We rarely head out for an outdoor adventure with the expectation that something will go wrong, and most times everything will go right. However, sometimes the unexpected happens and when it does, it's important that you are well informed and well prepared to minimize the negative impact of unfortunate circumstances.

For general information on how to stay safe and a list of the 10 essential items you should bring when enjoying the outdoors visit adventuresmart.ca.

For general information on how to stay safe while enjoying Auyuittuq National Park, please explore the topics below:

Safety is everyone's responsibility. At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part as visitors by making sure you seek out the information you need to stay safe and make well-informed decisions while enjoying these special places. Visit our websites and stop at a visitor center to speak with our employees for the most up to date information. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable, and memorable visit.

Park radio system

Two-way radios are located in Emergency Shelters. Radio reception is variable and can be impossible at times due to weather and atmospheric conditions. These radios may also be used to confirm pickup arrangements with outfitters in Pangnirtung or Qikiqtarjuaq.

Park radios are monitored : 09h00 to 17h00 Year round Monday to Friday

They may be monitored at other times during the summer as well. This will be covered during your orientation.

Satellite phones

As a safety precaution, we recommend visitors carry a satellite phone. Keep in mind that local topography and weather conditions can limit reception. Some satellite phones may be available for rent in Nunavut, but you would be best advised to rent one at home to bring on your trip. A satellite phone is the best way to make contact with rescuers in case of emergency. We recommend satellite phones above all other communications methods.

Single side-band radios and programmable radios

These radios are used by Parks Canada staff. They are also the most common form of communication used by local people out on the land. However, they can be unreliable and you may not be able to reach anybody.

SPOT devices

SPOT devices can be used to allow family and friends to track your progress on your trip as well as to initiate a distress signal. This signal is non-reversible and is to be used in a life-threatening situation only. Visitors should be aware that the SPOT satellite network has poor coverage at high latitudes and that signals can be obstructed in valleys such as Akshayuk pass. They are NOT considered a reliable method of communication.

Make sure that you have advised your family and friends who may be tracking your “okay” messages that the absence of a message does not necessarily mean you are having problems. It most likely means you are temporarily not transmitting. During your registration we will collect information about your unit in the event that there is a need to check the activity from it.

Personal Locator Beacons (PLB)

Personal locater beacons are being carried more often into remote areas. Be sure to register your PLB with RCMP in Pangnirtung or Qikiqtarjuaq before your trip. When activated, they send a distress signal to the Canadian Forces Base in Trenton, Ontario who will initiate a rescue from there. Once activated, the signal is non-reversible. PLBs should be used in life-threatening situations only.

Please note that even when a PLB has been activated, it could still take from eight hours to several days for help to arrive. Be prepared to handle emergencies with the skills and equipment your party has brought.

Contact the park office in Pangnirtung (ph. 867-473-2500) for more information on communications systems.

Nous entreprenons rarement une aventure de plein air en pensant que les chose vont mal tourner et la plupart du temps, tout se passe bien. Cependant, il arrive que des situations inattendues se produisent et les cas échéant, il est important d'être bien informé et bien prepare pour minimiser les impacts negatives lies à des circonstances malheureuses.

Pour obtenir de l'information générale sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité en pratiquant des activités à l'extérieur, consultez le site adventuresmart.ca

Pour obtenir de l'information importante sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité en visitant le parc national Auyuittuq, veuillez parcourir les sujets ci-dessous :

La sécurité est l'affaire de tous. À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d'efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous Assurant d'obtenir l'information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des decisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Visitez nos sites Web et arrêtez-vous à un centre d'accueil pour parler à nos employés et pour obtenir l'information la plus récente. Pour vous assurer d'une visite sécuritaire, favorable, et memorable, vous devez être bien prepare avant d'entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.

Système radio du parc

Les refuges d'urgence sont tous munis d'appareils radio bidirectionnels. La qualité de la réception varie beaucoup, et la communication est parfois impossible à établir en raison des conditions météorologiques ou atmosphériques. Vous pouvez également utiliser ces radios pour confirmer les dispositions que vous avez prises avec des pourvoyeurs de Pangnirtung ou de Qikiqtarjuaq.

Voici les heures d'écoute des radios du parc :

De 9 h à 17 h à longueur d'année du lundi au vendredi

Il se peut que les heures d'écoute soient prolongées pendant l'été. Il en sera question pendant votre séance d'orientation.

Téléphones satellites

Par mesure de sécurité, nous recommandons aux visiteurs de se munir d'un téléphone satellite. Toutefois, n'oubliez pas que la topographie locale et les conditions météorologiques peuvent nuire à la réception. Il est possible de louer un téléphone satellite au Nunavut, mais vous auriez avantage à en louer un de chez vous et à l'emporter en voyage. Le téléphone satellite est le meilleur moyen d'entrer en contact avec des sauveteurs en cas d'urgence. Nous le recommandons par-dessus tout autre outil de communication.

Radios à bande latérale unique et radios programmables

Parcs Canada se sert de radios à bande latérale unique et de radios programmables, et c'est également ce que les habitants de la région utilisent le plus couramment. Cependant, ces outils de communication ne sont pas toujours fiables, et il se peut que vous n'arriviez à joindre personne.

SPOT

SPOT peut être utilisée pour permettre votre famille et vos amis de suivre votre progression sur votre voyage ainsi que lancer un signal de détresse. Ce signal n’est pas réversible et n’est pas à utiliser que dans une situation d’urgence. Les visiteurs devraient être conscients que le réseau de satellites SPOT a une faible couverture aux hautes latitudes et que les signaux peuvent être obstrués dans les vallées comme le col Akshayuk. Même si les satellites SPOT fonctionnent dans le col Akshayuk, ils ne sont pas un moyen de communication fiable.

Assurezvous d’avertir vos amis et les membres de votre famille qui suivent vos messages « O.K. » que l’absence d’un message n’indique pas nécessairement que vous éprouvez des problèmes. Cela signifie probablement que votre appareil a temporairement cessé la transmission. Au cours de votre inscription, nous recueillerons les renseignements propres à votre appareil au cas où il y aurait lieu d’en vérifier l’activité.

Radiobalises individuelles de repérage

Les radiobalises individuelles de repérage (RIR) sont d'usage assez courant dans les secteurs éloignés. N'oubliez pas d'enregistrer votre RIR à la GRC de Pangnirtung ou de Qikiqtarjuaq avant votre départ. Lorsqu'elle est activée, la radiobalise émet un signal de détresse à la base militaire canadienne de Trenton, en Ontario, qui entreprendra une opération de sauvetage à partir de cet endroit. Une fois activé, le signal est irréversible : il faut donc se servir de la RIR uniquement dans des situations de vie ou de mort.

Même après que vous avez activé votre RIR, les secours pourraient mettre entre huit heures et plusieurs jours à arriver. Encore une fois, le meilleur moyen de faire face à une urgence consiste à mettre à profit les connaissances et l'équipement de votre groupe.

Communiquez avec nous pour en savoir plus sur les systèmes de communications. Composant le 867-473 2500.