Think National Historic Sites are just for history buffs? Think again! Snap epic selfies in historic spots and sign up for a host of awesome activities guaranteed to please the whole family. From elegant dress-up fine dining to ghost walks, and murder mystery games there are so many cool activities to take part in at Parks Canada’s National Historic Sites across the country. Here’s ten to spark your inspiration; start making plans and bookings today!  

1. Celebrate a Victorian Christmas – Halifax Citadel, Nova Scotia

Santa Claus ringing a bell while standing by a gate at Halifax Citadel.
Halifax Citadel National Historic Site.
Celebrating a very Victorian Christmas with authentic period caroling, fun games, hands-on crafts and Santa Claus. Try some hot cider and snap a selfie in the Victorian photo booth. Free admission with a cash or non-perishable food item donation to FEED NOVA SCOTIA.

2. Enjoy fine dining in the lighthouse – Cape Spear Lighthouse, Newfoundland and Labrador

A dinner table set with plates and cutlery for a dining experience in the Cape Spear Lighthouse.
Cape Spear Lighthouse National Historic Site.
Booking a candle-lit dinner prepared and served by Seto Kitchen + Bar, one of Newfoundland’s most exciting contemporary Canadian restaurants. Snap a selfie at the most easterly point of Canada. Look out for humpback whales and icebergs.

3. Sleep under the stars in a teepee – Rocky Mountain House, Alberta

Two people sitting around a campfire, beside a Red River Cart at dusk at Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site.
Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site.
Sleeping under the stars in an authentic Blackfoot People’s teepee and dreaming of the bison roaming free beyond the campsite. Learn to make a fire with a blow tube and flint. Feast on warm-from-the-fire bannock and trapper’s tea.

4. Uncover clues – Woodside, Ontario

A young couple enjoying the library at Woodside National Historic Site.
Woodside National Historic Site.
Signing up to take part in the annual historical murder mystery at Woodside! Explore the Prime Minister’s house to uncover clues. Interview suspects, track down the culprit, and play for prizes.

5. Feast with the Papineau’s – Manoir Papineau, Quebec

Visitors prepare to enjoy a dinner at Manoir Papineau.
Manoir Papineau National Historic Site.
Getting dressed up to step back into a more elegant time of tradition and luxury with a lavish formal dinner at Le Manoir Papineau. Servers in period costume attend your every need as you feast on cuisine inspired by the 19th century created by chefs from Fairmont Le Château Montebello.

6. Go on an after-hours ghost walk – Fort Battleford, Saskatchewan

A tour guide takes a group of visitors on an after-hours Ghost Walk at Fort Battleford.
Fort Battleford National Historic Site.
Wrapping up warm to take a lantern on a special ghost walk after dark once the fort is closed to visitors. Hear spine tingling tales of the ghosts who taunt the staff and visitors on the site of a siege that never was.

7. Fire the noon day gun – Signal Hill, Newfoundland and Labrador

A visitor and an interpreter fire the Noon day gun at Signal Hill.
Signal Hill National Historic Site.
Joining the gun crew to learn how to fire the mighty quick-firing three-pound Hotchkiss Gun which is set off daily throughout summer to signal the hour of noon to the people of St John’s. Don’t forget to cover your ears!

8. Indulge in a whisky tasting – Bellevue House, Ontario

A man sits at a table with whisky in front of him.
Bellevue House National Historic Site.
Raising a glass with whisky sommelier, Sylvain Bouffard of "Just a Wee Dram" in a spirited whisky and food pairing. Discover the journey from grain to glass and learn how whisky is linked to Canada’s foundations.

9. Encounter a séance in time – Laurier House, Ontario

A Séance in Time, the new interactive theatre play presented at Laurier House by Live History.
Laurier House National Historic Site.
Join in a spooky séance alongside the Live History Theatre Company who play Prime Minister King, his medium, military advisor and household staff in a fun interactive clue-based performance. Discover King’s fascination with contacting the spiritual world and help find his trusty crystal ball!

10. Journey through time – Batoche, Saskatchewan

Young children touch furs as they learn about Métis history from costumed interpreters.
Batoche National Historic Site.
Helping costumed Parks Canada staff who play 19th century Metis settlers with chores on the homestead, riding wooden hobby horses and playing traditional Métis games.

Vous pensez que les lieux historiques nationaux ne sont que pour les amateurs d'histoire? Pas du tout! Prenez de superbes autophotos dans des endroits historiques et inscrivez-vous pour participer à une foule d'activités extraordinaires qui plairont à toute la famille; des repas en tenue élégante, des promenades de fantômes et des jeux « meurtre et mystère »; il y a tant d'activités intéressantes dans les lieux nationaux historiques de Parcs Canada à travers le pays. En voici dix pour vous inspirer. Commencez à planifier et à faire vos réservations dès aujourd'hui!

1. Célébrez un Noël victorien – Citadelle-d'Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Le père Noël qui sonne une cloche devant les grandes portes de la Citadelle d'Halifax.
Lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d'Halifax.
Célébrez un Noël au style victorien avec des chansons de Noël l’époque, des jeux amusants, des travaux pratiques d’artisanat et visitez le Père Noël. Goûtez au cidre chaud et prenez une autophoto dans la cabine photographique victorienne. L’entrée est gratuite si vous faites un don en espèces ou un don d’aliments non périssables à FEED NOVA SCOTIA.

2. Soupez dans le phare – Phare-de-Cap-Spear (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

La table est mise pour une expérience culinaire au Phare-de-Cap-Spear.
Lieu historique national du Phare-de-Cap-Spear.
Réservez votre place pour un repas à la lueur des chandelles préparé et servi par Seto Kitchen + Bar, l'un des restaurants canadiens contemporains les plus intéressants de Terre-Neuve. Prenez une autophoto à l’endroit le plus à l'est du Canada. Soyez à l’affût des baleines à bosse et des icebergs.

3. Dormez sous les étoiles dans un tipi – Rocky Mountain House (Alberta)

Deux personnes profitent d'un feu de camp au crépuscule, près d'une charrette de la rivière Rouge au lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House.
Lieu historique national Rocky Mountain House.
Dormez sous les étoiles dans un véritable tipi du peuple des Pieds-Noirs et rêvez des bisons en liberté à l’extérieur du site de camping. Apprenez à faire un feu avec un tube de soufflage et un silex. Régalez-vous de bannock chaude sortie du feu et de thé de trappeur.

4. Découvrez les indices – Woodside (Ontario)

Un jeune couple admire la bibliothèque du lieu historique national Woodside.
Lieu historique national Woodside.
Inscrivez-vous pour participer au jeu historique « meurtre et mystère » annuel à Woodside! Explorez la maison du premier ministre pour découvrir des indices. Interrogez les suspects, suivez la piste du coupable et jouez pour gagner des prix.

5. Soupez avec les Papineau – Manoir Papineau (Québec)

Des visiteurs se préparent à déguster un repas au Manoir Papineau.
Lieu historique national du Manoir-Papineau.
Sortez vos tenues formelles pour un souper somptueux au Manoir Papineau en faisant l’expérience d’une époque remplie de traditions et de luxe. Les serveurs en costume d'époque s’occuperont de tous vos besoins tandis que vous dégusterez une cuisine inspirée du 19e siècle créée par les chefs du Fairmont Le Château Montebello.

6. Faites une promenade du fantôme après les heures d'ouverture – Fort Battleford (Saskatchewan)

Un guide dirige un groupe de visiteurs durant la promenade du fantôme après les heures de fermeture à Fort-Battleford.
Lieu historique national du Fort-Battleford.
Habillez-vous chaudement pour faire une promenade du fantôme spécial après la tombée de la nuit, avec votre lanterne en main, lorsque le fort est fermé aux visiteurs. Frissonnez en écoutant les histoires des fantômes qui tourmentent le personnel et les visiteurs sur le site d'un siège qui n'a jamais eu lieu.

7. Tirez le canon de midi – Signal Hill (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Un visiteur et un interprète qui font le tir du canon de midi à Signal Hill.
Lieu historique national de Signal Hill.
Joignez-vous à l’équipe d’artilleurs pour apprendre à tirer le puissant canon Hotchkiss. Ce fameux canon de trois livres à tir rapide est tiré quotidiennement tout au long de l'été pour signaler l'heure de midi aux gens de St John's. N'oubliez pas de couvrir vos oreilles!

8. Dégustez un whisky – Villa-Bellevue (Ontario)

Un homme assis à une table avec un verre de whisky devant lui.
Lieu historique national de la Villa-Bellevue.
Levez votre verre avec le sommelier Sylvain Bouffard de « Just a Wee Dram » lors d’une dégustation animée de whisky et de nourriture. Découvrez le cheminement du grain jusqu’au verre et comment le whisky est lié au développement du Canada.

9. Assistez à une ancienne séance de spiritisme – Maison-Laurier (Ontario)

Une séance de spiritisme dans le temps, la nouvelle pièce de théâtre intéractive présentée à la Maison-Laurier par Live History.
Lieu historique national de la Maison-Laurier.
Participez à une séance de spiritisme inquiétante aux côtés de la troupe de théâtre Live History, qui joue les rôles du premier ministre King, de son médium, de son conseiller militaire et de ses domestiques lors d’une représentation interactive amusante fondée sur les indices. Découvrez la fascination de King pour la communication avec le monde des esprits et aidez-le à retrouver sa fidèle boule de cristal!

10. Voyagez dans le temps – Batoche (Saskatchewan)

Des enfants touchent des fourrures en apprenant au sujet de l’histoire des Métis d’un interprète en costume d’époque.
Lieu historique national de Batoche.
Aidez aux interprètes costumés de Parcs Canada dans leurs rôles de colons métis du 19e siècle; participez aux tâches quotidiennes de la ferme familiale, montez sur des chevaux de bois et jouez à des jeux métis traditionnels.