routier des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. La route a été asphaltée au cours des dernières années à la fois en direction nord et en direction sud, mais un tronçon de 64 kilomètres situé dans le parc ne l’était toujours pas. Cet été, Parcs Canada a financé un projet de construction de 27 millions de dollars visant à terminer le revêtement superficiel.

Michael McLeod, le député de l’Ouest de l’Arctique, s’est joint aux employés de Parcs Canada ainsi qu’aux dirigeants autochtones et communautaires lors d’une cérémonie qui a eu lieu au parc le 13 octobre 2017 pour souligner la réouverture officielle de la route 5 des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, maintenant entièrement asphaltée.

« À l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération, le gouvernement du Canada est fier d’investir dans l’amélioration de cet important couloir routier qui traverse le parc national Wood Buffalo », a déclaré M. McLeod.

« Grâce à des investissements dans des infrastructures comme les sentiers et les routes, Parcs Canada encourage les Canadiens à se rapprocher de la nature tout en soutenant les économies locales, en contribuant à la croissance du secteur du tourisme, et en augmentant l’attrait des parcs nationaux en tant que destinations où l’on célèbre notre nation. Parcs Canada est fier de collaborer avec les collectivités locales, comme Hay River et Fort Smith, et avec les peuples autochtones de la région pour contribuer à la croissance du tourisme et à la création d’emplois. J’encourage les Canadiens à profiter de cet accès amélioré au parc national Wood Buffalo pour venir découvrir les trésors naturels et culturels qu’il recèle. »

Des dignitaires locaux se joignent aux employés du parc pour célébrer la réouverture de la route 5
Des dignitaires locaux se joignent aux employés du parc pour célébrer la réouverture de la route 5 des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, maintenant entièrement asphaltée. Lors des célébrations, les dignitaires ont aidé les employés du parc à retirer de la route le panneau « Fin de la chaussée asphaltée ». De gauche à droite : le maire adjoint de Fort Smith, Kevin Smith; la chef de la Première Nation de Salt River, Frieda Martselos; le député de l’Ouest de l’Arctique, Michael McLeod; le maire de Hay River, Brad Mapes; le chef de la Première Nation de Katlodeechee, Roy Fabian; et le directeur du parc national Wood Buffalo, Cam Zimmer.

 

Lors de la cérémonie, les chefs Roy Fabian de la Première Nation de Katlodeechee et Frieda Martselos de la Première Nation de Salt River se sont joints à M. McLeod. La route traverse le territoire traditionnel de ces deux Premières Nations. Étaient aussi présents le maire de Hay River (T. du N.-O.) et le maire adjoint de Fort Smith (T. N.-O.), les deux communautés reliées par la route. Les dignitaires se sont réunis pour retirer officiellement de la route le panneau « Fin de la chaussée asphaltée ».