Just because it’s cold outside, it doesn’t mean the fun stops in our national parks and national historic sites; after all, as every Canadian knows that there’s no such thing as bad weather, just the wrong clothes! So wrap up warm, pull on a toque and mittens, and head out to enjoy a family fun day soon. Instant inspiration guaranteed with these ten winter warmers!

Banff National Park

A family skating on Lake Louise.
Alberta

The Canadian Rocky Mountains are a glorious treasure trove of exciting winter adventures from skiing, snowboarding and ice climbing to dog sledding, snowshoeing and ice skating. But did you know that the park is also home to the oldest natural history museum in Canada? The Banff Park Museum is packed to the rafters with fascinating specimens collected from the park over the past century. Get up close with a vintage stuffed grizzly or bighorn sheep, and handle antlers and furs in the Discovery room. Learning is fun here thanks to the Xplorers club booklet; complete six challenges and your junior natural historian will receive an official certificate and Parks Canada souvenir.

Gros Morne National Park

Rolling snow covered hills with three visitors snowshoeing.
Newfoundland and Labrador

Love treasure hunts? Try a modern take on an old favourite at Gros Morne, which uses GPS to locate caches hidden around the park following the story of an Arctic Tern named Jonathan Livingstearn. Pick up a copy of the storybook at the visitor centre along with a geocache passport then join in with Jonathan’s adventures and find the caches. Punch your passport then once you’ve found all five you’ll earn a limited-edition Gros Morne National Park trackable geocoin! This challenge takes in a 20.5km hike across five park trails, so works well for an active family over a weekend visit, or it’s the perfect activity for families who live close to Gros Morne who can tackle one trail at a time throughout the winter season.

Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site

The fortress of Louisbourg in the winter.
Nova Scotia

Want to have a fun day out but the kids are glued to their screens? No problem! With this activity, you can use a smart phone or tablet to tap into one of Canada’s historic gems. Download the Explora app and visit Louisbourg for a guided walk; as you explore the fortress and its grounds your phone or tablet will upload GPS-triggered photos, video, text and narration. Choose from two different themed walks which will immerse you into life in the 18th century and the community in Louisbourg, and also look at the challenges now faced through coastal erosion.

Forillon National Park

Two visitors fat biking in the snow at La Mauricie National Park!
Quebec

It’s the biggest trend in cycling and no wonder! Fat biking makes winter time pedaling a breeze thanks to super-wide tires which float above the snow. In Forillon fat bikers can use Le Portage trail which runs across the north and south sides of the peninsular. No bike? No problem! You can rent bikes at Centre culturel Le Griffon.

Thousand Islands National Park

Group of adults sitting on the ground at the edge of a lake. There is snow and a tripod.
Ontario

If your child is a budding ornithologist or junior scientist, then there’s no more fun activity than the annual Christmas bird count! The count is North America’s longest-running citizen science project; it began in 1900 and there are counts in more than 2000 locations throughout the Western hemisphere. Help play a part in future conservation and keep count on a fun day exploring the park between December 14 and January 5.

Riding Mountain National Park

A family cross country skiing on the trails at Riding Mountain National Park.
Manitoba

Riding Mountain National Park is going to be Good Times Central over February 8-11 thanks to the action-packed schedule of the Winter Adventure Weekend. Ideal for kids of all ages there’s something for everyone from family lake skating sessions and guided snowshoe expeditions to a bear den, to scavenger hunts, maple syrup rolling and heritage hockey games. Make it a weekend to remember, book an oTENTik and stay overnight in the park!

Kouchibouguac National Park

A family tobogganing.
New Brunswick

You’re never too young—or too old—to enjoy the giddy fast-paced thrills of a toboggan session in the snow. Earn your fun with a picturesque 2km snowshoe hike from the Pijeboogwek parking lot to Patterson hill to get your ‘boggan on this winter in Kouchibouguac. Snuggle up and share the ride, you go faster with a full load!

Radium Hot Springs, Kootenay National Park

A father and daughter enjoying the Radium Hot Springs.
British Columbia

Water babies will adore warming up throughout winter in one of British Columbia's top natural hot springs, found in Kootenay National Park. Enjoy a steamy soak in the expansive hot pool or cool off with the kids in the swimming pool after enjoying a day of dry-land activities in the Columbia Valley. Download the new Explora Kootenay App and enjoy a guided audio tour of one of BC’s most scenic highways.

La Mauricie National Park

Young adults snowshoeing at La Mauricie National Park.
Quebec

Calling sporty creative types! If you’re a family of seasoned snowshoers how about trying something new this winter with snow tagging? Create a beautiful image in the snow with nothing but your feet (and snowshoes!). Make a reservation and get ready to create beautiful temporary art at Solitaire Lake or lac aux Chevaux. The best part? Retracing your steps to the nearest lookout and taking a celebratory photo. Social media success guaranteed.

Prince Albert National Park

A mother and her child complete a snowman.
Saskatchewan

Little legs can get pretty tired playing in the snow, but Saskatchewan’s Prince Albert National Park has the ideal solution with their children’s chariots! Available to borrow along with skis and snowshoes, grown ups can hit the groomed trails to enjoy cross country skiing, and the kids can enjoy the ride—and then a nice snuggly snow-suit sleep.

Ce n’est pas parce qu’il fait froid à l’extérieur qu’on arrête de s’amuser dans les parcs nationaux et lieux historiques nationaux; après tout, comme tous les Canadiens le savent, il n’y a pas de mauvais temps, que de mauvais vêtements! Alors, couvrez-vous bien, portez une tuque et des mitaines, et allez dehors pour profiter d’une journée de plaisirs en famille. Inspiration garantie avec ces dix endroits chaleureux!

Parc national Banff

Alberta

Les montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes recèlent de trésors magnifiques pour vivre des aventures palpitantes en hiver, allant du ski, de la planche à neige, de l’escalade sur glace au traîneau à chiens, à la raquette et au patin à glace. Mais saviez-vous que le parc abrite aussi le plus ancien musée d’histoire naturelle au Canada? Le Musée-du-Parc-Banff regorge de spécimens fascinants recueillis dans le parc au cours du siècle passé. Voyez de près des animaux empaillés, comme le grizzly ou le mouflon d’Amérique, et manipulez des bois d'élan et des fourrures dans la salle de découvertes interactive. Apprendre d’une façon amusante grâce au livret Xplorateurs ; en relevant six défis, le jeune spécialiste d’histoire naturelle recevra un certificat officiel et un souvenir de Parcs Canada.

Parc national du Gros-Morne

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Vous aimez la chasse au trésor? Essayez une version moderne de ce jeu au parc national du Gros-Morne, où l’on utilise le GPS pour trouver des caches dans le parc, en suivant l’histoire d’une sterne arctique nommée Jonathan Livingstearn. Procurez-vous un exemplaire du conte au centre d’accueil ainsi qu’un passeport de géocachette, puis plongez dans les aventures de Jonathan et trouvez les caches. Poinçonnez votre passeport à chaque cache; une fois que vous aurez trouvé les cinq caches, vous gagnerez une géopièce à tirage limité du parc national du Gros-Morne! Pour relever ce défi, il faut parcourir une distance de 20,5 km sur cinq sentiers du parc, parfait pour pratiquer une activité en famille durant la fin de semaine. Les familles qui habitent près du parc peuvent s’attaquer à un sentier à la fois et pratiquer l’activité tout au long de la saison hivernale.

Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

Nouvelle-Écosse

Vous voulez passer une agréable journée à l’extérieur, mais les enfants sont collés à leur écran? Ce n’est pas un problème! Cette activité permet d’utiliser un téléphone intelligent ou une tablette pour exploiter l’une des merveilles historiques du Canada. Téléchargez l’application Explora et rendez-vous à Louisbourg pour une promenade guidée; pendant que vous explorez la forteresse et ses alentours, votre téléphone ou tablette téléchargera des photos, des vidéos, du texte et de la narration grâce à la localisation GPS. Choisissez entre deux promenades aux thèmes différents qui vous plongeront dans la vie du 18e siècle et dans la communauté de Louisbourg; regardez aussi les défis auxquels la communauté fait face avec l’érosion des côtes.

Parc national Forillon

Québec

Pas étonnant qu’il s’agisse de la dernière tendance dans la pratique du vélo! Le vélo à pneus surdimensionnés transforme le cyclisme en hiver en un jeu d’enfant grâce aux pneus super larges qui semblent flotter sur la neige. Au parc national Forillon, les cyclistes en vélo à pneus surdimensionnés peuvent emprunter le sentier Le Portage qui traverse la péninsule du nord au sud. Pas de vélo? Ce n’est pas un problème! Vous pouvez en louer un au Centre culturel Le Griffon.

Parc national des Mille-Îles

Ontario

Si votre enfant est un ornithologue ou un scientifique en herbe, alors rien de plus amusant que de participer au recensement annuel des oiseaux de Noël! Ce recensement représente le plus ancien projet de science citoyenne en Amérique du Nord; il débuta en 1900 et l’on dénombre des recensements dans plus de 2000 endroits répartis dans l’hémisphère occidental. Contribuez à la protection de ces oiseaux en participant au recensement et passez une belle journée à explorer le parc entre le 14 décembre et le 5 janvier.

Parc national du Mont-Riding

Manitoba

Le parc national du Mont-Riding sera au cœur de l’action du 8 au 11 février, grâce à un calendrier bien rempli durant la Fin de semaine d’aventures hivernales (en anglais seulement). Idéal pour les enfants de tout âge, tout le monde trouvera son compte : séance de patinage sur le lac en famille, expédition guidée en raquettes vers une tanière d’ours, sirop d’érable à rouler et partie de hockey patrimoniale. Faites-en une fin de semaine mémorable, en réservant une tente oTENTik et en passant une nuit dans le parc!

Parc national Kouchibouguac

Nouveau-Brunswick

On n’est jamais trop jeune, ou trop vieux, pour pratiquer la luge en hiver: vitesse, glisse et sensations fortes assurées! Offrez-vous une belle récompense après une randonnée pittoresque de 2 km en raquettes, allant du stationnement Pijeboogwek à la butte Patterson, en dévalant les pentes enneigées du parc national Kouchibouguac sur votre luge. C’est plus amusant et aussi plus rapide si l’on est plusieurs sur la luge!

Sources thermales Radium

Colombie Britannique

Durant l’hiver, les amateurs d’eau adoreront se réchauffer dans le plus grand bassin d’eau chaude naturelle du Canada aux sources thermales Radium. Détendez-vous d’abord dans un bain de vapeur puis nagez dans la piscine à 39 °C après avoir profité de certaines des activités sur terme ferme que le parc national Kootenay a à offrir. Activité idéale pour les jeunes explorateurs : procurez-vous un livret du Club Parka au centre d’accueil et relevez les défis pour gagner un super prix!

Parc national de la Mauricie

Québec

Appel aux créateurs sportifs! Si votre famille est adepte de la raquette, pourquoi ne pas essayer quelque chose de nouveau cet hiver avec le dessin sur neige? Créez de magnifiques dessins sur la neige rien qu’en utilisant vos pieds (et bien sûr les raquettes!). Faites votre réservation et soyez prêt à créer de magnifiques œuvres d’art éphémères au lac Solitaire ou au lac aux Chevaux. Et le meilleur? Revenez sur vos pas jusqu’au point d’observation le plus proche et faites-en un moment mémorable en prenant des photos. Succès garanti dans les médias sociaux.

Parc national de Prince Albert

Saskatchewan

Les petites jambes peuvent se fatiguer très vite en jouant sur la neige, mais le parc national de Prince Albert en Saskatchewan dispose de la solution idéale : des traîneaux pour enfants! Les adultes peuvent emprunter ces traîneaux, mais aussi des skis et des raquettes pour faire de la randonnée. Les enfants, tout en profitant de la balade, se laisseront bercer par le traîneau pour finir dans les bras de morphée!