For serious wilderness adventurers, Vuntut National Park offers the rarest of opportunities: the chance to explore a 4,345-square-kilometre arctic landscape without a single service, facility, designated landing area, or developed trail. Vuntut Gwitchin people continue to travel and live in traditional ways on this land, but few visitors, sometimes none, tread each year.

In the summer months, when the sun shines 24 hours a day, the park’s sweeping tundra valleys blaze with wildflowers like yellow cinquefoil and pink Alaskan phlox. Thousands of caribou follow ancient trails through the park; up to a half-million waterfowl migrate north and south.

Your visit to Vuntut is also an immersion in the cultural landscape that embodies the spirit of Vuntut National Park. Walk in the footsteps of generations of Vuntut Gwitchin people. Travel a land where millennia-old campsites were used during hunts long ago, and ancient stories are passed on to new generations today. You may even cross paths with local Gwitchin who continue to live their traditional lifestyles, travelling, hunting and camping in the park.

Plan your trip

Careful preparation is required (planning your own expedition, in fact, is half the adventure), but independent explorers are richly rewarded.

Visitor safety
Visitor guidelines

Le parc national Vuntut offre aux adeptes sérieux d’aventures en milieu sauvage la plus rare des occasions : explorer un paysage arctique d’une superficie de 4345 km2 qui ne compte ni services, ni installations, ni aires d’atterrissage désignées, ni sentiers aménagés. Seul le peuple des Gwitchin Vuntut occupe ces terres selon un mode de vie traditionnel. 

Au cours des mois d’été, le soleil brille 24 heures sur 24 et les vallées à perte de vue de la toundra sont envahies de fleurs sauvages, comme la bergeronnette printanière et le phlox d’Alaska rose. Voyez des milliers de caribous emprunter les anciens sentiers qui traversent le parc, alors que près d’un million de sauvagines migrent au nord et au sud.

Votre visite à Vuntut vous plongera également dans un paysage culturel qui incarne l’esprit du parc national Vuntut. Suivez les pas de plusieurs générations de Gwitchin Vuntut. Parcourez une contrée où des campements remontant à plusieurs millénaires étaient employés pendant la chasse. Écoutez les récits des anciens qui ont été transmis jusqu’aux générations actuelles. Rencontrez des membres du peuple Gwitchin local qui maintiennent leurs modes de vie traditionnels, alors qu’ils se déplacent, pratiquent la chasse et campent dans le parc.

Planification de votre excursion

Une préparation minutieuse est nécessaire pour profiter pleinement de votre expédition. Cette préparation représente en fait la moitié de votre aventure. Mais vous serez récompensés au centuple.

Sécurité des visiteurs
Réglementation