Prince Edward Island National Park protects a portion of the Maritime Plain Natural Region, which is characterized by sand dunes, barrier islands and beaches, sandspits, and associated wetlands. The diverse habitats in the Park provide a home for a variety of plants and animals. The woods and shores of the Park are filled with over 300 species of birds and a large variety of plants.

Climate change and coastal erosion, PEI National Park

Transcript

Parks Canada logo animation

[Catherine McKenna and Brad Romaniuk on the beach next to sand dunes in PEI National Park]

[Catherine McKenna] So I’m here with Brad Romaniuk, he’s a resource conservation manager at PEI National Park. So we’re in a really amazing spot, tell me what we’re looking at.

[Brad Romaniuk] So Catherine we’re looking at our coastal ecosystem of the national park. That dune structure that basically lines the ocean for the duration of park and it’s an important ecosystem in the fact that it’s very narrow and it’s very dynamic, constantly changing.

The waves and wind actually change this environment constantly.

[Catherine McKenna] So what are we doing to protect and maintain the dunes?

[Brad Romaniuk] So from the ecological integrity perspective, we monitor all of the ecosystems in our national parks across Canada, and this ecosystem itself we monitor erosion rates. The national park is based on a sandstone formation and so it constantly changes.

[Catherine McKenna] So what about climate change? Are you worried about the impacts of climate change? More storms, coastal erosion… [Brad Romaniuk] Yes, I think climate change for us is something we really want to work with our partners with and understand better. As it relates to this specific environment, there’s probably three processes that take place that we would like to learn more about and try to understand. One of them would be the frequency of storms and the severity. Some of these sand dunes are quite fragile if they’re compromised, so they can move and change rapidly. Secondly is the formation of an ice foot, there’s an ice foot that forms on this line every fall. As climate change changes, that ice foot is forming later and that’s a protective barrier to these dunes in the winter time from ice that comes off the ocean and it’s protected from scouring and changing this landscape in a very rapid fashion. The third one is actually just a long sort of understanding of how people use the environment and the interest of getting on the dunes and learning about them and how that changes people’s understanding.

[Catherine McKenna] Well it’s really amazing because I know Canadians love our national parks and my big thing is how do we get Canadians to learn more about our national parks and how each park is unique and represents a different ecosystem, how they can connect with the parks and then of course how they can protect them. So it’s great, thank you for all the work you’re doing.

[Brad Romaniuk] Thank you!

Parks Canada signature

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by Parks Canada, 2017.

Canada wordmark

The roots and rhizomes of marram grass form a living net, which helps hold the dune in place. Research on the effect of trampling on vegetation is a major priority for the Park.

Wild rose is one of the first shrubs to take root in more sheltered areas in the dunes. The shiny coating on its leaves protects it from the harsh environment.

Red foxes make their dens in the sand dunes. While it may be tempting to try to get close, please don't feed or approach them as it could cause them harm in the future if they get used to humans.

Sand Dunes and Beaches

The sandbars, barrier beaches, and dunes that you see throughout the Park today were formed by the accumulation of sand from eroding sandstone. Sand dunes are created by the wind and waves that carry dry sand up onto the beach where it collects behind rocks or clumps of seaweed. The gradual build-up of sand that forms a dune would be blown away if it were not for the sand-loving marram grass, whose roots and rhizomes form a living net, which helps to slow the movement of sand. Once stabilized, a variety of other plants and many different animals can make the dunes their home.

Sand dunes are an important natural habitat and act as a natural protective barrier against the effects of storms and waves. Research on dunes and all its associated features – vegetation, wildlife, and wetlands - helps us to understand and protect them better.

Sand Dune Protection

Even the more stable dunes are fragile and easily damaged. Walking on dunes eliminates the protective plant cover. Studies have shown that it can take as few as 10 footsteps through the same area to destroy a marram grass colony. Once the grass is gone, the wind blows away the exposed sand and carves small depressions into giant holes called blowouts. Blowouts turn stable dunes into constantly shifting hills, unable to support vegetation or wildlife.

Stable dunes provide shelter and food to wildlife and protect us from heavy storms
Stable dunes provide shelter and food to wildlife and protect us from heavy storms.
We have counted about 150 unauthorized paths along the coastline of the park. Such scars destroy the fragile dune habitat and can take years to heal.
We have counted about 150 unauthorized paths along the coastline of the park. Such scars destroy the fragile dune habitat and can take years to heal.
© Parks Canada / Barrett et MacKay

We need the cooperation of all visitors to preserve the dunes

Please use the boardwalks and carpeted foot paths at designated beach access points and stay off the dunes to prevent further damage. By avoiding unauthorized paths, the marram grass will be able to regenerate, thus allowing damaged dunes to rehabilitate. Together, we can ensure that the fragile beauty of the dunelands will endure for future generations.

Le parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard protège une portion de la région naturelle de la Plaine Maritime qui regroupe des dunes, des cordons d'îles et des plages, des flèches littorales et des terres humides. Ces divers habitats abritent une foule de plantes et d'animaux. On compte en effet plus de 300 espèces d'oiseaux et une incroyable diversité de plantes dans les boisés et sur la côte du parc.

Le changement climatique et l’érosion côtière, Parc national de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Transcription

Animation du logo de Parcs Canada

[Catherine McKenna et Brad Romaniuk sur la plage près des dunes de sable au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard]

[Catherine McKenna] Je suis ici avec Brad Romaniuk il est gestionnaire en conservation des ressources au parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Nous sommes dans un endroit vraiment incroyable, qu’est-ce que nous regardons en ce moment?

[Brad Romaniuk] Catherine, nous observons présentement l’écosystème côtier du parc national. Cette structure de dunes qui longe l’océan sur pratiquement toute la longueur du parc. C’est un écosystème important car il est étroit, mais très dynamique, toujours en évolution.

Les vagues et le vent transforment cet environnement constamment.

[Catherine McKenna] Que faisons-nous pour protéger et maintenir les dunes?

[Brad Romaniuk] Du point de vue de l’intégrité écologique, nous surveillons tous les écosystèmes des parcs nationaux partout au Canada. Dans le cas de cet écosystème, nous surveillons la vitesse de l’érosion. Le parc national repose sur une formation de grès, alors il est constamment en évolution.

[Catherine McKenna] Et qu’en est-il du changement climatique? Êtes-vous inquiet des répercussions du changement climatique? Plus de tempêtes, l’érosion côtière… [Brad Romaniuk] Oui, je crois que le changement climatique est quelque chose sur lequel nous voulons travailler avec nos partenaires et mieux comprendre. En ce qui concerne cet environnement spécifique, il y a probablement trois processus qui prennent place et que nous aimerions mieux comprendre. L’un d’entre eux est la fréquence et l’intensité des tempêtes. Certaines de ces dunes sont très fragiles si elles sont endommagées, donc elles peuvent bouger et changer rapidement. Le deuxième est la formation d’un pied de glace. Un pied de glace se forme sur cette ligne tous les automnes. Avec le changement climatique, ce pied de glace se forme plus tard. En hiver, Il agit comme protection pour les dunes contre les glaces qui arrivent de l’océan, elles sont donc protégées d’un affouillement Le troisième est en fait la compréhension à long terme de la façon dont les gens utilisent l’environnement de leur intérêt à visiter les dunes, à apprendre à leur sujet et de comment ces éléments changent leur point de vue.

[Catherine McKenna] C’est vraiment incroyable car je sais que les Canadiens et Canadiennes aiment nos parcs nationaux et je suis intéressée à savoir comment amener la population canadienne à en apprendre davantage de nos parcs nationaux, sur la façon dont chaque parc est unique et représente un écosystème différent, comment ils peuvent créer des liens avec les parcs et finalement, comment ils peuvent les protéger. C’est super, merci pour tout le travail que vous accomplissez.

[Brad Romaniuk] Merci!

Signature de Parcs Canada

© Sa Majesté la Reine du Chef du Canada représentée par Parcs Canada, 2017.

Mot-symbole « Canada »

Les racines et les rhizoemes de l'ammophile forment un filet organique qui stabilise la dune. Les effets du piétinement sur la végétation est une des recherches prioritaires du parc.

Le rosier sauvage est l'un des premiers arbustes à prendre racine dans les endroits les plus abrités des dunes. La surface luisante de ses feuilles le protège des rigueurs de l'environnement.

Le renard roux installe son terrier dans le sable des dunes. Même si c'est tentant, ne vous approchez pas des renards et ne les nourrissez pas pour éviter qu'ils s'habituent à la présence humaine et en souffrent à l'avenir.

Dunes et plages

Les barres de sable, les cordons littoraux et les dunes qu'on retrouve aujourd'hui dans le parc résultent de l'accumulation du grès érodé. Le vent et les vagues soulèvent les grains de sable, qui s'entassent derrière des rochers ou des touffes d'algues et, tôt ou tard, forment des dunes. Cependant, le sable n'aurait aucune chance de résister aux éléments sans les plantes ammophiles, dont les racines et les rhizomes forment un filet organique qui ralentit le mouvement du sable. Une fois la dune stabilisée, d'autres plantes et un grand nombre d'animaux peuvent y vivre.

Les dunes constituent un important habitat et dressent un obstacle naturel contre les tempêtes et les vagues. La recherche sur les dunes et leurs caractéristiques connexes - végétation, animaux et terres humides - nous permet de mieux comprendre ce phénomène naturel et d'en assurer plus efficacement la protection.

Protection des dunes

Même les dunes les plus stables sont fragiles, la couveture végétale peut être facilement endommagée par le piétinement. Des études révèlent qu'il suffit d'à peine dix passages pour éliminer les plantes d'ammophile. Une fois que le sable est exposé, le vent le soulève et transforme de petites cavités en trous immenses appelés creux de déflation. La dune devient alors instable et se déplace constamment, incapable de retenir la végétation et donc de subvenir aux besoins des animaux.


Les dunes stables procurent abri et nourriture aux plantes et animaux sauvages et nous protègent des assauts des tempêtes.
Les dunes stables procurent abri et nourriture aux plantes et animaux sauvages et nous protègent des assauts des tempêtes.
Nous avons dénombré environ 150 sentiers sauvages sur le littoral du parc. Ces passages non autorisés détruisent l'habitat des dunes et laissent des cicatrices qui mettent des années à guérir.
Nous avons dénombré environ 150 sentiers sauvages sur le littoral du parc. Ces passages non autorisés détruisent l'habitat des dunes et laissent des cicatrices qui mettent des années à guérir.
© Parcs Canada / Barrett et MacKay

Faites votre part pour préserver les dunes

Utilisez les tapis et les trottoirs de bois, et non pas les sentiers non-autorisés, pour vous rendre à la plage. Restez à l'écart des dunes afin de ne pas les endommager davantage. L'ammophile pourra ainsi se régénérer et consolider les dunes. Ensemble, nous pouvons protéger la beauté fragile des réseaux dunaires au profit des générations à venir.