2017-2018

Eva Wu, Toronto (ON), 20, from McGill University

Eva Wu

Hey Canada! My name’s Eva, and I’m a goofy, silly person who loves to feel sunshine on my face and salt breeze in my hair. Growing up, my family embraced the uplifting powers of uber-spontaneous road trips and good, long hikes to learn about new and exciting places. Since then, I have grown to be a firm believer in nature’s ability to soothe my mind and soul, so there’s no doubt that you can find me dragging those I love into the wilderness in search of our next epic adventure. When I’m not on the road, you can catch me in Montréal where I (at least try to) study Renewable Resource Management at McGill University.

As a visual artist, sharing the stories of our people and natural heritage through numerous forms of media brings me the upmost joy. I like to think that using my art to convey the voices of our youth and elders who are wiser than I enables me to learn how to become a better ambassador. So, during the Canada 150+ summer, I am honoured to have the opportunity to collaborate with youth of all backgrounds to spread our nation’s past, present, and future stories.

Kim Mathieu, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (QC), 21, from Simon Fraser University

Kim Mathieu

I was born in St-Jean Sur Richelieu, QC, a small town which is known for launching thousands of hot air balloons over the flat farmland of the eastern townships every August. I was raised by an artist (mom) and a teacher (dad) who both taught me to be curious about the world and to see beauty in its formations. Like most people my age, I am constantly looking for adventure and places to travel to. At first, I believed that I could only satisfy that curiosity by traveling as far away from Canada as I could imagine. This took me across the world but when I started my bachelors degree in Environmental sciences at McGill University, it was my short weekend trips which revealed the most fascinating people and landscapes.

My work with Parks Canada has since taken me to the ecologically diverse islands of Mingan National Park Reserve, QC, polar bear country in Torngat Mountains National Park, NL, the historic Rogers Pass in Glacier National Park, BC and many other incredible sites. Along the way I found my second family, the Parks family, with whom I shared goofy smiles, sunburnt skin, deep blisters, campfire stories and lasting friendships. I am beyond excited to explore more world-class beauties this year and share these silly stories with you.

I am looking forward to crossing paths on the trails, around a campsite, in your city or inside an old fortress. I welcome you to share with me and Eva your love for Canada, and to help us give it its most spectacular birthday!


2016-2017

Nick Harrison, Ottawa (ON), 19, from Queen's University

Nick Harrison

Hey! I'm Nick, 19 years old hailing from Ottawa but living in Kingston. I can most often be found running on anything but pavement, skiing down hills and up them, and wearing mismatched socks. I have two younger brothers, who I can always count on to keep things interesting and put a grin on my face. My love for the outdoors was sparked at some point between the day I made my first s'more back in '03 and the day I decided to move to the middle of the woods and plant trees for a living last summer.

I've found that there are three things in life you can depend on: the immensity of the mountains, the vastness of the night sky and the calm of the woods. From canoeing through Algonquin Park and the ZEC Kipawa, to biking in Jasper and skiing in the Rockies, the experiences I have had in Canada's back country have shaped the person I am today. I'm incredibly stoked to have the chance this summer to share my love for the outdoors with all of you, and believe that together we can shape a future in which our wild parks and iconic history continue to thrive, defining this beautiful country and the people in it. This summer let's take a hike, catch a wave, climb a face, run the rapids and beat the drum. As a hero of mine, Christopher McCandless, once wrote: "Just get out and do it. You will be very, very glad you did". See you on the trails!

Beckham Evans, Windsor (ON), 20, from Thompson Rivers University

Beckham Evans

My name is Beckham and I am thrilled to have the opportunity to share Canada's national parks and historic sites with all of you this summer. I was raised in Windsor Ontario, just an hour away from the most southern tip of Canada; Point Pelee National Park. Point Pelee was my Mom's go-to place to take my sister and I to escape the city and hike a wooded trail or have a picnic on the sandy beach. My passion for the outdoors really sparked when I joined the Royal Canadian Army Cadets and got involved in the expedition program. Cadets took me all over Canada from mountain biking in Banff to paddling the Petawawa River.

For the past two years I have been attending Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops BC in the Adventure Program. That feeling of getting outside and connecting with nature is indescribable. There is always something to discover out there and sometimes it can even be within yourself. Canada is an incredible country just waiting for us to explore its rich culture, breathtaking mountains, and never ending trails. I cannot wait to get out and experience Canada's parks with you!


2015-2016

Minh-Tâm Thompson, Kitchener (ON), 21, from McGill University

Minh-Tâm Thompson

My name is Minh-Tâm, or Minh for short! I was born and raised in Kitchener, Ontario but have been living in Montreal for the past three years. While in Montreal I've managed to smile through the cold and embrace the heat, plus study some cool things in Anthropology and Environmental Studies at McGill University. I still burn my marshmallows on the campfire and have yet to pitch a tent stress-free, but what I lack in experience, I make up for in clichés.

Growing up as the middle child, I've always had that itch to get out and explore. Luckily my parents made outdoor adventures a priority, and some of my best memories are from times spent visiting Canada's amazing parks and sites. This summer as a Youth Ambassador I've scored the ultimate exploring privileges, and I can't wait to take this journey with other young Canadians! It's impossible to describe how excited and inspired I am by the greatness of Canada; there's no doubt we're about to make some amazing memories.

Justin Fisch, Waverley (NS), 25, from McGill University

Justin Fisch

It would be hard to forget my first trip to a national park: eight years old, visiting the West for the first time, alone on a trip with Mom for the week (a tough feat with three younger brothers in the house). We stayed in Lake Louise, exploring the beauty of Banff National Park. On our second day in the park, Mom decided we make our way up Mt Fairview, a "leisurely" 10-km hike upwards over a 450-metre elevation. Sounded great! Unfortunately, I bit off a bit more than I could chew. A measly 500 metres from the summit, I abandoned the trip, asserting I would not walk one more foot up the rotten trail. That fit lasted but five minutes, as Mom baited me with a KitKat bar, promising the chocolaty reward if I reached the peak. I don't think I've run faster since.

Since that day, I have had the privilege of visiting parks in dozens of countries, making the greatest of connections along the way. This year, I look forward to getting to know young Canadians from throughout the country, and helping to shape our collective narrative of conservation in this country. With one of the most dynamic and diverse systems of parks in the world, Canada's national park system is under visited, undervalued, and most of all, underexplored. Join me as we shape the story of our parks for the millennial generation.


2014-2015

Lindsay Little from Stirling (ON), 24, from McGill University

Lindsay Little

I am eagerly awaiting all of the adventures that we will have this summer in Canada's National Parks and Historic Sites! I am passionate about the power of my generation, and believe that the sites of Parks Canada provide new and exciting opportunities to get to know our beautiful country. I want to show that visiting national parks and historic sites is the best way to complement the urban lifestyle lived by most twenty-somethings, and to disprove stereotypes about who can be a "Parks" person! I will strive to meet as many other young people as I can, and to help them plan their own local and national adventures.

I was raised on a farm outside Stirling, Ontario and am now studying Law at McGill University in Montreal, Quebec. I have completed an undergraduate degree in Social Sciences at the University of Ottawa. Although I grew up camping in parks across the country, I have spent the vast majority of my time over the past five years longingly looking out the windows of school libraries. I am very excited for the opportunity to get out of the day-to-day routine and experience nature and history alongside other millennials! Whether it is by biking, jogging, picnicking or other, I can't wait for the chance to explore Parks Canada places.

George Woodhouse from Owen Sound (ON), 24, from Dalhousie University

George Woodhouse

My name is George and I'm proud to hail from Owen Sound, Ontario - not to be confused with Bobby Orr's hometown of Parry Sound, Ontario. In 2009, my whole family piled into our car and drove me across five provinces to Halifax, Nova Scotia where I began studying French and Sociology at Dalhousie University.

Five years later, I can say for certain that I've fallen in love with the east coast where I've made golden friends from around the world. When I wasn't studying I was usually busy working on different musical projects with other students. Thus my passion became writing songs and filming videos. In 2010, I became acquainted with Parks Canada after winning a national video contest for a music video I made with a friend. It was an enviro-rap video called "Tales from da Trailz" about Newfoundland's Gros Morne National park. I had never actually been to Newfoundland, so we filmed most of the video Point Pleasant city park.

Nonetheless, my love for this country grew and the following summer, I worked as a student for Parks Canada and composed "The Parka Song" for the agency's official beaver mascot. This summer as the Youth Ambassadors, Lindsay and I are ready to do whatever it takes to expose the cool factor of Parks Canada to young Canadians. Our methods may be unconventional but our mission is simple. Spread the Parks Canada love.


2013-2014

Colin Sutherland from Ottawa (ON), 24, from University of British Columbia

Colin Sutherland

There is nothing like travelling to the country's best National Parks and Historic Sites after finishing your undergrad. I can confidently say that this past summer I had the best summer job in Canada.

Having the chance to meet people from across the country and explore Canada's rich natural and cultural heritage is the opportunity of a lifetime. I had the opportunity to take on responsibilities and learn skills not necessarily related to my major in Geography. I've had a chance to see the variety of work that goes on in Parks Canada from meeting underwater archeologists, exploring with Bear guardians, to speaking with our media relations department.

This summer has given me the chance to really dive into what it means to share our National Parks and Historic Sites and how important it is to share these places with my generation.

Julia Belliveau, from Sussex (NB), 19, from Carleton University

Julia Belliveau

It has been an incredible adventure travelling to places in Canada I never even dreamed of visiting! Besides having the best summer ever, I gained invaluable experience as a Parks Canada Youth Ambassador for my prospective career in international business. I have improved my communication abilities from doing interviews with the media and delivering presentations to various audiences. I have expanded skills necessary for taking initiative, networking, collaborating and developing new ideas. I tried new activities like snorkeling with seals and hiking in the Rockies. Most importantly, I met truly unforgettable people and forged friendships to last a lifetime. I knew I possessed a passion for travelling, but I didn't realize the significance of travelling in Canada. As Canadians, we have an amazing country and I encourage everyone to explore it.

2012-2013

Alaïs Nevert from Montreal (QC), 21, from Capilano University

Alaïs Nevert

Few 21 year old students can claim that their "everyday work" can include giving a presentation to the CEO of their company one day and camping in the Pacific Coastal rain forest the next.

As a student in film studies and hoping to work in the nature documentary industry it's easy to imagine how a job that involves travelling to Parks Canada places could be beneficial; the Parks Canada Youth Ambassador position gave me more than that. Networking, organizing, researching; the many facets of the job helped me develop new skills that I now apply on a daily basis.

The experience I gained through this position will help me move forward with my career. I know that the places I visited and the landscapes that I witnessed are now memories that I will carry forever.

Michael Ciniello from Mississauga (ON), 23, from Western University

Michael Ciniello

The experiences and knowledge I have gained through my term as a Parks Canada Youth Ambassador have been invaluable. Not only did I have the chance to see some of the most amazing places across Canada and work with a group of passionate young leaders who really care about their job, but I also had the opportunity to develop a diverse variety of professional skills. From working with the media, coordinating our own PR campaigns, creating the ideas and foundations for new projects, as well as giving presentations to senior management, the Ambassador program has allowed me to develop abilities that will give me a leg up in any job that I chose to tackle next.

2017-2018

Eva Wu, Toronto (ON), 20 ans, de l’Université McGill

Eva Wu

Hé Canada! Je m’appelle Eva. Je suis un peu loufoque et comique. J’aime sentir la chaleur du Soleil sur mon visage et la brise marine dans mes cheveux. Pendant ma jeunesse, mes parents étaient des adeptes des voyages exaltants de dernière minute ainsi que des longues randonnées permettant de découvrir des endroits nouveaux et intéressants. Depuis, je crois fermement que la nature a la capacité d’apaiser mon esprit et mon âme; il ne fait donc aucun doute que vous me verrez traîner ceux que j’aime dans la nature, à la recherche de notre prochaine aventure fantastique. Lorsque je ne suis pas sur la route, vous risquez de me trouver à Montréal où j’étudie (ou du moins j’essaie d’étudier) la gestion des ressources renouvelables à l’Université McGill.

En tant qu’artiste visuelle, ce qui m’apporte le plus de joie, c’est de faire connaître les histoires de notre peuple et de notre patrimoine naturel par divers médias. J’aimerais croire qu’en utilisant mon art pour faire entendre les voix de nos jeunes et de nos aînés, qui sont plus sages que je ne le suis moi-même, je pourrais appendre à devenir meilleure ambassadrice. Alors, cet été, dans le cadre de Canada 150, je me réjouis à l’idée de pouvoir collaborer avec les jeunes de tous les milieux pour faire connaître les histoires du passé, du présent et de l’avenir de notre pays.

Kim Mathieu, Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (QC), 21 ans, de l’Université Simon Fraser

Kim Mathieu

Je suis née à Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, au Québec, dans une petite ville connue pour lâcher, tous les ans en août, des milliers de montgolfières au-dessus des terres agricoles des Cantons-de-l’Est. J’ai été élevée par une artiste (ma mère) et un enseignant (mon père), qui m’ont appris à faire preuve de curiosité pour découvrir le monde et la beauté de ses formations. Comme la plupart des gens de mon âge, je suis constamment à la recherche d’aventures et de lieux à visiter. Au début, je croyais que je ne pouvais satisfaire cette curiosité qu’en voyageant le plus loin possible du Canada. C’est ainsi que j’ai parcouru le monde, mais lorsque j’ai commencé mes études pour un baccalauréat en sciences de l’environnement à l’Université McGill, ce sont mes courts voyages de fin de semaine qui m’ont fait découvrir les gens et les paysages les plus fascinants qui soient.

Mon emploi à Parcs Canada m’a depuis permis de visiter les îles diversifiées du point de vue écologique de la réserve de parc national de l’Archipel-de-Mingan, au Québec, le pays des ours polaires dans le parc national des Monts-Torngat, T.-N.-L., le col Rogers historique dans le parc national des Glaciers, C.-B., et de nombreux autres lieux incroyables. En chemin, j’ai trouvé ma seconde famille, celle des parcs, avec laquelle j’ai partagé des sourires loufoques, des coups de soleil, des ampoules, des histoires autour d’un feu de camp et des amitiés durables. Je suis plus qu’heureuse de pouvoir explorer d’autres merveilles cette année et de vous faire part de ces histoires amusantes.

J’attends avec impatience que nos chemins se croisent sur les sentiers, sur un terrain de camping, dans votre ville ou à l’intérieur d’un fort ancien. Je vous invite à venir partager, avec Eva et moi, votre amour du Canada et à nous aider à lui offrir l’anniversaire le plus spectaculaire qui soit!

Vivre la nature

Transcription

[Logo du castor de Parcs Canada]

[Kim assise sur une roche au bord de l'eau]

[Kim] À chaque pas, je vais plus loin, je pousse plus intensément,

[Kim] vers des sommets plus hauts et hauts encore.

[Kim] Si près du but.

[Kim] Mon sang monte, mon cœur bat, et mes poumons inspirent l'air.

[Kim]Calme, je suis seule. Calme.

[Kim] Sur cette terre que j'effleure mais qui demeure intouchée.

[Kim] Avec ceux qui sont ici pour rire et pour explorer, ceux qui partagent avec moi cette terre sur laquelle ils vivent.

[Kim] Je m'arrête, j'écoute. C'est une célébration.

[Kim] Aujourd'hui nous célébrons qui nous sommes, qui nous étions et d'où nous venons.

[Kim] Aujourd'hui, nous avons gravit cette montagne.

[Logo Parcs Canada]

[Texte: Sa majesté la reine du Chef du Canada, représentée par Parcs Canada, 2017]

[Logo du Canada]


2016-2017

Nick Harrison, Ottawa (ON), 19 ans, de l’Université Queen’s

Nick Harrison

Salut! Je m'appelle Nick, j'ai 19 ans et je viens d'Ottawa, même si je vis maintenant à Kingston. Je me retrouve souvent à courir sur n'importe quelle surface qui n'est pas de l'asphalte, à redescendre et à remonter des pistes de ski, et à porter deux chaussettes différentes. J'ai deux petits frères sur lesquels je peux toujours compter pour faire de la vie une aventure et pour garder le sourire. Mon amour pour le plein air remonte à un jour situé entre celui où j'ai fait mon premier s'more en 2003 et l'été dernier, lorsque j'ai décidé de déménager au milieu de la forêt et de gagner ma vie à planter des arbres.

J'en suis venu à la conclusion qu'il y a trois choses auxquelles on peut se fier dans la vie : l'immensité des montagnes, l'étendue du ciel nocturne et le calme de la forêt. Qu'il s'agisse de faire du canot le long du parc Algonquin et de la zec Kipawa, de faire du vélo à Jasper ou de skier dans les Rocheuses, les expériences que j'ai vécues dans l'arrière-pays du Canada ont fait de moi la personne que je suis aujourd'hui. Je suis absolument ravi d'avoir la chance de transmettre ma passion pour le plein air à chacun d'entre vous cet été, et je crois qu'ensemble, nous pourrons façonner un avenir où nos parcs sauvages et notre riche histoire perdureront et feront la fierté de notre pays et des gens qui y vivent. Cet été, nous partirons en randonnée, nous nous laisserons porter par la vague, nous escaladerons des falaises, nous naviguerons sur les rapides et nous vivrons à plein vent. Comme Christopher McCandless, un de mes héros, l'a écrit : « N'hésite pas; sors et réalise tes projets. Tu seras très, très content de l'avoir fait. » Au plaisir de te rencontrer sur les sentiers!

Beckham Evans, Windsor (ON), 20 ans, de l'Université Thompson Rivers

Beckham Evans

Je m'appelle Beckham et je suis ravie d'avoir la chance de vous présenter les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques du Canada cet été. J'ai grandi à Windsor, en Ontario, à seulement une heure du point le plus au sud du Canada : le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée. La pointe Pelée était le lieu de prédilection de ma mère lorsqu'elle voulait s'enfuir de la ville avec ma sœur et moi et partir en promenade en forêt ou faire un pique-nique sur la plage sablonneuse. Ma passion pour le plein air s'est réellement attisée lorsque je me suis jointe aux cadets royaux de l’Armée canadienne et lorsque j'ai participé à leur programme d'expédition. Grâce aux cadets, j'ai pu parcourir le Canada, que ce soit sur un vélo de montagne à Banff ou dans un canot sur la rivière Petawawa.

Durant les deux dernières années, j'ai étudié à l'Université Thompson Rivers à Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique, dans le programme d'aventure. Ce sentiment de sortir et de se rapprocher de la nature est indescriptible. On y fait toujours des découvertes, qui surgissent parfois du for intérieur. Le Canada est un pays formidable, qui ne demande pas mieux que l'on explore sa riche culture, ses montagnes saisissantes et ses sentiers sans fin. Je suis impatiente de sortir et d'explorer les parcs du Canada avec vous!


2015-2016

Minh-Tâm Thompson, Kitchener (ON), 21 ans, de l'Université McGill

Minh-Tâm Thompson

Je m’appelle Minh-Tâm, ou Minh pour faire court! J’ai grandi dans ma ville natale de Kitchener, en Ontario, mais je vis à Montréal depuis maintenant trois ans. Ici, je me suis habituée au froid et à la chaleur et j’ai appris des choses très intéressantes dans le cadre de mes études en anthropologie de l’environnement à l’université McGill. Il m’arrive encore de carboniser mes guimauves au-dessus d’un feu de camp et le montage d’une tente est encore un défi pour moi, mais je sais pallier mon manque d’expérience en tombant dans les clichés.

Cadette de la famille, j’ai toujours eu cette envie de sortir explorer le monde qui m’entoure. Heureusement, les activités en plein air ont toujours été une priorité pour mes parents, de sorte que les moments passés à visiter les magnifiques parcs et sites du Canada font partie de mes plus beaux souvenirs. Le programme des jeunes ambassadeurs auquel je participe cet été est pour moi l’occasion idéale de partir en exploration. J’ai hâte de prendre part à cette aventure en compagnie d’autres jeunes Canadiens! Il m’est impossible de décrire l’euphorie et l’émerveillement que je ressens devant la splendeur des paysages canadiens. Quels beaux souvenirs nous rapporterons de cette expérience!

Justin Fisch, Waverley (NS), 25 ans, de l'Université McGill

Justin Fisch

Je n’oublierai jamais la première fois que je suis allé dans un parc national : j’avais huit ans, je visitais l’Ouest pour la première fois à l’occasion d’un séjour d’une semaine seul avec ma mère (un exploit, avec trois petits frères à la maison). Nous avons séjourné à Lake Louise et exploré les merveilles du parc national Banff. Au cours du deuxième jour dans le parc, ma mère a décidé que nous irions marcher jusqu’au sommet du mont Fairview, pour une randonnée de 10 km « sans se presser », à plus de 450 mètres d’altitude. Une idée géniale! Malheureusement, j’avais surestimé mes capacités. J’ai jeté l’éponge à quelque 500 mètres du sommet, en déclarant que je ne ferais pas un pas de plus sur ce sentier pourri. Ma petite crise a duré à peine cinq minutes, jusqu’à ce que ma mère agite une barre KitKat sous mon nez, en me promettant qu’elle serait pour moi si j’arrivais en haut. Je crois n’avoir jamais couru aussi vite.

Depuis ce jour-là, j’ai rencontré des gens extraordinaires en visitant des parcs dans une dizaine de pays. Je m’attends à ce que soit encore le cas cette année alors que je pourrai faire la connaissance de jeunes Canadiens issus des quatre coins du pays, et contribuer à ma manière à écrire un chapitre dans l’histoire de la conservation de notre patrimoine commun. Le réseau des parcs nationaux du Canada, qui figure parmi les plus diversifiés et dynamiques au monde, est trop peu visité, sous-estimé et surtout méconnu. Unissons donc nos efforts pour façonner l’avenir de nos parcs et faire en sorte que notre génération en profite pleinement!


2014-2015

Lindsay Little from Stirling (ON), 24 ans, de l'Université McGill

Lindsay Little

J'attends avec impatience toutes les aventures qui se dérouleront cet été dans les parcs nationaux et lieux historiques du Canada! Je suis passionnée par le pouvoir de ma génération et je crois que les sites de Parcs Canada offrent de nouvelles occasions intéressantes pour apprendre à connaître notre beau pays. Je veux montrer que le fait de visiter les parcs nationaux et les lieux historiques est la meilleure façon de compléter le style de vie urbain de la plupart des jeunes dans la vingtaine, et de briser les stéréotypes à propos du type de personne qui peut être considéré comme une personne de « parcs »! Je vais m'efforcer de rencontrer le plus de jeunes personnes possible et de les aider à planifier leurs aventures locales et nationales.

J'ai été élevée sur une ferme à l'extérieur de Stirling, en Ontario, et je suis actuellement étudiante en droit à l'Université McGill à Montréal, au Québec. J'ai terminé un grade de premier cycle en sciences sociales à l'Université d'Ottawa. Bien que j'aie grandi en faisant du camping dans les parcs partout au pays, j'ai passé la vaste majorité de mon temps au cours des cinq dernières années à regarder par la fenêtre des bibliothèques scolaires avec convoitise. Je suis très heureuse de l'occasion qui se présente de sortir de la routine quotidienne et de vivre une expérience naturelle et historique aux côtés d'autres écho-boomers! Que ce soit en vélo, au jogging, au cours d'un pique-nique ou d'une autre manière, je suis impatiente d'aller explorer les lieux de Parcs Canada.

George Woodhouse from Owen Sound (ON), 24 ans, de l'Université de Dalhousie

George Woodhouse

Je m'appelle George et je suis fier d'être originaire d'Owen Sound en Ontario - à ne pas confondre avec Parry Sound en Ontario, ville natale de Bobby Orr. En 2009, toute ma famille et moi, nous nous sommes entassés dans notre voiture et avons traversé cinq provinces pour me conduire jusqu'à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, où j'ai commencé à étudier le français et la sociologie à la Dalhousie University.

Cinq ans plus tard, je peux dire avec certitude que je suis tombé amoureux de la Côte Est, où je me suis fait des amis en or provenant de partout dans le monde. Lorsque je n'étudiais pas, j'étais occupé à travailler sur différents projets musicaux avec d'autres étudiants. Ainsi, écrire des chansons et tourner des vidéos sont devenus ma passion. En 2010, je suis devenu familier avec Parcs Canada après avoir gagné un concours national de vidéo avec un vidéoclip que j'ai produit avec un ami. Il s'agissait d'une vidéo enviro-rap « Tales from da Trailz » à propos du Parc national du Gros-Morne de Terre-Neuve.

Je n'étais jamais allé à Terre-Neuve; nous avons donc tourné la plus grande partie de la vidéo au parc municipal Point Pleasant. Néanmoins, mon amour pour ce pays a grandi si bien que l'été suivant, j'ai travaillé pour Parcs Canada à titre d'étudiant et composé « The Parka Song », chanson dédiée au castor, la mascotte officielle de l'Agence. Cet été, en tant que jeune ambassadeur, Lindsay et moi sommes prêts à déployer tous les efforts nécessaires pour dévoiler l'aspect branché de Parcs Canada aux jeunes Canadiens. Nos méthodes peuvent être inhabituelles, mais notre mission est simple. Que plus en plus de monde aime Parcs Canada.


2013-2014

Colin Sutherland from Ottawa (ON), 24 ans, de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique

Colin Sutherland

Il n'y a rien de comparable que de voyager dans les plus beaux parcs nationaux et sites historiques au pays après avoir terminé ses études universitaires de premier cycle. Je peux affirmer avec certitude que l'été dernier, j'ai eu le meilleur emploi d'été au Canada.

Avoir la chance de rencontrer des gens de partout au pays et d'explorer la richesse du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada est l'occasion rêvée de toute une vie. J'ai eu la possibilité d'assumer des responsabilités et d'acquérir des compétences qui n'étaient pas nécessairement liées à ma majeure en Géographie. J'ai eu la chance de voir les divers travaux qui sont menés à Parcs Canada en rencontrant des archéologues sous-marins, en faisant des études avec des gardiens d'ours et en parlant à des intervenants de notre unité des relations médiatiques.

Cet été m'a offert la possibilité d'explorer véritablement la signification du partage des richesses de nos parcs nationaux et sites historiques, et l'importance de les partager avec les membres de ma génération.

Julia Belliveau, from Sussex (NB), 19 ans, de l'Université Carleton

Julia Belliveau

Cela a été une aventure incroyable de voyager à des endroits au Canada que je n'aurais même jamais rêvé visiter! À part le fait de passer le meilleur été de ma vie, j'ai acquis une expérience inestimable en tant que jeune ambassadrice à Parcs Canada pour ma carrière future en commerce international. J'ai amélioré mes aptitudes pour la communication en effectuant des entrevues avec les médias et des présentations auprès de divers publics. J'ai acquis les compétences nécessaires à la prise d'initiatives, au réseautage, à la collaboration et au développement de nouvelles idées. J'ai essayé de nouvelles activités comme la plongée sous-marine avec des phoques et la randonnée pédestre dans les montagnes Rocheuses. Et surtout, j'ai rencontré des gens vraiment inoubliables et noué des amitiés pour la vie. Je savais que j'avais une passion pour les voyages, mais je ne m'étais pas rendu compte de l'importance de voyager au Canada. En tant que Canadiens, nous avons un pays formidable et j'encourage tout le monde à l'explorer.


2012-2013

Alaïs Nevert from Montreal (QC), 21 ans, de l'Université Capilano

Alaïs Nevert

Peu d'étudiantes de 21 ans ont le privilège de dire qu'une semaine de travail peut inclure une présentation à leur Directeur général et une expédition de camping dans la forêt pluviale de la côte Pacifique.

En tant qu'étudiante en cinéma qui espère travailler dans l'industrie des documentaires sur la nature, il est facile d'imaginer en quoi un emploi qui permet de voyager dans des lieux de Parcs Canada peut être avantageux; mais le poste de Jeune ambassadeur de Parcs Canada m'a apporté beaucoup plus. Socialiser, organiser, faire de la recherche: les multiples facettes du travail m'ont permis de développer de nouvelles aptitudes sur lesquelles je peux maintenant compter et utiliser dans différentes situations.

Je sais que l'expérience acquise par l'entremise de ce travail aidera à l'évolution de ma carrière. Mais je retiens surtout les lieux que j'ai visités et les paysages dont j'ai été témoin et ceux-ci sont des souvenirs que je conserverai toute ma vie.

Michael Ciniello from Mississauga (ON), 23 ans, de l'Université Western

Michael Ciniello

L'expérience et les connaissances que j'ai acquises lors de mon emploi à titre de Jeune ambassadeur de Parcs Canada sont inestimables. Non seulement j'ai eu l'occasion de visiter des endroits uniques partout au Canada et de travailler avec un groupe de jeunes leaders passionnés et sensibilisés à leur travail, mais j'ai aussi eu l'occasion de développer une grande variété de compétences. Le travail avec les médias, la coordination de nos propres campagnes de relations publiques, la mise en valeur de nos idées, la création de nouveaux projets, ainsi que les présentations à la haute direction m'ont permis de développer des habilités pour relever mes prochains défis professionnels.